We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast, clean hotel, friendly staff and good base for hiking tours”
Review of Hotel Albris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Albris
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Certificate of Excellence
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast, clean hotel, friendly staff and good base for hiking tours”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in the hotel Albris for 2 nights in a standard room. The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly and helpful, both at the reception and breakfast/ restaurant area. We were welcomed in the room with a bottle of sparkling water and some delicious cookies made in their bakery. And when we left, we received a fresh baked bread, also from their bakery.

Our room was clean, two single beds put together as a double bed and the bathroom with shower looked new and modern. The small flat screen TV was sufficient for our needs to get updated on news and weather. There is also a small safe in the room.

Breakfast is excellent with a large selection of breads, probably freshly made in their bakery, cheese, ham, different jams and honey. There are also different homemade yoghurts and breakfast cereals to choose from. And there is an appliance where guests can prepare their own fresh pressed orange juice by the push of a button. A nice touch was their "Morning Post" on the breakfast table, a one-pager with information on weather forecast for the next 3 days, things to do, introduction to hotel staff, citation of the day and a Sudoku puzzle.

The hotel also has a Sauna and relaxing area (both indoor and outdoor). We did not use it but someone in our group did and enjoyed it a lot.

Since we were invited, I can not comment on price/value, but it must be better priced than some of the 4-star hotels. And the hotel Albris is in a great location and with the plentiful breakfast I think it's a great deal to stay as a base for some wonderful hiking trips.

Some tips:
- The hotel price includes a pass to use public transport of the area (bus, train, cable cars etc to go up the mountains).
- The hotel has a number of bikes that can be rented for free.
- A nice and quite easy panoramic hike: Take the bus (station just on opposite side of hotel) to Punt Muragl (< 10 min) to go up to Muottas Muragl and hike 2 3/4 hours to Alp Languard. It's a relatively flat hike with views to St. Moritz, the Bernina mountain and other surrounding mountains.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    34
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
123
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Willebroek, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very nice family-owned hotel. The location is very good, near to the bus station and the center of Pontresina. The service provided by the family Kochendorfer and the staff is excellent. We enjoyed the quality of the breakfast (all types of fresh bread from the family-bakery in the hotel) and the dinners (we had half-board). We liked the wellness.

Room Tip: The room with balcony situated on the south side was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyriE50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Staying a few nights in Pontresina, found this hotel to be in an excellent location, it is closed to shops and it is well connected by public transport, it also offers a shuttle bus service anyway. Very clean and well staffed, service was attentive and friendly. We chose to stay half board as better value considering that eating out in Switzerland is not cheap. The menu was well constructed and always offering choice of meat or fish, breakfast was generous with delicious fresh cakes available - the hotel also runs an excellent bakery.
We stayed in a standard room,so can't say much about the view, but the bathroom was very clean and altogether it was comfortable and well heated. The bonus of this three-stars hotel is that it has a lovely wellness centre, with a good sauna, turkish batch and lounge, which helped made the holiday relaxing. Can't be faulted if you are looking for good food and relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 848cri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Hotel is great, service excellent, staff very polite and efficient, great restaurant, fantastic conditorie, excellent breakfast. Its all not cheap, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We've been going to Pontresina almost yearly since 1993 and have traveled around Switzerland a lot. We stayed at the Albris last year, and were so delighted we booked for this year. Big mistake. Apparently the parents Kochendorfer have turned the running of the hotel over to their son and daughter. These two are ill-suited to run a hotel as they are arrogant, rude, aggressive to guests and totally unprofessional.
I got food poisoning here. The evidence points to that: I ate nowhere else the 12 hours before I exhibited classic symptoms of food poisoning, and other guests in the hotel suddenly came down with the same "virus," as the hotel wishes to claim it. (We asked around; this "virus" didn't seem to be at other hotels!)
Instead of having sympathy for our distress, the now-owners (son & daughter) proceeded to rip us off for meals we weren't able to eat because of the prior tainted food! They insisted it was "the hotel policy" which was in their written information. No one ever told us of this, and the "written information" is in German only. (I can read English, French, Italian and Spanish---had they bothered to write it in any of those. And, they did have some information in English.)
When I complained, instead of trying to work out the issue, the daughter snottily told me she didn't have to talk to me and the son accused us of "cheating the hotel!" Rather bizarre when we had paid for the meals that we didn't eat!!!
We spoke with a few other people in the hotel, and they also thought these two were rude and arrogant to guests who had any problems.
Until these two individuals get some sorely-needed training on how to deal with the public and handle problems in a professional and dignified manner, I don't recommend going here. It is too bad; these two are quickly smearing the once-respected Kochendorfer name.

  • Liked — clean rooms
  • Disliked — the owners of this hotel are money-grubbing, arrogrant, unprofessional and rude
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Traveling53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pontresina hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#3 of 21 in Pontresina
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
#11 of 21 in Pontresina
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosatsch
Hotel Rosatsch
#6 of 21 in Pontresina
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#7 of 21 in Pontresina
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albris

Property: Hotel Albris
Address: Via Maistra 228, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Pontresina hospitality in an unspoilt setting: the Hotel Albris is in the heart of the wonderful alpine world of the Upper Engadin. Its non-smoking rooms are all clad with pine and are really cosy. To help guests feel even better after an exciting day, there is a wellness complex for them to use. Excellent cooking and the hotel's own bread and cake shop will make the hearts of true connoisseurs beat faster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Hotel Albris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing