We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”
Review of Hotel Saratz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saratz
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Saratz:
This is a very fine grand hotel at a fair price. Spacious rooms, well equipped, very friendly and helpful staff, fine wellness scene plus outside and inside swimming pool, great garden and view on the Rosegg Gletscher. Quietly located at 3 minutes walk from the city centre, bus to station at hand, shuttle to station if needed. Thus: great. It has one major Jugendstil restaurant and two smaller restaurants, all with good food. Take a Saratz experience arrangements, including large buffet breakfast and 4 courses dinner at your choice from the a la carte menu. Regional bus, train and funiculars included in the hotel price, as usual in this region.

Room Tip: you could ask for a room in Ela Tuff (the modern part), ground floor with own patio to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaratzHotel, General Manager at Hotel Saratz, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank your very much for your review!
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel Saratz. Our team is proud to work at the Saratz and to have such guest as you, which are enjoying our product as much as you do. Thank you.
Hoping to welcoming you again very soon, we send you our best regards from Pontresina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 610 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews, and weren't disappointed! Large, clean rooms with amazing views (south-facing room). All staff provided great service, and were always very helpful. Breakfast was very good with many choices. The hotel is just a few minutes by car to the Languard ski area in Pontresina, and 15 minutes from the Corviglia ski area at Celerina.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avipiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaratzHotel, General Manager at Hotel Saratz, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your review! We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time here in Pontresina. We hope to welcome you soon again here, maybe in summer time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here whilst we did some winter driving training. The hotel is lovely and in a beautiful location. The staff were all really helpful and friendly.

There are great leisure facilities and loads of things to do in the surrounding area. The facilities for kids are great and I would not hesitate to take kids there. Rooms are well services with a free minibar. Food was delicious with a great selection at breakfast and superb food in all the restaurants.

It would have been rated 5 for everything but the bedroom was so hot at night that we didn't get a good sleep for the entire duration of our stay (3 nights). I am usually cold and for a room to be too hot for me says it must have been hot. We tried to adjust the radiator but that did not make any difference as it was already on its lowest setting. We couldn't really open the French doors opening outside as they were doors and although there was a safety chain we would not feel comfortable leaving these open all night.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ju713t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaratzHotel, General Manager at Hotel Saratz, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. Ideas and comments are always welcome as they help us to get better.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in future.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our family, including two small kids, has been coming for years and I cannot wait to visit again in March. Hotel is fantastic, staff extremely friendly and helpful, the view from the welnness area hard to beat and the food always good. in fact, one of the best breakfast buffets one can dream of.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaratzHotel, General Manager at Hotel Saratz, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your very nice review. We hope to welcome you again also this year. And please let us know if we can do something to enhance our service further more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Saratz is a great hotel, in a beautiful location. We stayed for 3 days in September 2012. Pontresina is a lovely place, in an awesome part of Switzerland. The service was exceptional. We hope we can return, maybe to see it in Winter. Our only disappointment was having to leave. We can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Silvester party at the Saratz last night was spectacular! It started with champagne and canapés followed by four fantastic course and a desert buffet. Following the count down to New Year the firework display continued for about 15mins before dancing into the night with a live band!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank martin_hoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

If one is a loner, there is perfect vista from terrace, hundreds of walking or climbing in summer or skiing paths at the doorstep. Spa and yoga for those who like. Modern art exhibitions. But for families it is a haven, when they get to be pampered in superb way come rain or come shine, while parents can have a precious time off. Pool in and out. Great garden with a lot of fun. Evenings with life music of all sorts at the bar. Some rooms have veranda doors direcly to garden. Bike and motorbike rental. Come and enjoy.

Room Tip: South facing are best by far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simple-refined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaratzHotel, General Manager at Hotel Saratz, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you very much for all the compliments. We like also to hear what we could make better...
Best Regards & we hope to welcome you soon again at the Saratz!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pontresina hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
857 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#5 of 21 in Pontresina
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosatsch
Hotel Rosatsch
#7 of 21 in Pontresina
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#8 of 21 in Pontresina
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saratz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saratz

Address: Via da la Staziun 2 | 7504, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pontresina
#2 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
#3 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range: $226 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Saratz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Pontresina and at the heart of the holiday region Engadine St. Moritz, Hotel Saratz is elegant yet cosy, contemporary yet charming - and its blend of old and new exudes one thing above all: atmosphere. The modern way of living merges with the Engadine hotel tradition, grandeur with design and nature with architecture. True values for a holiday adventure in a magnificent setting. According to the latest rating of the "SonntagsZeitung" of 31 May 2015, Hotel Saratz has been ranked the 7th best family hotel in Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Saratz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratz Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing