We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bernina 1865

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bernina 1865
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Samedan
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is typical winter hotel, in an old traditional building. It has an amazing view of the mountains and the village, especially when it snows. Samedan is 10 minutes far from St. Moritz and it is a quiet place. .
The hotel staff was very polite and gentle. Our room was clean, spacious and warm. There is free wi-fi everywhere in the building.
The only thing I have to note is that they never cleaned our friend's room one day and they forgot to change the bathroom rug for us once.
The breackfast is very good and rich for a 4 star hotel. Plus you can order amazing omellette and delicious coffee.
Is is dfinately a good choice,in order to stay in St. Moritz in a reasonable price and warm environment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NellyKon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    92
    27
    14
    1
See reviews for
52
152
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veenendaal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here with my wife in July. Spacious room, spacious bathroom. Everything in this hotel is spacious. The hotel shows its age in some places, but we found it adds to the charm of it. Wifi was superb with a wireless AP in the room itself. Parking our car was not a problem, but I am not sure that will be the same when the place is full. Staff was very helpful, in a genuine way. Best thing about the Bernina is the breakfast room. More like a ballroom. And stunning views. Great start of the day. It is a 5-minute walk to the railway station, where you can board the Bernina Express going over the Bernina pass to Italy (do that!). We had a pleasant stay and simply recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolf_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
206 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Definitely one of the hardest working hotel staff I have come across in my travels. Everyone from the clerks to the waiters to the managers are effusive in their praise, concern, and assistance.

Easy to communicate via email.
Near the train station. Uphill, have a shuttle, but must arrange exact arrival time a few days in advance.

Internet varies.

There is traffic noise, which surprised me in this small town, but I think it has to do with how the traffic is routed around the historic center. The Bernina straddles the major route into that side of town, so you can get a room under the breakfast room/over the road--really! Some rooms on the back overlook that road and some corner rooms overlook that road plus the quieter street that runs in front of the hotel. If you are a light sleeper like me, make sure you get an upper floor and facing the front of the hotel.

Bed hard, but I found additional duvet in one wardrobe and additional pillows in the second room I was in and could use them to soften the bed and increase the pillow height.

Small safe that was not secured in wardrobe, but can lock wardrobe--I don't know if they are unique keys, so may not make secure.

Very large, modern, fancy bathrooms with various jacuzzi tub/shower curtain arrangements. Clean rooms, though each one seemed to be missing something or the cleaning staff did not always stock and replace items consistently.

Heavy drapes for the light.

Expansive breakfast buffet included in my negotiated discount rate.

Several small problems while I was there that the staff eagerly tried to fix. Again I got the feeling they were trying really hard, but they have some problems with a 4* experience. I am used to 3*, so they exceeded my needs in many ways.

Room Tip: High floor on front of hotel would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just sat here in the Bernina now as I type this.

As others have mentioned, the staff in this Hotel are amazing, the welcome that you receive on your arrival is tops and they are only too willing to help with anything you need.

The rooms are very nice, the beds are very comfy. Bathrooms are beautiful and well equipped (although I didnt manage to master the controls to get the Jacuzzi working)

Free use of the Sauna and Spa, although we didnt take advantage of this as we were too busy exploring.

Very quiet Hotel too, nothing at all for me to complain about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sazzlestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

A 4-star Hotel that lived up to expectations. We stayed one peaceful night, room spotless, beds comfortable, nothing but praise for Costantinos and his brother Antonio. Am looking forward to next year.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eli m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Tired, hungry, footsore from travel and an oasis by the name of Antonious appears at the front desk to calm your nerves and answer all your questions, arrange for your heart's desire and make you feel like some kind of movie star. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat and will be back despite my hours earlier assertion of never returning to Switzerland; all based on the wonderful care of the staff of the Hotel Bernina 1865. Could not have a higher opinion of this wonderful hotel. Sincerely, Melissa F

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissalovestravel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendrisio, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great place to stay while skiing in Sankt Moritz, which is only a few minutes away by car (or bus).
The hotel is simply great and offers all its needed for a perfect stay.
Rooms are huge and clean.
Staff was helpful and kind the whole time.

Nice Italian restaurant, with a great choice of traditional Engadinen food!

To summarise, beside the breakfast's price (25CHF p.p) the only negative side I can't think of was...leaving!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samedan
0.0 mi away
Hotel Donatz
Hotel Donatz
#1 of 5 in Samedan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Quadratscha
Alpenhotel Quadratscha
#4 of 5 in Samedan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.9 mi away
All In One Hotel Inn Lodge
3.0 mi away
Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel
#16 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernina 1865? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernina 1865

Property: Hotel Bernina 1865
Address: Plazzet 20, Samedan 7503, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Samedan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Samedan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bernina 1865 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Bernina 1865 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Samedan
Samedan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing