We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cordial hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gasthaus & Hotel Berninahaus
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Guerneville
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very cordial hosts”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were at Berninahaus between seasons (May--neither ski or summer seasons) so the hotel had very few guests at the time and the main dining room was closed. Our very accommodating host made certain that we knew what dining options we had nearby. Breakfast was still offered, however. This inn dates back 500 years and has been beautifully restored and maintained. Because it is about two miles to the south of the village of Pontresina, you are surrounded by a magnificent forest and even more magnificent mountain peaks. Getting to nearby St. Moritz is a snap. Simply walk across the road to the train stop and take one of the frequent commuter trains into St. Moritz, eliminating the problems related to parking in the busy resort. Berninahaus provides a real Swiss mountain experience rather than being sandwiched among the crowded and over developed nearby towns which draw most visitors. Berninahaus is a great place to call home while in the Engadin.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garmuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
23
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were well-furnished and the beds very comfortable. The owner of this hotel is very friendly, he gave us a lot of helpful advice about things to do in the area. The food was really good. All in all a good trip and a shame we only stayed there for one night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maurink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Excellent place in stunning location
The Gasthaus Berninahaus – even if it is easily reached either by car/bike or public transport (train station across the street, the famous “Bernina line” – an UNESCO World Heritage site - and bus stop in front of the house) – is in a remote mountain location and an idyllic place to spend a relaxing time after hiking/biking in summer or skiing Diavolezza (cablecar within walking distance) in winter or spring. The sunny terrace is inviting weather permitting – it’s situated above 2000 m.a.s.l. – but the indoor restaurant rooms are a jewel each of its own, with local Swiss pine wood paneling providing a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The menu offers typical regional specialties with local products as well as classics and the dishes are nicely presented and decorated. Quality is excellent and offer a very good prize-value ratio. The service is very friendly and accommodating.
The hotel rooms are very inviting and large and in the typical local style with wood paneling as well, a cozy place to relax after a day of activities in the mountains or just for a mountain retreat in an isolated place to find calm and peace, far away from nightlife and busy streets, just nature all around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Engadiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

My wife and I went to Switzerland in end of October 201.
If you want to be in a remote place feeling the Alpine atmosphere in the surroundings of Pontresina, I recommend to stay in this Guesthauss.
The room is spacious and cozy. The restaurant is very nice with very descent food.
They are open during the fall season where most of the places are closed. Normally the hotels and guesthauss nearby cable car station just open by beginning of November.
We stayed there 3 nights and we drove around the region visiting places such St Moritz, Pontresina, Silvaplana and the beautifull lake Sils.
It was worth staying there.

Room Tip: As the guesthauss stay just beside the road, I recommend to get rooms not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGDias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

we stayed at Gasthaus " Berninahaus" in June 2011 for 4 nights. This is a very well run family operation by Brosi & Marlene. The Hotel is very close to Pontresina and St. Moritz as well as driving over the very scenic Passo Del Bernina. We made this Hotel our headquater to do all are sightseeing in this most beautiful area of Switzerland. From here we drove ever over to "Maloja Passo " to visit Siglio. For us it was a perfect spot. The Hotel is clean, the rooms are comfortable and the Breakfast Buffet was plentiful as well. The Dinner was very tasty too. The owners and staff are very accommodating. We recommend the " Gasthaus Berninahaus". The Hotel itself is surrounded my mountain scenery.

Room Tip: neglected to write down our room number
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pontresina hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
#11 of 21 in Pontresina
150 reviews
2.3 mi away
Berghaus Diavolezza
Berghaus Diavolezza
#12 of 21 in Pontresina
115 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Palue
Hotel Palue
#9 of 21 in Pontresina
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Rosatsch
Hotel Rosatsch
#6 of 21 in Pontresina
212 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#8 of 21 in Pontresina
120 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus & Hotel Berninahaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus & Hotel Berninahaus

Property: Gasthaus & Hotel Berninahaus
Address: Bernina Suot 3, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthaus & Hotel Berninahaus 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Gasthaus & Hotel Berninahaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing