We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Deserves a five...but a few things were bothering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Kronenhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Certificate of Excellence
Calvi, France
Level Contributor
157 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Deserves a five...but a few things were bothering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having decided to spend four days in Engadin we started looking for a hotel and were impressed by the number of positive reviews on this hotel. And indeed they are well deserved. The hotel location is not perfect, but it is in the center of the village, has a large garage and is well accessible. A lot of rooms have a great view. It is a real "palace": very large lobby, dining-rooms, etc...Check-in was very nice, we did not know the type of room to book so the office manager spontaneously suggested to show us a few...We had a very good impression of all rooms, whatever their size and price. We went for a suite, which was absolutely fabulous. Not inexpensive though...Very large, great view, decorated with taste. And a great smell: the smell of wood...the bathroom is not very large but extremely well designed. A lot of storage room.
The spa is also worth mentioning. Very large, all sorts of saunas / jacuzzis / swimming-pool. Also a great fitness center, with very modern and to some extent sophisticated machines.
Morning breakfast also excellent.

Why put a four rather than a five then? First, service at tea-time was lousy...it took a very long time to put in your order, and even longer to find the waitress again to get the check. We also asked for one large down feather, which they were unable to find...and did not take the trouble to inform us. After asking again we had to satisfy ourselves with two individual (small) ones. And finally, and I may be a bit old-fashioned in that respect, but I find it very disappointing that you can take one of the most expensive suites in a Swiss palace and the hotel owner does not even take the time to say hello or introduce himself. Fortunately, really hoteliers still exist (Baur en Ville Zurich, Palace Lausanne, etc)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zelal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KulmHotel, Manager at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Zelal25
Greetings from Pontresina,

Thank you for staying with us at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof and for your valuable feedback.
I am so sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations and that our staff and I were not able to satisfy all your needs. Most of our guests appreciate and value the personal attention they receive and comment that our staff goes above and beyond to provide exceptional service. Our owners are not based at the hotel, however whenever possible, I personally try to welcome each and every one of our guests upon arrival. Unfortunately on your day of arrival, I was occupied in a meeting. I make it a priority to stay in touch with our guests during their stay on different occasion such as meeting them in the lobby area or in the evening at the restaurants. I regret that I missed meeting you on these occasions during your stay. I hope you will visit again and give us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional Kronenhof experience.

My best regards,
Marc Eichenberger
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    30
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
197
364
49
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

There are few Grand Hotels that can seamlessly blend old world charm and modern conveniences as well as the Kronenhof. The property is well worthy of its 5 star rating, however the staff if possible deserve an extra star as this was the best customer service I have come across in a hotel.

Every staff member we encountered seemed truly engaged, exceptionally trained and professional in their duties.

The property is as impressive as surrounding mountains and really is the gem of Pontresina. We cannot wait to return and celebrate. It is fitting that this is my first review, as it is the first time I have felt this strongly about a hospitality experience.

Room Tip: The horse carriage ride is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HubbyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have ever visited - not cheap, but worth every penny. We were met at the station by car from the hotel and they even took us to the next village when we wanted to travel up the mountain by the funicular railway there - and offered to bring us back if it started to rain, at no charge. They aslo took us back to the station at the end of our visit, and took our cases onto the station and found out the right place to stand to catch our train. Fantastic customer service, and a beautiful hotel and location. If you get the chance it is worth travelling to Switzerland just to stay here.

Room Tip: The only minor comment would be that as our room was at the front of the hotel, the church clock bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 74Awaruku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I chose this hotel on the back of the other reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. After a long drive from Stuttgart we arrived at the hotel to be welcomed like old friends. The phrase "Welcome Home' is used in their literature and is true to form.

The Staff are impeccable and the attention to detail is obvious from the outset. The rooms are beautiful and the junior suite I had booked for our honeymoon was perfect with a view of the glacier. The food was as good as anything I have tasted from Michelin starred establishments in the UK and that was the 'normal' (I use the term loosely) hotel restaurant. The Michelin starred Kronenstubli restaurant was not open on the days we were there (Mon and Tues).

The Spa...well, it is nothing short of superb and takes care of everything. A small but well equipped gym, treatments and the spa area itself (with steam rooms, sauna etc) was a voyage of discovery.

The manager, Mark, has a fantastic team to take care of everything and they are attentive without being intrusive. Perfect.

Two nights were not enough and we look forward to a week long break next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navylynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Having travelled throughout Switzerland with the pricey nature of accommodation for basic 2-3 star properties, this was definitely worth every penny and definitely 5 star luxury. From the minute you walk in or are picked up by the very friendly chauffer service you are treated to exceptional service. The rooms and bathrooms are in good condition and the spa facilities are wonderful. The hotel restaurants are lovely and the staff there too are very friendly and accommodating. This is truly a 5 star hotel in service and accommodation.Very memorable stay.

Room Tip: booked the most basic room and this was fine in my opinion with a good view and ability to walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deesh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We usually stay in moderate priced, well located hotels usually referred by Trip Advisor. We stay at a"Luxury" hotel once in a trip to recharge.
The Kronenhof lives up to its 5* rating. A little out of the way in Pontresino (Hotel picks up and delivers to the train), but worth the short trip to St.Moritz, which is glitzy and ferociously expensive
Yes, the Kronenhof is"Old Fashioned," but in a good way. It is quiet,has elegant public spaces and spacious, very comfortable rooms and Bathrooms. The breakfast is excellent and there's, an excellent restaurant for dining. As one might expect there is superb, excellent inobtrusive service provided by the very attentive and friendly staff.
The WiFi malfunctioned and no CNN (Buts thats a plus !) Interestingly the least number of TV stations to select comparedeven to much less expensive otels !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leidenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is the top hotel in Pontresina, a quieter cousin of nearby uber upscale Saint Moritz. It is a stunning turn of the century hotel that has been beautifully maintained and restored, with grand ceilings, chandeliers and decor. We took the half board plan which I thought was a great bargain, at an added 35 CHF pp per night for an incredible 5-course plus cheese cart dinner in the grand dining room. Staff were fantastic. When the complimentary wifi went down over a weekend, the manager gave us a Swisscom card to use until the problem was fixed. One of the concierges, Benjamin, provided us with incredible service and advice on hiking trails. Our room, one step up from basic called "comfort" was very nice with spectacular views. The conncierges were generous is offering shuttle service in the hotel cars, which made getting around the area easy. The spa level, which includes a full indoor pool, steam and dry saunas, a salt sauna and footbaths, and more relaxation areas than you could ever use. It also had a spa pool with various forms of bubbles.And importantly, it is complimentary to guests. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanbill16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontresina
2.8 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#1 of 34 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.5 mi away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#4 of 21 in Pontresina
5.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
22.5 mi away
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
2.9 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#6 of 34 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kronenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kronenhof

Property: Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Address: Via Maistra 130 | 7504 Pontresina, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Business Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kronenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture, modern light-flooded rooms and suites, one of the best spas in the world and the prime location in the heart of the Swiss Alps - this unique mix exuding of the magic of a bygone era, modern comforts and stunning nature makes the Grand Hotel Kronenhof an unrivalled landmark. The Neo-Baroque building is one of the most architectonically important 19th century hotels in the Alps. After an extensive renovation in 2007 the listed historic building is celebrated as one of the best luxury and spa hotels in the world. The ambience of the rooms and suites is exclusive and comfortable where technical comfort and attention to detail leaves nothing to be desired. The views from the rooms and from the over 2000 m2 sprawling Spa provides majestical views over the glaciers of the Bernina, the charming Val Roseg as well as the surrounding pine and larch forests. In the magnificent Grand Restaurant from the year 1872, the cozy and timelessly elegant gourmet restaurant Kronenstübli or in the historic wooden pavilion offering fantastic views, the Kronenhof presents culinary variety between the classic French, traditional Italian and regional cuisine. As our guest, you can benefit from the 5 additional restaurants at the sister hotel Kulm Hotel St. Moritz and up to 8 mountain restaurants on the skiing areas of Piz Nair and Corvatsch within the Gourmet / Dine Around half board arrangement, offering the largest dining option in the Engadine. For our younger guests we offer a childrens' own restaurant, the Krönchen Kids' Club and the special V.I.K. (Very Important Kids) program, providing an exciting and versatile kids offer and many benefits for families all around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Kronenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing