We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to relax.”
Review of Hotel Rosatsch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rosatsch
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“The place to relax.”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We spent a week at this "new" hotel in Pontresina. The new magmt team did a great job redoing parts of the hotel incl rooms, spa and the dinner/breakfast area as well as the Stuebli. We experienced a very friendly & helpful service. The room was clean at all times with just one little topic - the shower curtain. Outstanding price/value at dinner with great wine recommendations.
We had a very relaxing time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    59
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
96
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I have visited the Engadin region for several years to ski. We stayed at Hotel Rosatsch over NYE and had a lovely experience. The hotel is located in a quaint village and centrally located to many activities. We stayed in the older part of the hotel and had a very large room (bed very comfortable). Plenty of room for all our ski gear (they have a ski room in the basement as well). The hotel staff was very friendly. I thought the spa and indoor pool was the perfect place to relax after a day of skiing. We also booked a massage which was just perfect. I thought the food was AMAZING. We had dinner at the hotel for NYE - the 6 course menu was exceptional. The chef is very talented. We felt welcomed from the moment we entered the hotel. They mentioned that they recently re-decorated most of the hotel....it shows. Very stylish but not overdone. We will return next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the old part of the hotel in a small suite....living room, terrace, kitchenette, bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eobnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I spent a week, including the Christmas period, at this hotel. My wife and I have spent several Christmases in Pontresina, in four hotels, and this was the best yet. Our room was in fact a mini-suite in the newer part of the hotel, and we were very happy to have plenty of space to put away all our things, and to stretch out. The bed was in a kind of alcove, the toilet was separate from the en-suite bathroom - which boasted both a bath and a separate shower - and the living area contained two armchairs and a sofa. Admittedly the view from the (three) windows was not brilliant, but there was a balcony - which we did not use - from which you could get a better one. One minor quibble concerned the heating: despite turning the radiators right down we still found it too hot at night, and never got a really good night's sleep. Another was the single lift that served this part of the hotel: often you had to wait ages for it to come, but this was probably because another guest was holding the door open on another floor. That happens everywhere and is not really the hotel's fault.

We stayed half-board, and were extremely satisfied with the range of food on offer from both the massive breakfast buffet, and the four-course (five on Christmas Day) evening meal. There was a choice of two main courses, and you had to choose which one to have when you were having breakfast. With two such large meals, we found it possible to skip lunch altogether, except for something small like a coffee and pastry (usually Apple Strudel in my case!).

All the staff from the receptionist, the maids, the waiters and waitresses, and the porters who picked us up from and returned us to the station, were unfaillingly helpful, polite and friendly. As was the manager who made a point of speaking to every guest during dinner.

In sterling terms the hotel was not cheap, and particularly so in High Season, but then that comment is applicable to everything and everywhere in Switzerland. On the other hand, on arrival at the hotel you are given free passes that enable you to use all the local trains and buses, which as you would expect, run like clockwork. I suppose the passes are not really free, but are included in the cost of the room, but it is a nice touch and we made full use of them. The Engadine valley in which Pontresina lies is one of the most beautiful areas I know of, and it is equally so in summer and winter. At nearly 6000 feet above sea level, you are practically guaranteed snow over Christmas - although I understand it was a close-run thing this year.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to get more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puffin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We got a room in the old part of the hotel on the 4th floor. The shower was right by roof slope and unless your are under 1m tall, you cannot use the shower. For CHF 200 I think this is not appropriate. Otherwise the hotel was fine, service was friendly and the spa area pretty nice.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a normal shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rblaettler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Service was very friendly, we got this delicious chocolate bars when we got to our room, and also when we left. It's located in the city center, so everything is really close by.
The restaurant was beautifully decorated and the food was something else, it was so delicious!!! They also have a very complete spa, with many different massages.
I would extremely recommend this place to everyone, and would definitely com back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefyhofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austrian Alps, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Man merkt dass ein neuer Wind weht, neue Führung, interessante Speisekarte. Eigentümer haben Hotel teils saniert und das sehr erfolgreich und stylisch. Es wird noch etwas Zeit brauchen bis das ganze Hotel vollständig fertig gestellt ist aber der Anfacg ist jetzt schon viel versprechend. Supper Frühstücksbuffet, sehr bemühter Service, sehr gute Küche sowohl Halb Pension als auch A la carte. Tolle Kinderspielzimmer obwohl wir keine Kinder im Gepäck hatten, auffallend. neue Lounge mit Klavier sehr schön. Hier hat sich was getan. Weiter so!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

We had stayed in other hotels in Pontresina. A last-minute decision for a holiday there limited our options and I went for the available Rosatsch, having noticed its central location on earlier visits. I was also swayed by the fact that it has its own pool and spa, nice after a hard day's skiing or hiking, or if the weather lets you down, but now that Pontresina has a new pool/spa complex, perhaps this is not so important.

The hotel doesn't win points for either modern chic or for old Swiss charm. One portion - the Residenz - appears to be a '70's building, functional, leaning toward traditional in style, and not hideous. I chose the original building, the Stammhaus, which at least seemed to have character. For me, the character was somewhat spoiled by artificial flowers everywhere, including in the swimming area. But the main downside was our bathroom. The first room we were offered was spacious and quite pleasant, but the bathroom was incredibly dark and dated. After a short tour of what was available, we went for an attic room, small but quite charming, and although we noticed that the bathroom was very small, at least it was white and bright. It wasn't until we used it that we realized that the bath was much too small to be comfortable, and the shower had to be held in one hand to direct the spray - a HUGE downer. I don't know if we would have been better off choosing a room with shower only, or looking into the rooms at the Residenz.

The food at the hotel - breakfast and dinner - was EXCELLENT, both in terms of choice and quality. Unusual for a Swiss mountain hotel, fish was an option every day we were there. The salad bar was exceptional, and on occasion the starter or desert courses were buffet, and incredible. I would give the hotel 5 out of 5 for food, but 2 out of 5 for the room.

I had a mixed feeling about the service and general ambiance. The owner was at times very pleasant, the service in the dining room was efficient (but a knowledge of German helped) - the head waiter was especially good, the atmosphere wasn't as international as at other Pontresina hotels. The hotel didn't exactly spill out with help and information. That was okay for me, as we were familiar with the area, but first timers would do well to go to the nearby excellent Tourist Office for information about the area and to explore the hotel's facilities for themselves. Also, we had to remind staff to give us our Engadin Inclusive cards for free transport. There was a little something lacking in the hotel - an eagerness to please, joy, perhaps. Would I return to the hotel? Hmmm. Thinking of the food, yes!! The swimming pool was large, little used, and okay apart from the artificial flowers. There was no garden or terrace - which would have been nice on a summer evening. But thinking of the bathroom and other options available, well ... maybe not. But then perhaps the rooms in the Residenz are better. And the food was really good!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swissfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pontresina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#9 of 21 in Pontresina
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
#11 of 21 in Pontresina
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#3 of 21 in Pontresina
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosatsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosatsch

Property: Hotel Rosatsch
Address: Via Maistra 157 | 7504 Pontresina, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosatsch 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Among Friends: Decelerate, savour the moment and enjoy life among friends surrounded by marvellous mountain scenery - that is holiday in the Hotel Rosatsch. The Hotel Rosatsch was built in 1914 and consists of the Main Building*** and the Residence****. The two connected buildings are situated in the centre of Pontresina and in the heart of the magnificent Engadine - only a few minutes away from St. Moritz. Guests can choose from 82 rooms and junior suites. All of them are equipped with everything you would expect for your holiday among friends. The Hotel Rosatsch also features one in-house restaurant and two cosy hotelbars. The newly renovated Spa ° Montana offers the following amenities: Swimming pool, whirlpool, steam bath, laconium, Finnish sauna, gym and an extensive array of massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rosatsch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing