We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sils im Engadin
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

In previous years when staying in Sils, we have stayed at Waldhaus. Because we were vacationing with friends and family, we needed a place that was a little less expensive. Hotel Edelweiss is not cheap, but you get a lot for your money here. The rooms are nice, we had a little balcony in ours which was wonderful. The hotel itself is gorgeous, "Old World European" dining room and common areas. Breakfast and dinners were delicious, lots to choose from, all very good. When we were there they had a great pianist most evenings. The staff cannot do enough for you. They picked us up at the train station when we arrived, and took us to the agency to pick up our rental car when we left. They made sure that we could all eat together in their dining room on multiple nights. The staff was always helpful and patient with our many questions. You also get a pass for free access to the many cable cars, and for local busses and trains. The area was expecting about 4 inches of snow one of the nights we were there, but was surprised by over a foot of wet snow! The next morning we took one of the horse drawn carriages up into the Fex Valley for lunch, and walked back to Sils, it was magical. After the storm the weather cleared so the next few days we had magnificent views from the top of the mountains, we could see forever! I would stay here again, Waldhaus might not get us back!

Room Tip: We loved our room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrenwood_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    53
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
94
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
427 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Friendly and efficient staff with a superb dining for breakfast and dinner. We stayed 2 nights in Sils Maria on a Swiss hiking tour and found the Hotel Edelweiss to be top notch in all respects. The dining experience at dinner was by far one of the best experiences we have ever had in any major city, with an outstanding chef and gourmet dining at its most relaxed and best.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

This hotel was much larger than I expected for such a small town and much larger than the quaint boutique hotels we had stayed at in the Engadine until arriving in Sils. It was also much grander and luxurious than others as well and had a spa and an old world charm grand ballroom restaurant as well as an inviting lobby and bar to relax.

The terrace out front was a pleasant place to enjoy a bier and wait staff were quick to assist in taking an order. Great place to people watch and enjoy the mountain views and fresh air.

We were informed of a six course concert dinner that night and also advised that if we didn't wish to be seated for that an ala carte dining room was available. We opted for the six course dinner which was lovely with wonderful service, music and food, but long (~ 3.5 hours).

Our room was not in the original building, but still spacious and nice. The bathroom was small and counter space was minimal: however, very modern and updated.

Staff was friendly and helpful and overall a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisconsin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Good-sized room, nice bathroom. Try and stay in the main hotel; the annex has less charm. Great decor in the big dining room, where excellent breakfast is served. There is also a smaller dining room where you can eat a la carte, good food and service. Personally I can do without the piano player in the lobby, but that's a question of tastes. Couldn't get internet access, the system was down.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abelardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed here for a week in June. Sils is a lovely little village about 15 minutes drive from St Moritz. The hotel picked us up from and returned us to St Moritz railway station at no extra cost. The hotel has a large lounge area with comfortable chairs and piano music in the evening. There is a small cafe area at the front of the hotel but no other outdoor space. The hotel dates back over 100 years and the amazing dining room maintains the original grand style. Our superior room in the attached Solidella annexe seemed recently refurbished, was furnished to a high standard. had a modern bathroom and a balcony looking out at the mountains. We recommend a room on the top floor and at the front of the hotel to maximise the views. Even though this overlooks the road it is quiet. Breakfast is buffet style and very extensive and tasty with fresh orange juice, cereals, breads, meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, cakes etc. We took the half board option and the four course meals were all delicious with a choice of starters and main courses. We had one six course gala meal and a starter buffet one night and a dessert buffet another. Service was friendly and efficient.
The hotel manager visited the restaurant on several evenings and talked to the guests. The whole atmosphere was very positive and you felt they wanted you to enjoy your stay.
The area is beautiful and excellent for walking and wild flowers. The hotel is part of a scheme offering a free transport pass which covers buses, trains and cable cars. This makes it very easy to get about and can save you a lot of money.
We like a quiet location and were glad we did not stay at some of the bigger, more popular resorts in the area. We were also glad we chose this hotel - we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancashire user
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

The location is right in the centre of the small village Sils-Maria, 12 km from St. Moritz. A charming, quiet village, excellent public transportation (bus) connections to any place in the Engadin. The hotel is right on the "Main street", LOL, a cul-de-sac, frequented by pedestrians, horse-drawn carriages, few buses and occasional arriving/departing tourists with their cars. The hotel has a van and takes you to/picks you up at the railway station in St. Moritz upon request for free (for arrival/departure only). Parking is free.

The hotel was built in 1876, a couple of times re-designed, and has kept its old-world charm. The lobby is large, with open fireplace, lots of comfy seatings and a bar. Adjoining you find a room with large TV. Small a-la-carte restaurant (Arvenstübli) - very cosy, typical wood-panelled walls and wooden furniture. The dining hall is awesome Art Nouveau style (original) with pillars, high ceiling, frescos etc. Breakfast buffet and five-course dinner are served there. The hotel has a small "wellness" area in the basement: jacuzzi, steam bath, sauna. WLAN access is free in the lobby, with a charge in the rooms. Using the computer in the lobby is with a charge.

My room was a single, probably the smallest available in the hotel. But no complaint here, it was a cosy room with all the comfort needed and expected in a four-star hotel and also nicely furbished (wood). The bathroom had 1970s charm, but again, no complaining - it even had a bath tub.

The double room was spacious, really spacious, on the upper floor. No particular view, though (to the back, mostly woods), but very quiet. Rooms to the front have beautiful mountain views but are not as quiet. Again, the room was nicely decorated, lots of wood, the bathroom beautifully renovated with large shower stall and all the amenities you expect. Everything was spotless clean.

The staff was extremely competent, friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to help us, e. g. when we had problems with the car (reception) or whenever we didn't like the food on the menu (e.g. dessert, I got ice cream with a selection of berries instead of a mousse with rhubarb). Also, it was a very familiar atmosphere. Granted, it might have to do with the fact that we stayed two weeks, but we really felt like at home.

Food was very, very good. Breakfast buffet had the usual stuff, several sorts of rolls, croissants, variety of bread, cereals, yoghurts, a variety of jams, honey, nutella, smoked salmon with horse-radish, dried meat (Bündner Fleisch), ham, salsiz (sort of salami), a selection of cheese, boiled eggs, bacon and eggs ... five sorts of juice or you chose to squeeze your orange juice yourself, coffee, milk, tea (you could choose from about 18 sorts of tea - loose, not in tea bags - and prepare it yourself) ... and so on. Every morning a paper waited on your table, giving information about the weather and activities. Nice.

Dinner was also served in the beautiful dining hall. Very stylish with silverware, thick white table cloth, brioche and butter waiting for you. Five course: appetizers (two choices), soup/consommé, salad buffet, main course (choice between meat, fish and vegetarian), dessert. Like I said before, if you absolutely didn't like something you could get something else. Also, a selection of cheese and fruits were always available. Tap water was free, prices for soda, wine and beer were moderate. The wine was excellent, btw! If you decide not to have dinner one or more nights they write off 25 Sfr. from your bill. You can e.g. eat at the "Arvenstübli", the a-la-carte restaurant (we didn't, regret that now).

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eagle2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sils im Engadin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#1 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cervo Sils
Hotel Cervo Sils
#8 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 1 in Sils-Segl Maria
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Privata
Hotel Privata
#3 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chesa Randolina
Hotel Chesa Randolina
#6 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Margna
Parkhotel Margna
#4 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Via da Marias 63 | Dorfstrasse, Sils im Engadin 7514, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Sils im Engadin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sils im Engadin
#2 Family Hotel in Sils im Engadin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sils im Engadin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Edelweiss 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Sils Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing