We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We usually stay in moderate priced, well located hotels usually referred by Trip Advisor. We stay at a"Luxury" hotel once in a trip to recharge.
The Kronenhof lives up to its 5* rating. A little out of the way in Pontresino (Hotel picks up and delivers to the train), but worth the short trip to St.Moritz, which is glitzy and ferociously expensive
Yes, the Kronenhof is"Old Fashioned," but in a good way. It is quiet,has elegant public spaces and spacious, very comfortable rooms and Bathrooms. The breakfast is excellent and there's, an excellent restaurant for dining. As one might expect there is superb, excellent inobtrusive service provided by the very attentive and friendly staff.
The WiFi malfunctioned and no CNN (Buts thats a plus !) Interestingly the least number of TV stations to select comparedeven to much less expensive otels !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leidenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 859 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is the top hotel in Pontresina, a quieter cousin of nearby uber upscale Saint Moritz. It is a stunning turn of the century hotel that has been beautifully maintained and restored, with grand ceilings, chandeliers and decor. We took the half board plan which I thought was a great bargain, at an added 35 CHF pp per night for an incredible 5-course plus cheese cart dinner in the grand dining room. Staff were fantastic. When the complimentary wifi went down over a weekend, the manager gave us a Swisscom card to use until the problem was fixed. One of the concierges, Benjamin, provided us with incredible service and advice on hiking trails. Our room, one step up from basic called "comfort" was very nice with spectacular views. The conncierges were generous is offering shuttle service in the hotel cars, which made getting around the area easy. The spa level, which includes a full indoor pool, steam and dry saunas, a salt sauna and footbaths, and more relaxation areas than you could ever use. It also had a spa pool with various forms of bubbles.And importantly, it is complimentary to guests. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanbill16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Your first impression is that you have met an awesome place to stay.
This will be confirmed little by little when you enter your room ( we have booked
a junior suite ), you enjoy the dinner in the magnificent neo-baroque dinner room
, you spent few moments in the SPA or you relaxe with soft piano songs in the
afternoon tea-caffee salon.Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful . All details are
met and the feeling is that the communication between all staff members is very well
running. We performed two terrific hiking, the first one in the Roseg Valley reaching the
glacier lake Ley Vedret and the second from Muottas Muragl to the Ley Muragl and then
descending the valley until reaching the main station of the cable care.
Our wish is to return once again !

Room Tip: Rooms on the South have a nice view on Roseg Valley and Roseg peaks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guido D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent four days at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof in early September, staying in a deluxe room in the newer part of the hotel. The room was newly renovated, large and comfortable, with balcony and stunning views towards Val Roseg. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and we had a fabulous dinner at the Kronenstübli, where they fitted us in at the last minute. Our favourite experience though was the spa, in particular the indoor pools, which we had virtually to ourselves as the season was coming to an end. What luxury!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYStateTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was our second visit to Grand Hotel Kronenhof, and a welcome return! My husband and I spent a blissful 4 nights / 5 days in the Engadine and Grand Hotel Kronenhof made the perfect base for some truly magical hiking. Offering incredible service, rooms, breakfast and the most wonderful spa I've ever experienced Grand Hotel Kronenhof is a must.

If you're considering a visit to the Alps, you would be wise to choose the Engadine and Grand Hotel Kronenhof (I have no doubt we'll be back)!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HC2009London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Lovely traditional hotel, great facilities, good location, great views, good quality and choice of food and amazing service which just made us feel special

We wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel or to recommend it

In a word Excellent !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent a few days at the Kronenhof at the end of August. The hotel was super, immaculate. The staff friendly and absolutely professional. Service(s), breakfast etc of high quality. The spa is probably the best we have ever experienced. The location is ideal for the many trekking opportunities Pontresina offers. Everything was just perfect. We really enjoyed our stay and will certainly go back

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontresina
0.5 mi away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#4 of 21 in Pontresina
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#3 of 21 in Pontresina
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
2.9 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
22.5 mi away
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kronenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kronenhof

Address: Via Maistra 130, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Business Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range: $373 - $781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kronenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Kronenhof is located in the heart of the Swiss mountain village Pontresina and has more than 165 years of history. At 1,800 meters, guests can enjoy 112 elegant rooms and suites, as well as one of the most impressive wellness facilities in the Alps, with a swimming pool with underwater music, a wide range of saunas, steam baths and spa treatments. As the only five-star superior hotel in town, it combines a great location with impressive architecture, breathtaking views and excellent cuisine. Awarded the title GaultMillau Hotel of the Year in 2009, it has three restaurants: Grand Restaurant, Kronenstubli and Pavillon. In 2016, TripAdvisor crowned the hotel as N 1 of the Swiss luxury hotels and one of the top 25 hotels with the best service worldwide. The Swiss economic magazine Bilanz categorized the hotel as a top 12 ranking of the 50 best Swiss holiday hotels. In 2016, the house was also recognized as the best spa resort in the country at the World Luxury Spa Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Kronenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing