We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a genuine character”
Review of Hotel Waldhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Waldhaus
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sils im Engadin
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hotel with a genuine character”
Reviewed July 17, 2009

The Waldhaus is a reminder of another world. It stands for the upper hotel culture of the early 20th century. The family, running the Waldhaus in fourth generation, preserves that spirit, tradition and taste to the present day. This means the direction of a hotel with a genuine character rather than just another polished and soulless 5*. You may miss some conveniences like a big spa or a variety of a la carte restaurants but instead will feel welcome and attracted by of the history of the Waldhaus. The service is cordial and discreet, creating a warm atmosphere. On arrival and departure a member of the family will say hello and goodbye.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank octopus07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    20
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
74
93
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2008

The Waldhaus is an institution. My Fiancee went there 15 years before and she said something not surprising to me : "nothing has changed". Nothing change here, as the Waldhaus is a mature business. A family hotel, classy, old fashioned, with some real charm, a charm belonging to the past. The furniture, the atmosphere, you can't say you are in 2008. That's why one should go to this hotel. The charm of the eternity is here. Otherwise the food is average, the staff is warm & rather talkative, which is nice, and looks quite happy to work here. So the atmosphere is extremely relaxing.

As a conclusion, if you travel around the valley of Engadine, wants to experience a true Swiss Hotel, go to the Walhaus. A lot of charm, not so much extraordinary quality nevertheless, just to spend some hours, or days in a place which is rather one of a kind. Listen to the music the evening at the quiet bar, and dance the Tchatchatcha and the rumba like in the 50s.

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristan_Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marion, ma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

The Waldhaus is a once in a lifetime experience. Situated in the lovely Engadin region, it sits atop a mount in the Sils Maria valley, a spot beloved by Neitzche and Italian designers alike.Regarded as the most beautiful spot in the world, Sils sits between two lakes, and overlooks a plain of hiking trails and a penisula that juts out into the lake.
This area is a hikers paradise. There are trails everywhere. Are visit left us wondering, "why can't America have trails like this?
The Waldhaus is "old world" lovely with palatial common rooms, and functional updated rooms.
Opt for the half pension option (breakfast, and dinner) as dining out in switzerland is expensive, and the food is good.
We can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — friendly staff, beautiful environment
  • Disliked — staff mainly speak German
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank broome52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemsing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

The Waldhaus has the feeling of a sanatorium - a relic of the pre-war era that has seen better days. The furnishings in the lounge are reminiscent of a nursing home. Opulent it is not.
The views should be wonderful but are disappointing - it is situated on a high promontory between two lakes in the Engadin Valley but none of this can be seen from the public rooms being totally obscured by trees.
It is family run and the service was generally on-the-ball.
We booked a delux room but it had a view of the front car parking area. We could only obtain a room with a view by downgrading!
The owner was clearly miffed that we did not accept this room.
It was suggested by the owner that the first room was "just right" for us and we had not "given it a chance"!! Finally sticking to our guns we were given a room with a partial view but with out dated furnishings.
Apart from liquid soap, there were no nice little luxuries in the bathroom.
The "stubl" restaurant for dinner was high quality food but very very slow service which spoilt an otherwise good meal.
Breakfast was good quality with individual breakfasts cooked to order.
Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, except one of the front desk staff whose demeanour was unhelpful.
The owners were always at hand and did inervene, when the said front desk employee said it was not possible to have the "unused" minivan to transport us to & from a local restaurant,
despite the fact this had happened the night before, without any fuss.
The same man said hiring of bikes would be difficult despite the fact that NO bikes were reserved for any of the days we were there.He was trying to impose his "position" on us as guests - NOT helpful.

Good location helpful staff, mostly, but stuck in a time warp and needs to improve.

Will not go back or recommend to friends and family.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — ambience
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sbm456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port of spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

Gives a lovely, but expensive view, in the foothills above St. Moritz. However, for about US$500 per night, I did not expect 1) the hotel would demand US$3 for a newspaper when there was no warning that it was not complimentary 2) I did not expect the luggage wouuld take more than 2 hours to reach the room 3) there was no soap bar, I had to ask 4) there were no instructions, directions, guidance in the fitness room. Included breakfast was excellent. The building is stately.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank curtism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv,Israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2006

Situated in Sils Maria the hotel is about 5 minutes by car from St.
Moritz . On top of a hill overlooking the lake.
My family and i travel quite a bit and i must say this hotel is the friendliest i have ever been to , At our arrivel we were met by Mrs. Maria one of the owners we later had the pleasure of meeting her brother and her husband .
We were offered a room upgrade at no charge and taken to a beautifull room with an amazing view of the lake , the room was bright clean classic yet modern .
Since we had half board we had dinner at the hotel , it was a thre course affair and food was superb there is also an a la carte restaurant , service was perfect our waiter spoke english and was extremely willing to help the wine list was extensive and the summalier was able to reccomend the perfect wine for our dinner.
I highly reccomend staying at the Waldhaus .

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank light12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2006

We've wanted to stay at this hotel for many years after seeing their ads in the New Yorker magazine and fantasizing about the "children's nursery" when our kids were little and we needed a break.
What a fabulous hotel, staff and location. Of four hotels on our recent trip to Switzerland, the Waldhaus was our favorite.
The hotel is perched on a hill with a 360 degree, unobstructed view. The most desirable rooms have a view facing the Silsersee (the large lake with Maloja at one end and the Sils villages at the other). We opted for one of their more expensive rooms (around 500 CHF/swiss francs per night). Our room and the views were spectacular. As you face the front of the hotel, our room was on the upper right with an extra large balcony. We had complete privacy on our balcony- could've sat out there naked if we'd wanted.
The views were exquisite- I would compare them to the Wyoming Tetons, but in the Tetons, there are no hotels of this quality with views this great (I'm including Jenny Lake Lodge/cabins and the Amangani in my assessment). We usually don't spend so much on a room but everything in Switzerland is expensive and we took the half board plan and decided to regard our stay at the Waldhaus as a "cruise on land."
Our friends opted for a less expensive room around 300CHF per night facing the other direction (overlooking the village of Sils-Maria and the Silvaplana lake in the distance). Their room was similar to the one the previous reviewer photographed. To us it seemed slightly depressing but they were happy.
This hotel was built in the 1800s (?) and has been owned by the same family ever since. Everything runs smoothly and effortlessly. All of the staff from the front desk to the waiters were very professional, friendly and happy. Our only slightly odd experience was on arrival, a very serious young woman showed us our room options and then said "and now you must decide." I think part of the problem was her command of English.
The owner/mgrs (a middleaged grandson of the founder and his middle aged brother-in -law) were always available and very friendly, down to earth and spoke fluent English.
During our visit in mid- June, European kids are still in school so we saw only a handful of toddlers. During July, August and Christmas breaks there are probably more children for those of you interested in the kids program.
The majority of guests were older- in their 60s and 70s although we did see a few young families. Most of the guests dressed up for dinner (coat and tie) but the hotel tells you to be comfortable and wear whatever you want. We saw some families in sweatsuits and jeans and we only dressed up a little.
Dining: was mostly excellent and by Swiss prices, the half board plan was a real bargain.
Breakfast was fabulous and extensive. Our first dinner on Tues night was the Scandinavian buffet- outstanding and mind bogling in its array of offerings. Subsequent meals were never as good as Tues. If we were to stay there again for four nights, I would get the half board plan on a Tues and Fri or Sat and eat the rest of our dinners at Plaun de Lej (the tiny village mid way down the lake) at Restaurant Muratarol which Gault Millau awarded 13 stars. Everything we tried there was scrumptious. The vegetarian offerings at the Waldhaus were just so-so and the Waldhaus restaurant is not listed in Gault Millau. But overall we were happy with our meals which were of high quality and generally appealing.
Activities: walk along the lake to village of Maloja and then take a boat back to Sils. Walk up the Fex valley -absolutely exquisite- the path goes right by the Waldhaus or you could take a horse drawn carriage which leaves from the village of Sils-Maria. Drive to the unique village of Guarda about 1 1/2 hrs away.
Staying in one of the many little hotels/pensions down in the Sils villages: the problem is they all lack views of the Silsersee- only the Waldhaus has this view. On the weekend, the Sils villages became quite busy but were still charming. If we'd had more time I'd like to have eaten at the Alpenrose restaurant- a new restaurant and hotel which is Gault Millau listed. We were also glad not to be staying on the Silvaplana lake which is attractive but not nearly as beautiful as the Silsersee.
For budget travelers: we were entranced by the tiny village of Isola half way down the left (east?) side of the Silsersee. There was a cafe with a few rooms- I didn't see the rooms and am not sure how convenient public transportation would be if you don't have a car but the village and views were charming. Along the lake we saw many elderly folks walking or biking- truly amazing. Perhaps because it was mid week the trails were uncrowded but you'd never find a locale this scenic in Colorado or Wyoming or Yosemite so unspoiled and peaceful.
Another less expensive option for a room with views would be Restaurant Muratarol which also has a small hotel. The only drawback is that between the hotel and the lake is a fairly busy two lane road.
I could go on and on about the fabulous Waldhaus. We loved the Engadine and thought the Bernese Oberland, while very beautiful, was too crowded and touristy- not nearly as appealing.
A few minor criticisms:
The only toiletries offered in the room are a large communal hand soap dispenser and a large communal shower gel/shampoo dispensor in the shower. KInd of odd for a hotel of this caliber. I think it's possible they are being eco-conscious and not just a matter of being cheap. You can purchase toiletries in the gift shop. Our bathroom was fabulous otherwise- we'd like to bring it home with us.
All of the Swiss beds we encountered were extra firm and lacked box springs. The Waldhaus bed was typical Swiss and mediocre in quality although the linens were wonderful. We did not suffer from any back aches though.
In the basement of the hotel is a room with many computers available for a small fee but their internet was never working properly over a four day time span which would be very inconvenient for a business traveler.
Maid service was excellent with nightly turn down service and I sent out a few things to the hotel laundry- they did an excellent job. Overall, a wonderful, happy experience.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Elmera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sils im Engadin
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cervo Sils
Hotel Cervo Sils
#7 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 1 in Sils-Segl Maria
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Margna
Parkhotel Margna
#5 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
86 reviews
6.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
498 reviews
4.8 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldhaus

Property: Hotel Waldhaus
Address: Via da Fex 3, Sils im Engadin 7514, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Sils im Engadin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sils im Engadin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sils im Engadin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sils im Engadin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Waldhaus 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Waldhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhaus Hotel Sils Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing