We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa(Pontresina)(Great Value!)
$167
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Walther(Pontresina)
$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Palue(Pontresina)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sporthotel Pontresina(Pontresina)(Great Value!)
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Steinbock(Pontresina)(Great Value!)
$250
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Allegra(Pontresina)
$209
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Albris(Pontresina)
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Saratz(Pontresina)
$311
$280
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveler rating
839
36
11
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
839
36
11
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgourmet restaurantkulm hoteljunior suiteamazing hotelearly septemberst moritzthe half board optionimpeccable servicekids' clubbeautiful roomspa experiencespecial placeeach mealgreat spasmall villagegeneral managersalmon
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 897 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2017

This was our second trip to Pontresina, Switzerland which is just outside St. Moritz. Both times we stayed at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof and both times we were astonished at the quality of literally everything. The care and attention of the employees is just something you don't see anymore. The staff is friendly, helpful, and is clearly well-trained to do their jobs.

We took the half-board option and I highly recommend it. The main restaurant is outstanding, with several options to choose from at each meal. The food is very high quality and the service is delightful. One gets the feeling of dining on a grand oceanliner from a previous era.

The pool, sauna, and spa are excellent.

I could go on and on.... And btw, the region is stunning. We went hiking, horseback riding, and exploring everyday for 11 days and only scratched the surface.

If there is any problem with this hotel, it is that you will find yourself comparing all your other hotels that you like and think "well, such and such is a good place, but not as good as the GH Kronenhof."

I thank everyone there for a wonderful, wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank biztraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KulmHotel-Kronenhof, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Dear biztraveler71,

We would like to express our gratitude for your marvellous feedback in occasion of your stay at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof. We really appreciate your precious and outstanding compliments regarding our employees, the meals, the spa, the hotel structure and the Engadine region in general.

We would love to welcome you soon again for a third stay at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof!

Kind regards and best wishes
Marc Eichenberger, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

My Swiss friend recommended me to this place which is not well known in America. Pontresina is within easy reach of St. Moritz, and the property was surprisingly convenient. You can take a bus or the hotel will give you a transfer into town. You can also walk about 75 minutes on a very nice hike. Pontresina is a quaint village with some rather nice house ware stores. We had a junior suite and a double connecting room with beautiful mountain and glacier views. The rooms were beautifully decorated and rather large. No air conditioning needed here. The kids get all the free ice cream they can eat. The dining room is excellent and you could eat here for days and not get the same thing twice. Breakfast buffet also excellent. The Spa is also excellent with interesting array of treatments, saunas and a good indoor pool and jacuzzi. The gym here was also decent though not more than that. The main building has all sorts of lovely salons and every inch of the place is looked after. They have a very hard working versatile musician here and you could dance in the bar if you wanted. Kids club is more for small kids and by the time we arrived in early September the kids from the area had gone back to school. We don't know if our kids would have enjoyed the other kids; most of them probably don't speak English as most guests are Swiss. One thing stands out here is the unusually friendly reception we got from the hotel staff; people across the board here were genuinely nice, warm and helpful. The hotel was really accommodating. Every night at dinner they made sure we had food we would enjoy no matter if it were on the menu or we wanted something else. The manager told us we shouldn't pay 35 francs it costs for a family of 4 to take the bus to and from St. Moritz and that the hotel would give us a transfer. The bellman helped us get train tickets and took us and our luggage all the way to the train tracks and delighted in telling our kids how awesome winters are here (and of course they want to return for that). We were surprisingly pleased with the activities in the local area that you could enjoy (the concierge emailed us a 15 page pamphlet), and we hope to return during August before it gets cold and snowy as it did the first week of September. If you want glitz and parties go to St. Moritz; if you want to be just outside town and in a more secluded classy place, come here.The hotel partners with the Kulm in town; you can use facilities at both if you stay here. You can even borrow an umbrella at one place and give it back at the other! We enjoyed this place even though it rained almost the entire 3 days we were there.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KulmHotel-Kronenhof, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Dear 649ic,

We would like to thank you for your detailed and marvellous feedback regarding your stay in the Grand Hotel Kronenhof at the beginning of September. We are very grateful for your compliments about our employees, the rooms, the food, the spa, the hotel services and particularly about the general information of the Engadine Region. These details will be very helpful to many other guests, who plan to visit the Grand Hotel Kronenhof and the outstanding nature of the Engadine.

The Grand Hotel Kronenhof Team would be pleased to welcome you and your family soon again - whether for a winter stay or again in summer!

Kind regards
Marc Eichenberger, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

A really fabulous experience was our stay at this hotel in mid-summer 2017. The attention to customers' needs is top priority for the personnel. We were welcomed by the Hotel Director at our arrival and during our stay we enjoy a great service. One example is the possibility to be driven to specific destinations, within a reasonable distance from the hotel, and avoid so dead time for our excursions.
We had on request and for an additional surcharge a room with a view on the mountains (see photos). Although we liked it, I would not necessarily recommend it, especially if one is in the region for hiking and excursions, having so the possibility to enjoy the mountains during the whole day.
The room was finely furnished, with a big bathroom with an air circulation system requiring some improvement, as unfortunately there is no window in it.
The very big spa offers all sorts of treatments: from Jacuzzi to finnish sauna or steam bath. What we also liked was the big garden outside, where one can lie and enjoy the view over the mountains. In the dry sauna the "Aufguss" takes place only at 18:00, which is a pity, as not all guests are at that time in the Spa. An additional round would be really appreciated.
The breakfast is abundant with different selections of food.
The excellent gourmet restaurant adjacent to the hotel would require a separate review.
If you are planning to celebrate a special occasion, then a weekend in this hotel is the right choice. Go for it!

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandOinlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017

One of the best hotel you can stay in the Engadine valley, very upscale but not as stuffy as the luxury options you find in St Moritz. The rooms have been recently renovated, the Spa is first class and the staff attentive and friendly.
Location is good and the mountain views amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sebmtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017

The Kronenhof is one the two hotels we thoroughly enjoy in the region. We've stayed there several times after discovering it late last year and have been enjoying every single one of them. The newly rennovated spa is very very nice, the staff is always there for you and the food at Kronenstübli is really good.

In short, this is a great hotel for a relaxing couples Weekend getaway.

Room Tip: The large Junior suites with view on the mountains are awesome
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews