We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice service, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sporthotel Pontresina
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Zürich
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice service, good breakfast”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The hotel is located centrally in Pontresina. There are shops and public transportation close to it.
The hotel itself has beautiful interieur, I had breakfast included. There was a large selection of breakfast items like meats, cheese, cereals, fruit juices.

Good
+ Beatiful view form my room
+ Nice clean bathroom with bathtub (Room 215).
+ Very nice service at front desk
+ Got a free room upgrade

Less good
- No pen or paper in my room to write something. Frontdesk gave it to me when I asked though

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    42
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
18
45
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The small single room I had was fine, with a large open cupboard for clothes and luggage. The bathroom was large, with an ample sized walk-in shower, although the shower floor was very slippery, The bed was comfortable, and the room had two large windows, except that they overlooked the hotel next door. Although there was no Wi-Fi in the room, it was available and free in a lounge area and in the ground floor bar.

The breakfast was ample, with sufficient choices. However, the evening meals were really poor. The salads and appetizers were good, but the main courses each night (five nights) were inedible. I would rate the hotel higher if the food had been better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiaOra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2010

We've spent a perfect week in Pontresina for skiing; Sporthotel again offered a perfect deal. Daily rates included: hotel room, big breakfast, spa&wellness, ticket for ski resorts all around and free public transportation. And the highlight, yes: the new cozy bar at the entrance of the hotel and for sure, the great meal deal every night.
JUST PERFECT! :-)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salvitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We ordered some tough,fatty veal and asked the waitress if we cold send it back after one bite.She cleared the table and brought us another preference .WHEN THE CHECK CAME IT WAS $160 including the food we sent back.We questioned the charge, and the manager came.He said the meat was fine and that we had to pay or he would call the police.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank reisman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penngrove, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Pontresina, is in the middle of an amazing area. This hotel is great -- no real bargains around this area that looked acceptable. Delightful staff, fantastic breakfasts, free parking, perfect location. Dinners were "eh," and pricey, expected for Switzerland -- but their salad bar was above average. The bathroom was lovely. The spa was minimal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

This is an absolutely marvelous hotel - I picked it without knowing what to expect and I was delighted with everything about it: the location is terrific - right next to the Info Center, close to shopping, restaurants, with a great view over to the mountains, a terrific spa which was beautifully maintained (and just down the hall from my room), a huge room with a King-sized bed, large bath, and wonderful food - breakfast was a dream. Also, a main bus stop was just across the street. The staff are amazing and address any problems right away. They offer free pickup and delivery to the train station, and all in all, I couldn't bear to leave. One woman I met at breakfast said that she had been coming there every year for 20+ years, and I couldn't agree with her more. You won't be disappointed. If you don't elect the half-board plan, the separate, a la carte restaurant inside the hotel serves wonderful food. They do charge for WiFi internet service. I didn't mind but if this matters to you, they have several price schemes and if you used it often it was less expensive than by the hour.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiggyMoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Booked this hotel upon Tripadvisor's recommendation. Nothing negative about the hotel in general, but nothing exceptionally outstanding either to make us return to this hotel as we found a better alternative (cf. Hotel Muller in Pontresina). However if our preferred hotel is full, we won't have any difficulty going back to Sporthotel. Here are the reasons why I hesitate between rating 3 stars or 4 stars:
- the hotel is large: at least 100 rooms. So not very intimate, difficulty to park as the parking space is too small for a hotel of such size, queue at the reception.
- Very nice the building located on the main road of Pontresina
- Hotel and the room is very clean.
- the spa/sauna area is not opened before 15h or 16h, which is a pity when it is snowing heavily that you cannot ski.
- Due to the size of the hotel, the breakfast room looks like a "canteen", although it is very nicely decorated and you have "garcons" cleaning the tables.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_In_Taipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pontresina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
#11 of 21 in Pontresina
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
843 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#3 of 21 in Pontresina
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rosatsch
Hotel Rosatsch
#6 of 21 in Pontresina
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Pontresina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Pontresina

Property: Sporthotel Pontresina
Address: Via Maistra 145, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sporthotel Pontresina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Sporthotel Pontresina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing