We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream of a hotel”
Review of Hotel Waldhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Waldhaus
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sils im Engadin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We try
to visit the Waldhaus every year in late winter, if we find time.
As everyone knows, it is a hotel beyond dreams, a magical place, with wonderful staff, family run with much more than just personal touch, great food and perfect location.
It is and old house, so that the style, size and atmosphere of the rooms vary. But that is part of the experience and not a negative point.

Room Tip: If you like it calm and private in a large five star hotel, this is your place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AloisTreindl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 279 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

I don't normally take the time to post reviews to Tripadvisor, but Hotel Waldhaus deserves a proper, "thank you". The rooms, views, meals, service etc are all that other reviewers have said they are, but for me Hotel Walhaus has another, more intangible, quality. The balance between perfectionism and authenticity is such a challenge for a hotel nowadays; we all have such high, yet diverse expectations. We all have our personal requirements, for which we have our own value algorithm. But above-all we seek character, somewhere memorable. Hotel Waldhaus achieves this. How refreshing it is to see a hotel where each generation, each culture and each personality can be seen enjoying themselves and, more importantly, each others' company. I suppose that is what 100 years of Swiss family dedication achieves. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RobMalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Waldhaus in Sils-Maria is absolutely everything one would expect from a five star hotel and then - some more. The rooms are excellent and very clean, the service is quite impeccable and the attention to detail very good. The location needs no hagiography. The family ownership model clearly works and the owners have a good understanding of guests' needs - they literally ask all the guests on a daily basis how everything is going ! If there is a gripe, and there has to be one it is that the gym equipment is a bit obsolete and the gym is too small. A CHF 250,000 investment in some Life-Fitness and Techno Gym stuff and a bigger gym would literally make this hotel the perfect, absolutely perfect top quality Swiss Hotel.

Room Tip: The Tower suites are amazing but so are most of the rooms. There is a price differential between teh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankSpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

My family (my husband and my teenage son) have stayed at this wonderfully located hotel (majestically situated on a wooded hill above the place Sils and the Lake Sils) many times and it’s always a special experience to be there. The Waldhaus is not a hotel you would find anywhere else, it’s quite extraordinary, be it due to its history, its considerate management (family owned and managed for five generations) or its unique atmosphere. On the one hand it’s luxurious enough to satisfy also spoiled guests, on the other hand it’s unpretentious and relaxed. The house underwent various renovations, but all very thoughtfully done in order not to neglect its exceptional character. The hotel is ideally located in winter for cross-country skiing and walks in the beautiful surroundings (there is a shuttle to a nearby mountain railway for downhill skiers) and in summer for hiking. As we are three persons, we usually go for a junior suite from which you can choose a modern, classic or nostalgic one. Best view in my opinion is towards Lake Sils but this has to be paid extra. The rooms – we normally have modern ones – are appropriately furnished, they are luxurious enough but not so that you wallow in luxury. The facilities are up to date maybe with the exception of the spa and the fitness room. If you put emphasis on these two things this hotel may not be your first choice. Nevertheless, the hotel offers things which you wouldn’t find in another house, and that is a splendid hotel foyer with an atmosphere beyond comparison where you can have your tea or your drinks in a wonderful setting or there is a wonderfully old-fashioned library where you feel like being in days long gone by. As far as eating is concerned, there is a sumptuous breakfast buffet with a wide choice and with the best Swiss Bircher Muesli ever. In the evening, an exquisitely prepared dinner in several courses is served and this almost always to our entire satisfaction; and you can be sure that one member of the owner family comes to your table and talks to you for a moment, a nice touch. In conclusion, a very nice house for a stay in the area of St. Moritz with all the comfort you may need but without the pretentiousness you will often find there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank swisstraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Great hotel and staff,that make you feel at home,really up to date room with modern design,we even got an upgrade to a bigger room for free.
we will be back

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingforbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We had booked for three nights and left after one.The furniture in our room was cheap and bashed, the beds had uncomfortable, mismatched mattresses. Construction noise prevented us from opening the window during the day. We were assigned the possibly worst table in the dining room: cramped into the darkest corner furthest away from any window. The hotel literature was somewhat deceptive: nowhere did it state that the "Halbpension" dinner option was a buffet-style meal. Employees were mostly sullen and unfriendly (except the room service waiter whose most favorite word was "Entschuldigung"). On realizing we were leaving the next morning a co-owner cornered us and accused us of 'not giving the hotel not enough time'.This was followed up the next morning with a hand-written polemic good-bye note at breakfast. All this for 500 Euros plus. Waldhaus Sils: a great hotel no more.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
11  Thank Cordingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

What a treat. Breath-taking views, beautiful grounds, exceptional service. The staff made us feel welcome, at home and special. Some day we hope to be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ela524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sils im Engadin
6.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
554 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
8.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 1 in Sils-Segl Maria
164 reviews
4.8 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cervo Sils
Hotel Cervo Sils
#7 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldhaus

Address: Via da Fex 3, Sils im Engadin 7514, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Sils im Engadin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sils im Engadin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sils im Engadin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sils im Engadin
Price Range: $345 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Waldhaus 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Waldhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhaus Hotel Sils Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing