We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb modern hotel in one of the most picturesque towns in the Engadin Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Donatz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Donatz
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Samedan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb modern hotel in one of the most picturesque towns in the Engadin Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Donatz is a spectacularly presented modern hotel which, for me, is a demonstration in good design. The hotel is located in Samedan, a few minutes drive from San Moritz, and as scenic and characterful a town as you could wish for.

Our corner room was huge, extremely light with several windows along two sides, and with simple but flawless furnishing that remained true to the hotel's alpine setting. The bed was large and comfortable, there were many convenient power points, and the (charged for) WiFi was reliable if slow.

We didn't take breakfast, but we did have an enjoyable dinner of traditional swiss dishes - with some twists - plated at the table by the friendly and efficient waiter. We didn't go for the flambéed options but I can imagine they would add further to the theatre. We enjoyed a locally brewed beer which I'm sure must benefit from the quality of the water in the region. Dinner was expensive for the relatively simple dishes on offer, but that goes with the region.

There were no public parking spaces available when we arrived so we opted to pay to park in the hotel's small garage. The staff were welcoming and attentive, in fact no element of the service we received can be faulted. From previous research we knew we wanted to visit the nearby Spa in Samedan, and it was a nice surprise to find that entry was free for Donatz guests. We strongly recommend that guests take advantage of this - the spa is magnificent.

This is not an inexpensive hotel (especially if you dine there), but compared with many of the neighbouring options it does offer superb value for money. We very much hope to return.

Room Tip: Our corner room (33) was large and very light. Even the bathroom has a large window. We would ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phrenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    30
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
103
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I are very experienced travellers in more or less all parts of the world and we have backpacked and stayed in five-star hotels and everything in between. Our stay at Hotel Donatz was the worst so far in our lives. The hotel is nice and tidy, but watch out for the owner! I'm polished enough not to use the words I'm thinking, but his behavior towards us was very very very bad. The worst treatment we actually ever had from a hotel staff.

We had brought our three months old baby and quite obviously she was sleeping together with us. We believe all parents have experienced that the diapers do not always cover up for all occasions. Unfotunately there was a minor accident during our stay. In the morning we informed the cleaners who said they were going to take care of it. Later in the day we checked out and left the hotel, but stayed in the village. After a while the waitress at the restaurant asked us to contact the hotel manager who had called them. We went back and was immediately dragged in to a discussion with a furious hotel manager who took us to the room to show a stain on the matress, caused by our three months baby. The cover to protect the matress was obviously not Swiss quality. Nor was the behavior of the hotel manager. He entered an argument that we had to pay for the bed! After a discussion that went worse with serious insults, I said I was going to take no more dirt from him and leave the room and hotel. Then he screamed that he was going to make us pay, physically tried to stop us from leaving the room and threatened to call the police!

What can we say? First of all, never go to Hotel Donatz in Samedan. You don't know what you'll end up paying for. He by the way made us pay for two rooms when we had to cancel the second room eight days in advance of the arrival due to the grandmother who should have joined got hospitalised. A month earlier we stayed at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang in Penang, Malaysia. In comparison, Hotel Donatz has light-years to go to come even close to the hospitality they show....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ely
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

A friendly hotel. A lovely clean room with a mountain view from the bed and four windows in the room. Samedan is a charming place-especailly so if you go down all the side roads and enjoy the charm. When hotels offer a spa down the road you are in for a trek. Not here. The price include the Samedan spa which is simply mind blowing! The hotel also offered free cable car funicular bus and rail tickets for the duration of the stay (potentially worth more than the stay !!!). Breakfast superb with a vast variety of tasty breads. Restaurant looked nice but one would need to rob a (swiss) bank to use it at UK exchange rates!!!. Only slight snag was the lack of frosted glass on the upper side of the bathroom window. Girlfriend stopped a few buses I expect !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlesnfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

very nice little hotel in Samedan.
Family-run.
friendly staff.
very nice rooms with everything you need.
the restaurant is small and intimate, the food is so good that I get hungry just thinking about it.

Room Tip: I had room 31, corner with many windows, large and bright, I loved that room. corner room facing on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
199 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Used Samedan as a hiking base and stayed here. Good hotel at a reasonable price with a great breakfast and wi-fi access (not free, but most places in this area don't have any access). Especially liked that the Engandine Card was included in the price. Gives you free access to all transportation in the area which saves an appreciable amount of money. Samedan makes a great base if you don't like the glitz (and expense) of St. Moritz and Pontressina. Also has better transportation connections and a friendly tourist office. A good guide book is the Cicerone guide to Walks in the Engandine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

My husband and I have just spent the weekend in Samedan at this delightful hotel. Rooms were big, clean and quiet. Breakfast was very good (buffet) and included in room price. They also provide you with a free travel card to use during your stay. This was handy to get back and forth from St Moritz, which is only 10 mins away by bus. On the Sunday night, we had dinner in the hotel. This is a must. The service, food and wine was impeccable. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m69murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

This hotel is within five minutes' walk of the train station, and from here you can go to anywhere in the area. The hotel gave me a discount transport card for staying a minimum of two nights, which was great. Of course, I lost it, and my sfr 10 deposit, but they issued me another.

The staff are kind and all speak English. There is a lift, and the large rooms were very clean and comfortable, and well insulated against the cold nights. I do agree with Blondii on the somewhat odd choice of colours (grey) in the rooms, but this is no biggie because it is a good hotel in every other way. There was no mini bar in the room, but if I wanted cold water, I just put a bottle on the window sill outside and shut it out there overnight!

Switzerland is expensive, and although the rooms were a reasonable price, I found the meals in the restaurant a little pricey, although the food was good. There were a couple of other places open in the town itself (which is worth a walk around, it is lovely), but my German is next to non-existent, and I like to know what I'm eating, and what kinds are on offer, before I go in. I could have gone on the train to another town, but sometimes you just can't be bothered going out and want to go somewhere within a few minutes, especially if you've been on the go all day.

The breakfast is excellent, wide variety of tasty foods and hot/cold beverages.

Samedan is a great base for seeing all the sights in this area, and Hotel Donatz is a pleasant, comfortable, welcoming base in Samedan.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lightwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samedan
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bernina 1865
Hotel Bernina 1865
#3 of 5 in Samedan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Quadratscha
Alpenhotel Quadratscha
#4 of 5 in Samedan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Chesa Rosatsch
Hotel Chesa Rosatsch
#1 of 9 in Celerina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Nira Alpina
Nira Alpina
#1 of 5 in Silvaplana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donatz

Property: Hotel Donatz
Address: Plazzet 15, Samedan 7503, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Samedan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Samedan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Donatz 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless and proud to present the hotel Donatz midst of Samedan village, close to bus and train. The 25 Non smoking rooms in warm colors with simple Pine kept have private bath and / or shower, satellite TV with flat screen, Radio, safe, telephone and wireless LAN. During the summer months the use of the Mountain railways and cable cars of the upper Engadin are free from the second day of your stay. The public transport (train and bus) and the Mineralbath & Spa of Samedan are free from the second day of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Donatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing