We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa(Pontresina)(Great Value!)
$167
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Palue(Pontresina)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Saratz(Pontresina)
$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Albris(Pontresina)
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Steinbock(Pontresina)(Great Value!)
$249
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Walther(Pontresina)
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Allegra(Pontresina)
$208
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sporthotel Pontresina(Pontresina)(Great Value!)
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveler rating
839
36
11
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
839
36
11
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgourmet restaurantkulm hoteljunior suiteamazing hotelearly septemberst moritzthe half board optionimpeccable servicekids' clubbeautiful roomspa experiencespecial placeeach mealgreat spasmall villagegeneral managersalmon
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 897 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2017

First of all, Pontresina is darling. A small, but cosmopolitan town and Grand Hotel Kronenhof is perfectly located within it.
Our experience at the hotel was exceptional from the minute we walked in until the minute we left. We were warmly welcomed and given a tour of the hotel and our room. Our room was large and comfortable and had a great view of the landscape and the river. We were always too late for dinner (so bummed!), but the breakfast was amazing! Anything you could ever want! The concierge was great with helping us find the best hike for us. Once we finished our hike, someone from the hotel was there to pick us up (with bottles of water) and take us back to the hotel. On another day, we took their awesome e-bikes for a spin and explored the area. The spa: Just WOW. I feel like I am pretty well traveled, but I have yet to experience a spa like this. We couldn't bring ourselves to leave. I am really picky about my massages and find a lot of spa massages to be average at best, but I had a fantastic massage here, from Henriette. This hotel is such a treat! I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KulmHotel-Kronenhof, Manager at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Dear guest SDandi,
We thank you very much for your great feedback and are delighted to hear that you had an unforgettable stay at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof Pontresina.
Looking forward to your next visit and wishing you in the meantime all the best!
Kind regards
Marc Eichenberger, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

I am Kronenhof's life-long fan, it is truly my favourite hotel ever. Once again, my family and I visited Pontresina just for one night at the end of August and I cannot stress enough how all three of us loved our stay in the Grand Hotel Kronenhof.

The Spa, the breakfast, the most amazing amazing dinner (I recommend you pay a little extra for the half-board option), the views, the most attentive personnel... We were even able to check out at 11AM (not usual 3PM)! I cannot wait to return!

I loved it again! 10 out of 10!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KulmHotel-Kronenhof, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Oliko,

We would like to thank you for your precious feedback in reference to your stay at the end of August. We are very grateful for your compliments about our employees, the spa, the breakfast, the food and the fantastic view, but especially having you as a life-long fan of the Grand Hotel Kronenhof.

The Grand Hotel Kronenhof Team is pleased to welcome you and your family soon again!

Kind regards,
Marc Eichenberger, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017

This was our second trip to Pontresina, Switzerland which is just outside St. Moritz. Both times we stayed at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof and both times we were astonished at the quality of literally everything. The care and attention of the employees is just something you don't see anymore. The staff is friendly, helpful, and is clearly well-trained to do their jobs.

We took the half-board option and I highly recommend it. The main restaurant is outstanding, with several options to choose from at each meal. The food is very high quality and the service is delightful. One gets the feeling of dining on a grand oceanliner from a previous era.

The pool, sauna, and spa are excellent.

I could go on and on.... And btw, the region is stunning. We went hiking, horseback riding, and exploring everyday for 11 days and only scratched the surface.

If there is any problem with this hotel, it is that you will find yourself comparing all your other hotels that you like and think "well, such and such is a good place, but not as good as the GH Kronenhof."

I thank everyone there for a wonderful, wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank biztraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KulmHotel-Kronenhof, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Dear biztraveler71,

We would like to express our gratitude for your marvellous feedback in occasion of your stay at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof. We really appreciate your precious and outstanding compliments regarding our employees, the meals, the spa, the hotel structure and the Engadine region in general.

We would love to welcome you soon again for a third stay at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof!

Kind regards and best wishes
Marc Eichenberger, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

My Swiss friend recommended me to this place which is not well known in America. Pontresina is within easy reach of St. Moritz, and the property was surprisingly convenient. You can take a bus or the hotel will give you a transfer into town. You can also walk about 75 minutes on a very nice hike. Pontresina is a quaint village with some rather nice house ware stores. We had a junior suite and a double connecting room with beautiful mountain and glacier views. The rooms were beautifully decorated and rather large. No air conditioning needed here. The kids get all the free ice cream they can eat. The dining room is excellent and you could eat here for days and not get the same thing twice. Breakfast buffet also excellent. The Spa is also excellent with interesting array of treatments, saunas and a good indoor pool and jacuzzi. The gym here was also decent though not more than that. The main building has all sorts of lovely salons and every inch of the place is looked after. They have a very hard working versatile musician here and you could dance in the bar if you wanted. Kids club is more for small kids and by the time we arrived in early September the kids from the area had gone back to school. We don't know if our kids would have enjoyed the other kids; most of them probably don't speak English as most guests are Swiss. One thing stands out here is the unusually friendly reception we got from the hotel staff; people across the board here were genuinely nice, warm and helpful. The hotel was really accommodating. Every night at dinner they made sure we had food we would enjoy no matter if it were on the menu or we wanted something else. The manager told us we shouldn't pay 35 francs it costs for a family of 4 to take the bus to and from St. Moritz and that the hotel would give us a transfer. The bellman helped us get train tickets and took us and our luggage all the way to the train tracks and delighted in telling our kids how awesome winters are here (and of course they want to return for that). We were surprisingly pleased with the activities in the local area that you could enjoy (the concierge emailed us a 15 page pamphlet), and we hope to return during August before it gets cold and snowy as it did the first week of September. If you want glitz and parties go to St. Moritz; if you want to be just outside town and in a more secluded classy place, come here.The hotel partners with the Kulm in town; you can use facilities at both if you stay here. You can even borrow an umbrella at one place and give it back at the other! We enjoyed this place even though it rained almost the entire 3 days we were there.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KulmHotel-Kronenhof, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Dear 649ic,

We would like to thank you for your detailed and marvellous feedback regarding your stay in the Grand Hotel Kronenhof at the beginning of September. We are very grateful for your compliments about our employees, the rooms, the food, the spa, the hotel services and particularly about the general information of the Engadine Region. These details will be very helpful to many other guests, who plan to visit the Grand Hotel Kronenhof and the outstanding nature of the Engadine.

The Grand Hotel Kronenhof Team would be pleased to welcome you and your family soon again - whether for a winter stay or again in summer!

Kind regards
Marc Eichenberger, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

A really fabulous experience was our stay at this hotel in mid-summer 2017. The attention to customers' needs is top priority for the personnel. We were welcomed by the Hotel Director at our arrival and during our stay we enjoy a great service. One example is the possibility to be driven to specific destinations, within a reasonable distance from the hotel, and avoid so dead time for our excursions.
We had on request and for an additional surcharge a room with a view on the mountains (see photos). Although we liked it, I would not necessarily recommend it, especially if one is in the region for hiking and excursions, having so the possibility to enjoy the mountains during the whole day.
The room was finely furnished, with a big bathroom with an air circulation system requiring some improvement, as unfortunately there is no window in it.
The very big spa offers all sorts of treatments: from Jacuzzi to finnish sauna or steam bath. What we also liked was the big garden outside, where one can lie and enjoy the view over the mountains. In the dry sauna the "Aufguss" takes place only at 18:00, which is a pity, as not all guests are at that time in the Spa. An additional round would be really appreciated.
The breakfast is abundant with different selections of food.
The excellent gourmet restaurant adjacent to the hotel would require a separate review.
If you are planning to celebrate a special occasion, then a weekend in this hotel is the right choice. Go for it!

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandOinlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews