We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bella esperienza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A great location and short distance to ski school and other skiing facilities, easy bus ride to St. Moritz. Excellent, excellent dining facilities and service. The cabaret show played by the staff in one of the evenings was absolutely magnificent, very professional and very funny for both children and adults. I would recommend renting ski equipment from somewhere else outside the hotel, especially snowboards were old and outdated. Besides that, a very enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geir J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 411 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

I’ve spent a week-end at the end of February with my child in this wonderful location and had really great time. Very courteous and helpful staff, clean, comfortable and spacious rooms, wonderful position and easy access to the town center.
The SPA area has fantastic Bio-Sauna, the atmosphere is extremely relaxing and from the swimming pool you can enjoy suggestive snow view through the glass walls.
My child enjoyed so much the kids-theatre in the evening, organized in a real theatre part of the Hotel. Very nice and pleasant for the adults too.
I recommend this Hotel to anyone who wants to have all the commodities in one place.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank 55Flora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great location in Pontresina and access to ski areals of St Moritz.Nice Spa , very fresh and clean rooms, good breakfast : lots of italian products and generous buffet, the staf from the restaurant was friendly. Friendly reception staf . Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktoriia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I’ve just spent one week at the Hotel Schloss with my family and had a wonderful stay. The location is perfect in the pretty village of Pontresina, nearby the Roseg valley with its nice paths (either walking and cross country skiing). The bus stations are just few meters outside the hotel door and you can forget about your car on day of arrival and take the bus to reach the slopes in St Moritz, Corviglia, Diavolezza, Corvatsch. The bus is free of charge for ski pass holders. You can rent skies and boots at the hotel and book your ski courses at the ski school office inside the hotel. Also, you can buy the ski pass at the hotel at a special price of 25 CHF (70% discount on retail price), if you stay longer than 2 days at the hotel. Staff is warm and friendly and the hotel manager is simply a gentleman: they were all very careful to meet any requirements of adults and kids. The hotel is ideal for families, groups of friends and for cross country skiing lovers, who can reach their paths, simply taking the elevator outside their room. The hotel has great common spaces and boasts a theater inside, where kids can dance and adults can watch the shows organized by the animation team. There is a rich program of entertainment for kids and adults, sporting and leisure activities during the day as well as shows in the evenings. Bedrooms are very comfortable, clean and warm: we got our bathrobes and towels changed every day, even without asking. The entire hotel is very clean, not only the bedrooms, but also the restaurant, the SPA and the pool. We chose half board: both breakfast and dinner are at buffet, with great variety and quality of food (Italian !) in particular at dinner. The food is served by waiters and so you don’t see the usual barbarity at the counter of sweets. Waiters were attentive and careful to satisfy any special request. WI-FI is available with different options (we suggest the weekly fee because is quite convenient). We’ve enjoyed the well equipped SPA every day and that was just pure relax after a day skiing. I recommend this hotel to families and group of friend looking for relax, friendly atmosphere and proximity to sports and outdoor activities.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSchloss, Direttore at Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013
Google Translation

Egregia Barbara, grazie per la Sua dettagliata recensione che coglie lo spirito dell’hotel dedicato in particolare alle famiglie e a gruppi di amici che amano le attività all’aperto e il relax. Ci auguriamo di poterLa ospitare di nuovo. Un caloroso saluto da Pontresina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

**** ? No thanks!
The position of the hotel is very uncomfortable: 500 meters outside the centre of the village on a such small road where the traffic in the 2 directions has to be regulated by a traffic light!
Services: the garage is mandatory because if not, you have to park the car really far away, so you accept to pay ca. 8€ per day. Wi-fi is not for free (10€ per 24 hours) but it was not working so unuseful...If you ask for a bathrobe to go to the spa, you pay it ca 7€ per day! and the best was abot trowaway slippers: they were not for free too!!
The quality for the food was really bad and the service in the restaurant was null because everything was at buffet.
On top all the staff was Italian and not properly international. In my opinion this hotel should be a middle *** class!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herrasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSchloss, Direttore at Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Mr Herrasmus

we are very sorry that you did not appreciate the central location of the hotel, very appreciated by the majority of our guests; for this reason we recommend to use a garage (from the hotel or
public discovered only 500m from the hotel). We are sorry that you did not realize this before your arrival even if clearly published.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It has nothing from a 4 star hotel - i would not recommend staying there. Only if you have no expectations. It is not more then 3 stars. They call it wellness but to go there you have to give them a notice in the morning that you want to go in the evening at a certain time. The time is limited and if you are late they give you trouble. I am not willing for such a timetable on my vacation with my kids (12 and 16 years old). I never experienced something before.
There is no roomservice, no doorman, no luagage help, no car parking. No good food. Nothing. No service at all.

Room Tip: I guess there are no good rooms, I looked even at a suite and it was terrible. It is just not at al...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSchloss, Direttore at Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Mrs IRIS,
I remain puzzled by Your very negative comment. I remember very well about You and I would like to point out the facts You have raised.

On arrival there was the luggage service, in Your case would have been necessary to wait a few minutes, as well as at the departure. I personally greeted You giving my business card and asking You if You needed any help but You answer “no”.

Room: You booked a triple room and stated that the pictures showed on the website as triple were different and so You demanding us a “suite room” while the price was for a “standard triple”. At the reception desk we have shown You that the pictures on the website are correct. You're not satisfied claimed heavily over the counter of the reception that the one we show You wasn’t the german version of the website but the italian or the swiss one. Once You have ascertained with Your notebook that the pictures were also the same on the german version, You said You want to change room because the triple is too small. We offer You a suite room with a normal extra charge but You refuse it. So we gave You a family room suitable for 4 people without extra charge and You stated finally You were satisfied.

Restaurant: the first night You had dinner at a la carte restaurant, with a roesti with eggs, gnocchi with deer ragu, mineral and a glass of wine. The waiters who speak fluently German and English don’t report any negative comment from You, on the contrary You said to me that all was fine. I also remember that You request to change table from Julier room the Bernina room, and You were satisfied. For breakfast You asked a 3 eggs omelette with onion and tomato, bottle of mineral at the table and You were of course served for the entire staying.

Parking: You complained to me personally that the garage entrance was not so broad so I gave You my parking space with easier access.

Spa: You told me that was not very "normal" to book the Spa or the restaurant in the morning; I explained that it was to ensure entry to our guests along with attentive service and tranquility. For the same reason the access to Spa is not allowed to minors.

Wifi: it’s true that in that days was problematic and that the line dropped a lot but I've found an alternative for You that You not accepted; in any case I have returned the money to the wifi card that was unusable.

Cleanliness of the room: You said it was very clean and complimenting with me. You claimed about the skipass price saying that You would use only just to go out for lunch on the slopes, but of course it is not on our control.

I want to point out also to the fact that all Your requests were satisfied such as the coffee pod maker in the room.

We also want to mention that the You park Your car in a private parking lot near the hotel; the owner contacted me to move immediately or he would call the police. We notice You’re having breakfast, asking You to move it and You thank me for this.

Every day I asked You how is it going and You never made these harsh critics as on the web. This behavior really hurt me and my staff.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is a old castle or similar. Nice building, nice area even tho a bit far away from the slopes, and even relatively cheap considering the location. Perfect for large familes with kids, for young people that want to travel on the cheap side. If I really want to find some weakness i would look into the kichen. Food not really the best even tho is run by an italian chef..i would have expected much better. Overall not a bad place. Pontresina is really nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manu U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pontresina hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
Hotel Schweizerhof Pontresina
#11 of 21 in Pontresina
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#4 of 21 in Pontresina
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosatsch
Hotel Rosatsch
#6 of 21 in Pontresina
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#3 of 21 in Pontresina
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa

Address: Maistra, Via 215, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Schloss Wellness & Family)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Price Range: $161 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a fascinating late nineteenth-century castle fortress in the heart of the Upper Engadine, just 5 km from St. Moritz, with imposing and appealing architecture. It has been completely refurbished and its windows look out onto a unique panorama over Val Roseg and the evocative glaciers of the Bernina range. The spacious interior, including two restaurants and a splendid spa, offers the perfect tailor-made size for young and old. It is a short distance from the main ski facilities of the district, such as the Kinderlift Alp Languard Pontresina just 0.5 km away, the Celerina Corviglia 8 km away, or the Corviglia Sankt Moritz 9 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing