We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seedamm Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seedamm Plaza
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pfaeffikon
Certificate of Excellence
Örebro, Örebro Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed at Seedamm Plaza for three night during a congress. It's a very nice hotel with friendly and helpfull staff. I especially enjoyed the breakfasts, lots of fresh fruit and several whole wheat breads to chose from. I had all of my meals included in the congress programme at the hotel restaurant and was never disappointed.
There is a nice spa area in the basement with a couple of saunas, I recommend a visit if you need to unwind and relax. Stay away from the gym though, the machines are the silliest I've ever seen! What's wrong with ordinary dumbbells and treadmills? If you want to work out take a run in the area instead. There is a lovely wooden bridge over the lake to Rapperswil (about 3 km away), perfect for sightseeing and working out at the same time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria9092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    105
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
63
17
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had made a reservation at the hotel 4 weeks prior to my stay which I had especially made for my mother who was visiting from Japan for Mother's Day, and they did not have the reservation in their system, which was a complete disaster. We were also disappointed that our reservation for brunch was not in the system as well. The best the hotel could do was put a table in the reception area, which was not acceptable for us for this special day. At which hotel with some professional level of service would one have to call twice to re-confirm a booking? Only at the Seedamm Plaza, which has a complete unreliable level of service. I have been a consistent customer of the Plaza for 6 years, since I moved to the Freienbach area, but as the Plaza has grown in size and success, the level of service has dropped off the cliff. It must have, otherwise a complete booking/reservation would not go missing.

A complete disappointment, I would stay away from the Seedamm Plaza if you can.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEEDAMM-PLAZA, Manager at Seedamm Plaza, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear thetravelbum,

first of all we want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at our hotel.

As we do take every honest review very serious, we appreciate the view of our guests in order to give us the possibility to improve ourselves continually.

Also we want to take the chance and express our apologies that your stay didn't turn out the way you have expected. Our staff tries hard to provide the best service experience possible to all of our guests.

We did of course back-check all reservations in our system prior to the date mentioned but couldn't find either a room reservation nor a brunch reservation. As we handle thousands of bookings throughout a month, we wanted to be sure, that our system is working properly. Although it seems to be, we are wondering why you haven't received a confirmation of your reservation for the room as this is the standard procedure with every booking process we handle.

Regarding the brunch reservation, all reservations made through the online booking system will auto generate a confirmation. The only way to avoid this is to manually check off the confirmation settings. In addition, the brunch in the restaurant PUR requires at least a three month pre-booking time span. Everybody was aware that the restaurants and brunch offers were fully booked on Mother´s Day even earlier.

We are sorry that you had this disappointing experience since you have been a regular and satisfied customer throughout the last six years.

Peter H. Ernst
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very comfortable rooms with excellent design, plenty of closet and storage space; quality Internet service is included and the breakfast room is delightful with a quality spread. Convenient location on Lake Zurich. If you are on that part of town, this is a decent place worth consideration -- especially for a short stay; could be challenging for three+ days on a leisure trip; no problem for business.

N.B. If you like to gamble, there exists a casino on-premises, but the hotel is separated sufficiently that you never know it, adding to the well-planned design.

Room Tip: Call in advance, as the place can sell-out frequently on busy travel days/nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairTaxBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed by chance because we needed a last minute place to stay for the night. We had heard about it from a package and thought we could enjoy it. Not many amenities in the bathroom.. Large room, good bed, sleep quality on the last floor was very good (far from the casino), Small balcony was welcome. Nice view of the lake and below train station, luckily did not run many and not too noisy once the windows closed. Lobby was exceptionally grand and caused expectations that were not 100% satisfied. I believe the room was overpriced. Would only recommend for the casino or for a business stay. There is a large shopping mall nearby. Overall if it were not for the price we would have rated good to very good.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back on the last floor have the best view (lake side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amesthyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEEDAMM-PLAZA, Social Media Manager at Seedamm Plaza, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Amesthyite,

thank you very much for taking the time to rate your stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate that and want to also thank you for the nice words and compliments.

Also, we do take the points that were not to your satisfaction very serious and they are always hints in order to improve us further to provide an excellent guest experience.

As for the price of the rooms, we do have regular rates but also offer many "best price" packages on our website. Be sure to check them in advance of your next stay. We are sure that you'll find some offers there that will meet your expectations.

All the best from Pfäffikon,

regards,

Marcus Maier-Thurn
Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Châtel-St-Denis
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed just one night with our kids (and dog). The location was ideal: just a short walk to Alpamare, 5 min drive to the Knies Kinderzoo. There is a nice walking path behind the hotel that goes down by the lake. Our room was on the top floor and had a balcony overlooking the lake. The room was very modern and comfortable.
There were 2 inconveniences: 1. They were doing construction on the roof outside our window and we were woken up to hammering very early in the morning. 2. We had planned to rent the bikes proposed on the hotel web site, but it turns out they only have 4 bikes in total (which were all gone) and none for kids.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd (top) floor with a balcony facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEEDAMM-PLAZA, Social Media Manager at Seedamm Plaza, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear chocomoto,

thank you very much for taking your time reviewing your stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate the nice words about the location and the room and are happy that you had a good time. Also, we need to apologize for the inconvenience with the construction workers in front of your room. As we were hit hard by a hail last year, we still need to get everything fixed. Although we tried to avoid selling the rooms where construction work had to be done but it' s not always possible depending on the amount of rooms occupied for this period of time.
Regarding the bikes mentioned, yes, we only have a limited amount for rent and there are also E-bikes which are not suitable for kids. But thanks a lot for your input as we always try to improve ourselves this is an important point to consider for the future. Best regards from Pfäffikon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed 4 nights and found hotel to be above average large room with good views of lake. Room was marketed as sound proof but you could still here people outside late at night due to the casino also in same hotel. The aircon was not able to be turned down enough so room alittle warm due to large windows letting sun in. Breakfast was fine but a little over priced considering they didn't have any hot options. They had a nice sauna and steam room area but no swimming pool which I thought would have been a nice addition.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bec1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Scenic location, on the Lake, is a place to be on week ends. Being next to lake one can enjoy both lake and casino. Rooms are spacious and well furnished. Well lit wide corridors and large reception area attracts you to this place. Rooms has all the facilities. Restaurant is great. Casino was fun and lively. A place for corporate functions or meetings where one can do business and can have fun also. Only disadvantage is the shopping areas are on the other-side of the bridge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pfaeffikon
Sorell Hotel Speer
#1 of 4 in Rapperswil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Hotel Jakob
#2 of 4 in Rapperswil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Marina Lachen
#1 of 1 in Lachen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seedamm Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seedamm Plaza

Property: Seedamm Plaza
Address: Seedammstrasse 3, Pfaeffikon 8808, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Schwyz > Pfaeffikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pfaeffikon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seedamm Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seedamm Plaza - meet, celebrate, sleep The Eventhotel SEEDAMM PLAZA at the upper Lake of Zurich offers 40 meeting, seminar and conference rooms for 4 to 550 people. The house with large, light-flooded rooms, suitable for workshops and seminars, as well as for large events such as congresses, annual general meetings, product presentations and events. The multifunctional event hall accommodates up to 1000 people for standing cocktails and events of all types, complemented by numerous banquet rooms. Whether a standing cocktail, a gala dinner or a corporate event, the kitchen crew of SEEDAMM PLAZA is at your service with creative dishes. Japanese specialties like sushi, sukiyaki or Yosenabe in the Restaurant Nippon Sun. The restaurant PUNTO is famous for popular specialties from Italy. The lifestyle restaurant PUR offers a exquisite selection of 15 GaultMillau points dishes. Meeting point for drinks and snacks is the PULS Bar & Lounge. The Swiss Casinos Pfäffikon-Zürichsee with 12 gaming tables and 165 slot machines, for lucky hands and happy tempers. The 4-star hotel SEEDAMM PLAZA has 142 rooms. The hotel's well-tainment area offers relaxation for body, mind and soul. Located in the Greater Zurich area - at the beautiful Lake of Zurich. Ideal traffic location, via A3 highway just 20 minutes from Zurich and 40 minutes from Kloten Airport. Sufficient outside and inside parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seedamm Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing