We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Stunning place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Real old-school 5 star in a good sense. Everybody was really nice, Elina at the reception is just a sunshine.. but I was a bit surprised with posh behavior of the barmen, who was asking if we missed the door or something) May be, they are not used to have young customers in the hotel - I don't know. In this case, just tell him to shut up and ask to get a drink NOW!))) - really helped a lot)
But generally it was ultra-fine and the spa is just the best ever

Room Tip: tell them before, if you need wi-fi in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RollsRoyce95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    33
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
213
398
52
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
215 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The interior and style dates from the glamorous time of grand hotels: Huge lounge area room with mirros and red plush sofas, the main restaurant with paintings on the ceiling and heavy curtains, separate billiard room, reading room.... The atmosphere is quite formal from the dress code in the dining room, the piano player for dinner and in the bar and so are the guests.
The spa though is 100% new world, beautifully designed with a mixed sauna and a women area. We had sunny and warm weather, so everybody moved the sun lounger outside in the large park. Unfortunately no pool or whirlepool outside. Our deluxe corner room (nr. 154) was in the new wing with an large and sunny terrasse with great view over the valley and direct access to the spa. Fresh fruits every day, including 2 free mineral water. We asked for sun loungers for our patio and the staff brought them immediately. The room itself had a good size (38m2), wooden floor, large wardrobe and a sitting area. It was a sunny room with large windows on two sides and an airy feeling. The design was a bit traditional style too, but well-kept and looked clean and new. What was strange for a new room- no WIFI in the room. We asked for WIFI and they brought us a router- we were lucky they had one left, there are not enough for every room. There are only a few rooms with a patio or a balcony, I think the room in the new wing are a good choice for their view and contempory design. Breakfast has a good selection with cheese, meat, cereals and eggs cooked to your order. But not a wow factor. The pavillon for lunch looked nice, but when we tried to get a snack in the late afternoon, it was already closed even the weather was brilliant and warm. We missed a cozy, comfortable lounge to seat outside. Kronenhof has a huge park, so there would be plenty of space for a lounge where you can get a pre dinner apéro or a small snack. The staff was very helpful and friendly including the hotel manager. When we asked for a service, it was done immediately.
Over all, this is a wonderful hotel if you love the old world charme and traditions. For us, it was a bit too formal (jacket for dinner...) and the design too old style. We like grand hotel but with a more contempory design and more informal atmosphere like for example Jungfrau -Victoria in Interlaken.

Room Tip: deluxe corner room 154 with patio, new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxuryvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have visited the Kronenhof many times in the last wenty years and find it better each time. It is luxurious but not ostentatiously so. Service is impeccable, breakfast and dinner both generous and imaginative; and the building is a marvelous reminder of a bygone era, with painted ceilings, mirrors and chandeliers. By contrast the bedrooms have been modernized with excellent taste and provide every comfort. The Engadine in the summer is a joy, particularly early when the spring flowers are at their best;; I cannot imagine that there is a better base from which to explore the mountains than the Kronenhof

Room Tip: south facing rooms on the higher floors have wonderful views straight up to the mountains above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I spent two weeks cycling from three different cities in Switzerland. My most wonderful stay was at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof. The staff always went out of their way to make me comfortable, to fulfill my needs and find avenues to do more so that I was comfortable. As an example I was late returning from riding the Maloja and Julier Passes on my bike. I wanted and needed to get to St. Moritz to watch the Tour De Suisse roll thru town, not a common thing for them to do but they made an exception and drove me St. Moritz. They do pickup and return you to the station in Samedan but not usually do they provide shuttle service. The food was exceptional and my favorite meal of the breakfast, I should have taken a picture because mere words would not do it justice. I would return and plan to do so! I booked the Engadin Spring Package with a comfort Suite and it was very roomy and comfortable.

Room Tip: I stayed in a Comfort Suite with a balcony to the South. Excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheltonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuba
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is very luxury and the rooms are ncreible. The service is good but the best is the food. The view of the rooms are very nice. The white water river beside is something you have to see.
I spent one week there with my partner and we had a real good time. I would like to come back one day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel truly is a jewel in the valley of Engadin! What looks already great from the outside can even be topped when inside enjoying the fantastic cuisine with its attentive staff, nice and cozy rooms with great view towards Corviglia, and last but not least one of the best SPAs I've ever visited. Can only be recommended and comes at fair prices when considering what is being offered.

Room Tip: Garden view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Grand Hotel Kronenhof is a true gem of the Engadin valley. The hotel is situated in a peaceful and charming town of Pontresina overlooking a majestic view of the Swiss alps. Upon check-in we were greeted warmly which made us feel very welcomed. The room was very nicely decorated with magnificent view and the balcony overlooking the mountain. The bathroom was very nice with heated floor and it's perfectly clean. The hotel public area is very luxury, elegant and gorgeous. The breakfast was really grand and sumptuous. The service was professional, warm, attentive, and courteous. Overall our stay at The Grand Hotel Kronenhof was truly splendid.

Except there were some glitches we felt we could have plan better which are that we didn't think that the hotel will be this great, therefore we arrived too late for check-in and didn't plan to have dinner here, so we didn't bring dress / dinner jacket with us. And of course it's our fault, and not the hotel's, so for the next trip, we will make sure we won't arrive late and we will definitely make arrangement to try the dinner at the hotel, in both restaurants (the Grand restaurant and the Kronenstübli). Please note that the in the Grand restaurant, a dress for lady and a dinner jacket with tie for gentlemen is preferred. Also please note that the Kronenstübli closes on Sunday and Monday. We were there on Monday so we couldn't eat at the Kronenstübli anyway.

Despite our stay was a short one, for only 1 night, but we had a great and rememberable experience. We look forward to come back to stay here again in the future, and of course with a longer duration.

Grand Hotel Kronenhof will definitely be number one on the top of the list of hotel choice when we have an opportunity to visit the region next time.

Room Tip: Room with view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontresina
2.9 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
2.9 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#5 of 21 in Pontresina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kronenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kronenhof

Property: Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Address: Via Maistra 130 | 7504 Pontresina, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Business Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kronenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture, modern light-flooded rooms and suites, one of the best spas in the world and the prime location in the heart of the Swiss Alps - this unique mix exuding of the magic of a bygone era, modern comforts and stunning nature makes the Grand Hotel Kronenhof an unrivalled landmark. The Neo-Baroque building is one of the most architectonically important 19th century hotels in the Alps. After an extensive renovation in 2007 the listed historic building is celebrated as one of the best luxury and spa hotels in the world. The ambience of the rooms and suites is exclusive and comfortable where technical comfort and attention to detail leaves nothing to be desired. The views from the rooms and from the over 2000 m2 sprawling Spa provides majestical views over the glaciers of the Bernina, the charming Val Roseg as well as the surrounding pine and larch forests. In the magnificent Grand Restaurant from the year 1872, the cozy and timelessly elegant gourmet restaurant Kronenstübli or in the historic wooden pavilion offering fantastic views, the Kronenhof presents culinary variety between the classic French, traditional Italian and regional cuisine. As our guest, you can benefit from the 5 additional restaurants at the sister hotel Kulm Hotel St. Moritz and up to 8 mountain restaurants on the skiing areas of Piz Nair and Corvatsch within the Gourmet / Dine Around half board arrangement, offering the largest dining option in the Engadine. For our younger guests we offer a childrens' own restaurant, the Krönchen Kids' Club and the special V.I.K. (Very Important Kids) program, providing an exciting and versatile kids offer and many benefits for families all around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Kronenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing