We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Beckenham, Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - wonderful staff”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof in March 2013. The hotel was refurbished in 2008 at a cost of 33m Swiss Francs. This included the addition of a new pool, spa and fitness room, all of which are excellent. Spa treatments were included in our package, although additional treatments were on the expensive side.

The most striking aspect of the hotel is the service from the staff and the positive demeanour. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they are all unfailingly polite and cheerful. Even on our last day, the concierge insisted on taking our cases onto the platform at Samedan station and making sure that we were on the right train and in the right carriage. The Director and his wife were also present on a number of occasions and were every friendly to all the guests.

We booked on a half board package which I would recommend because the food in the main restaurant is excellent; a different choice of gourmet dishes each night, with four courses and cheese too if desired. Also, there are not many restaurants in Pontresina as an alternative. There is a cheaper pizzeria by the station, but not much else save for other hotels. The Kronenhof does have another Michelin star restaurant next door, but the prices were just ridiculous.

The wine in the hotel restaurant is very expensive, but I think this is true of Switzerland generally and they do offer some good wines by the glass.

The bar and lounge are very comfortable and again the service could not be faulted. After a couple of nights, my coffee was served as soon as we came out of the restaurant and without even being ordered.

The only downside was the ubiquitous pianist from whom there was just no escape.

We had a junior suite which was smart and well fitted. The beds were comfortable and the shower - always important to me - was top notch. The rooms were cleaned and tidied twice a day.

Pontresina itself is a small village with a few shops, but little else. There may have been the odd club but if you want nightlife, St Moritz is only 15 mins away by train, bus or taxi. The main activity in the town, at least in the season, is cross country skiing and the hotel offers a package which includes daily lessons at the school by the station. If this is not for you, (it wasn't for us) there are miles of beautiful walking routes through the woods and along the river valleys. The local bus service is also good. We took a bus trip up to Corvatsch for lunch at one of the highest points in the region.

Generally, the weather was a bit on the grey side, with only two days of sun which was a bit disappointing and did spoil the view from the top of Corvatsch, but temperatures were comfortable for those long walks.

A few words on travel. The recommended route is to fly to Zurich and then take the train, changing at Zurich HB and Chur. This works well, but it is a long train journey, although the last section from Chur to Samedan is stunning. It is worth reserving seats in a panorama car for this section. The hotel will collect and deliver at Samedan.

We were told that Swiss Air will deliver your luggage from London to St Moritz for a small additional fee and the hotel will collect it for you.

Finally, just to make the journey home more tedious, Zurich Airport is the most sprawling, badly planned, inefficient and overpriced airport I have been in. Make sure you leave plenty of time to get through it on the way home.

I did think afterwards that it might be easier to fly to Milan and hire a car.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Robinh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    33
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
214
399
52
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I just stayed for one week at the Kronenhof, we love this hotel, it was our 6th stay and we both felt some things had improved :
- overall service has always been excellent, professional and very friendly, but the addition of some younger staff in the dining room has brought a much needed breath of fresh air to the atmosphere !
- the food...always been outstanding at the Kronenstubli, is now great as well in the main dining room, also there's quite a bit of flexibility when you'd like to eat something different, or just want a large salad for starter.
- the breakfast buffet...wonderful, they've vastly enlarged their offer, it's one of the best I've seen.
The spa is gorgeous, the rooms are splendid in the newer part of the hotel ; we've never stayed in the older part but I hear it's beautiful as well. Nice to relax and have a drink by the fire place. Great direction, attentive and present.
The gym has all you need to get a good work out and the view is a real bonus ! Pontresina is so "real" and lovely as opposed to glitzy Saint Moritz, to which you can easily go for a few hours and get your fill of people watching or shopping !
I would recommend this hotel with my eyes closed.

Room Tip: All rooms facing south, the view and the mountains ! Corner suites have a west view as well ! Upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgailloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxadoptor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Grand Hotel Kronenhof offers both classical elegance as well as a modern and open culture where you quickly feel welcome and at ease. The rooms have more than enough space for winter clothes, as well as large bathrooms. The spa is one of the largest and most modern Spa's we saw so far. Last, the restaurant and service show the best of Swiss hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxadoptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Grand Hotel Kronenhof is an amazing house with tremendous surrounding. The staff is great, very kind, very qualified. The hotel is runned with panache!
The SPA is an endless place to relaxe. My favourite, after bubbles and Sauna, just lay down on a heated water bed looking at a fire...
Both restaurants offer a large menu that will satisfy children and adults.
Skiing was great... The hotel also provided a shuttle, wich was very convenient.
If only one word shoud be said: MAGIC!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frédéric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was really amazed by the top-quality accomodation of this Swiss hotel. The service was excellent and the personnel very friendly. There is so much to do in this luxurious hotel; I felt in love with the SPA, it is huge and brand new, you can spend hours on it. What's more I ate a duck food which satisfied me 100% in the gourmet restaurant.
In addition, the Pontresina area is excellent for any outdoor activity. The hotel staff was very helpful to help me organising my holiday. Thank you.

Room Tip: You might choose a room with the mountain view right in front of the garden, it is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Seldom have I been in a Hotel where I can answer "everything perfect" to the question "Is there anything we can improve?" which was asked to me at the end of my stay by the rececptionist.

The Grand Hotel Kronenhof has the friendliest staff you can imagine and a wonderful spa and Restaurants.

I am already looking forward to go back soon!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, one of the most beautiful ones in the Alps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivierzurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We visited the Kronenhof for our honeymoon this February and both me and my wife loved every minute of it.
The staff were always extremely helpful, everyone knows your name and which room you're staying in. The reception staff is great at giving tips of what to see when, and also organising ski schools or cross-country skiing in the area. Especially pleased with the restaurant staff, they were always very polite, and anticipated our every need. Spa was amazing, there was a quiet relaxation room with heated water beds, huge pool, and the sauna and steam room facilities were top notch. It is definitely the most relaxing spa we have ever been to, and worth of its consistent high ranking in surveys.
Our room (a comfort double) was great, amazing views of the nearby peaks, bathroom was really spacious, also had a small closet by the front door with plenty of space for clothes, valuables, etc. My only issue with the room is it was two single beds pushed together, rather than one double bed. Not a problem usually, but for the honeymoon that's something that matters...
I'd definitely recommend it for a visit, late February seems to be the high season, but from pictures and such it doesnt look bad in the summer either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoiltopalov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontresina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
525 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
634 reviews
2.9 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#4 of 21 in Pontresina
166 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kronenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kronenhof

Property: Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Address: Via Maistra 130 | 7504 Pontresina, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Business Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kronenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture, modern light-flooded rooms and suites, one of the best spas in the world and the prime location in the heart of the Swiss Alps - this unique mix exuding of the magic of a bygone era, modern comforts and stunning nature makes the Grand Hotel Kronenhof an unrivalled landmark. The Neo-Baroque building is one of the most architectonically important 19th century hotels in the Alps. After an extensive renovation in 2007 the listed historic building is celebrated as one of the best luxury and spa hotels in the world. The ambience of the rooms and suites is exclusive and comfortable where technical comfort and attention to detail leaves nothing to be desired. The views from the rooms and from the over 2000 m2 sprawling Spa provides majestical views over the glaciers of the Bernina, the charming Val Roseg as well as the surrounding pine and larch forests. In the magnificent Grand Restaurant from the year 1872, the cozy and timelessly elegant gourmet restaurant Kronenstübli or in the historic wooden pavilion offering fantastic views, the Kronenhof presents culinary variety between the classic French, traditional Italian and regional cuisine. As our guest, you can benefit from the 5 additional restaurants at the sister hotel Kulm Hotel St. Moritz and up to 8 mountain restaurants on the skiing areas of Piz Nair and Corvatsch within the Gourmet / Dine Around half board arrangement, offering the largest dining option in the Engadine. For our younger guests we offer a childrens' own restaurant, the Krönchen Kids' Club and the special V.I.K. (Very Important Kids) program, providing an exciting and versatile kids offer and many benefits for families all around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Kronenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing