We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”
Review of Hotel Mueller

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mueller
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here in mid June 2013. Arrived at Pontresina station late afternoon after a long journey and called the hotel for directions. Konrad came immediately in a minibus to pick us up. Turned out he is the hotel manager. He was incredibly helpful and attentive throughout our stay. We had not planned to, but we ate in that night. The evening meal was amazing! We had the set menu, I think we had 5 courses and it was prepared to perfection and very good value. The second evening the set menu had 1 less course and not as interesting, but still very satisfying. We changed to eating outside as a lovely evening and we were accommodated, with no fuss. Italian staff serving at tables were courteous and professional. Breakfast buffet was excellent. We were a party of 3. We had a super double room with all you could wish for. Pinewood everywhere typical for alpine hotels. The single room was on the top floor of the hotel with super views to mountains behind the hotel. We would definitely return to this hotel if in the area. This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.
Pontresina was a good base for exploring the area with trains and cable cars all easily accessible. We also visited the village public swimming pool/spa which had recently opened. Well worth a visit for the outdoor pool with water jets to give you a pummelling.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 115 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

The diningroom is 1st class service and prices of course. Breakfasts best we had in 3 weeks in Switzerland. helpful staff getting us train tickets, reservations for our next stop on the trip.
Our room was small with views of this lovely town which I would recommend as a 3 day stay to take advantage of the hikes and small town so long as the weather is good. I was told to get a S. facing room but one was not available when we reserved. judy Arcata, Ca

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is an excellent hotel! Small but very nicely and simply decorated, ellegant and it gave me the impression of closeness to nature: very peaceful on the main street of Pontresina. You are in walking distance to everything that matters (except the great pizzeria in the train station but I guess a 10 minutes walk up the hill after indulging in a meal is anyway recommendable). The hotel is very clean, the breakfast is absolutely delicious, everything was of high quality. What makes it even more attractive are the small touches in the service, just as an example: samples of chocolate from the local producer, in your room when you're checking in. I will definitely stay here again if I visit Pontresina!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, and sleep long hours, don't get the room next to the stairwell - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bilibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed two nights in this small hotel in the centre of Pontresina. On our arrival, the owner of the hotel did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. We stayed in a two bedroom suite with wooden floors. The suite was huge, the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and functional. The breakfast buffet (and service) was excellent; the bircher muesli was super as well as the homemade marmelade. We wished we could have stayed longer in this hotel. For sure, we will come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAHL1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a wonderful boutique hotel located on the main street in Pontresina. The attached restaurant is excellent. Breakfast was excellent, The staff of the hotel is superb, Konrad Mesner, the general manager in particular is heads and shoulders above anyone I have encountered in my travels. Providing a quality experience for his guests is his mission and he delivers admirably. The hotel has a shuttle that will pick up/deliver to the train station. They also shuttled us to the train station for one of our day trips. There is excellent bus service and the train is a short walk from the hotel. The hotel staff gave us excellent dinner suggestions for meals in other establishments, both of which were spot on..Be sure and get the complimentary transportation card from the hotel. It gets you free travel on the buses, trains and lifts in the area. The card alone was worth $200 a person in travel savings during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UtahTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Beautiful, chic hotel in a beautiful town. We stayed in the Ca Rossa apartments across the street from the main hotel and could not have been happier. Every detail in this redo of a 300 year old building was perfect. The sauna off the private lounge was perfect for a chilly evening. We chose just one night in order to break up the Bernina Express but we should have made it a destination spot and stayed longer. The staff was efficient, friendly and discreet. Breakfast was lovely. Loved the choices of tea and local honey. Only one issue, if you're over 5'6" tall you must remember to duck when entering the bedrooms, the headers are low.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

My wife, adult daughter and I spent three wonderful nights at the Hotel Mueller in delightful Pontresina and the Engadine Valley -- it was the highlight of a two week trip. The picture on TripAdvisor is not accurate. This is a very stylish boutique hotel on the main street of Pontresina. We stayed in a two bedroom suite (Room 16), which had a separate large living room and terrace. The bedding was excellent and the bathroom a two room affair - separate toilet down the hall, which was odd. The decor was minimalist white walls and native pine floors and furnishings -- all quite restful. The breakfast was also excellent -- nice spread, with the best honeys and muesli I have ever tasted. The staff and owner are delightful. Not cheap (especially with the weak dollar) but worth the splurge.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRV_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pontresina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#3 of 21 in Pontresina
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#5 of 21 in Pontresina
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
#13 of 21 in Pontresina
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sporthotel Pontresina
Sporthotel Pontresina
#16 of 21 in Pontresina
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mueller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mueller

Address: Via Maistra 202, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#8 Family Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range: $216 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mueller 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mueller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muller Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing