We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Friendly Hotel”
Review of Hotel Donatz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Donatz
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Samedan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My husband and I have just spent the weekend in Samedan at this delightful hotel. Rooms were big, clean and quiet. Breakfast was very good (buffet) and included in room price. They also provide you with a free travel card to use during your stay. This was handy to get back and forth from St Moritz, which is only 10 mins away by bus. On the Sunday night, we had dinner in the hotel. This is a must. The service, food and wine was impeccable. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m69murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 211 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

This hotel is within five minutes' walk of the train station, and from here you can go to anywhere in the area. The hotel gave me a discount transport card for staying a minimum of two nights, which was great. Of course, I lost it, and my sfr 10 deposit, but they issued me another.

The staff are kind and all speak English. There is a lift, and the large rooms were very clean and comfortable, and well insulated against the cold nights. I do agree with Blondii on the somewhat odd choice of colours (grey) in the rooms, but this is no biggie because it is a good hotel in every other way. There was no mini bar in the room, but if I wanted cold water, I just put a bottle on the window sill outside and shut it out there overnight!

Switzerland is expensive, and although the rooms were a reasonable price, I found the meals in the restaurant a little pricey, although the food was good. There were a couple of other places open in the town itself (which is worth a walk around, it is lovely), but my German is next to non-existent, and I like to know what I'm eating, and what kinds are on offer, before I go in. I could have gone on the train to another town, but sometimes you just can't be bothered going out and want to go somewhere within a few minutes, especially if you've been on the go all day.

The breakfast is excellent, wide variety of tasty foods and hot/cold beverages.

Samedan is a great base for seeing all the sights in this area, and Hotel Donatz is a pleasant, comfortable, welcoming base in Samedan.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lightwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

This hotel is a very good value. It is accessible to St. Moritz with a bus stop just down the street. The hotel provided a free public transit card. It is also close to the train station. The hotel is modern and well cared for. The tiny elevator was funny, but it did the job. Our room and bathroom were good size, modern, and very clean. The shower was large, but leaked a bit out the bottom. The room had a sort of sterile feeling with the gray colors used. We ate dinner at the restaurant and had a delicious dinner with good service. We especially recommend the beef flambe in mustard sauce with rosti on the side. The breakfast buffet was typical. The hotel is no frills, but an excellent choice considering the budget busting hotels in St. Moritz.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blondii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank felsli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Jeannine_Roethlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank retodraeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samedan
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bernina 1865
Hotel Bernina 1865
#2 of 5 in Samedan
353 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food
1.8 mi away
All In One Hotel Inn Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#3 of 21 in Pontresina
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Quadratscha
Alpenhotel Quadratscha
#4 of 5 in Samedan
136 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
#12 of 21 in Pontresina
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donatz

Address: Plazzet 15, Samedan 7503, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Samedan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Samedan
Price Range: $194 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Donatz 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless and proud to present the hotel Donatz midst of Samedan village, close to bus and train. The 25 Non smoking rooms in warm colors with simple Pine kept have private bath and / or shower, satellite TV with flat screen, Radio, safe, telephone and wireless LAN. During the summer months the use of the Mountain railways and cable cars of the upper Engadin are free from the second day of your stay. The public transport (train and bus) and the Mineralbath & Spa of Samedan are free from the second day of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Donatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing