We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs-up for scenic location and comfortable room, thumbs-down for disappointing breakfast”
Review of Seedamm Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seedamm Plaza
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pfaeffikon
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
224 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Thumbs-up for scenic location and comfortable room, thumbs-down for disappointing breakfast”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Overall I was satisfied with my weekend stay in Pfäffikon.

I chose this hotel for its competitive weekend price and quite scenic location - directly on Lake Zurich. Rate for a superior single room is around 170CHF/night including breakfast. Surprisingly enough price was cheaper on booking.com than on the hotel own website!
Access from Zurich is easy with regional S-Bahn trains running every 30 mins. From Pfäffikon railway station it is a 10-minute-walk to the hotel; however beware that it is a gravel path, so that pulling trolley suitcases is quite a challenging task!

Check-in quick. Reception staff polite but not overly friendly. Pleasantly surprised by my room which was spacious with lot of daylight. Large working desk, very comfortable bed with a firm mattress, flatscreen TV. All equipment were working properly. However I definitely missed some coffee-making facilities.
Bathroom is quite large, shower and WC spotlessly clean.

On the downside I would rate the breakfast as average only. Breakfast room much too warm and without airconditioning; it felt very stuffy. Usual offering of cold cuts, yoghurts, cereals - but rather limited in quantity. Warm food included bacon and scrambled eggs - average quality only. However thumbs-up for the wide selection of various tasty Swiss regional cheese.

A very functional Business Corner incl. two PCs and printers is located on the -1 level near the conference centres.

And last but not least: I warmly recommend a walk along Lake Zurich shortly before dinner. The sunset views over the lake are truly stunning!!

Despite a disappointing breakfast I would recommend this hotel for its great location and overall good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank q-sto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    108
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
34
64
18
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Clean and luxurious rooms. Great restaurants and breakfast in hotel. Casino was casual and fun. Did not use spa/gym but saw it and it seemed really nice. Only wish this hotel was on other side of bridge where the shops and restaurants are located. All staff are multilingual, another plus.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Live2Experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Having participated in a corporate event in this hotel, one could see that this hotel is quite equiped and organized. No complaints with responsiveness, service quality or the food offering.

The only thing I found strange was the ambience in the rooms: I was in one of the superior rooms (I cannot remember their category naming) but it felt like being in a "concrete cave" with very cool and minimalist interior design, which - together with the odd train passing by - was not very helpful for sleeping well.

Location wise, this hotel is not very practical for anything else than staying in the hotel or walking. Of course there is decent access to public transport but one is essentially far away from proper shopping or culture offerings. The next is probably in Rapperswil, across the lake.

One great strength is its closenss to the nature reserve along the lake: I went for a jogg across the lake (there is a dam towards Rapperswil) which was spectacular because of the views on the lake and the natural reserve full of birds.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed here on business and had a great expereience. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful, the food was great. I had my laundry done in the middle of a 3 week trip and when I arrived back to my room all my clothes were hung up or folded nicely. I don't have a single bad thing to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
128 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

The Hotel Seedamm Plaza Pfäffikon is a very nice Congress hotel. Rooms are spacious, convenient and comfortable, exactly what you would expect of a 4 star hotel. Flatscreen and so on are standard. The shower works very well, too. The service is friendly and efficient. The wellness area is ok, I expected more for a hotel in this location. There are 2 saunas and 1 steam room. Lots of showers though which are great.
The best feature of this hotel is Restaurant PUR. It is more expensive than other restaurants of course but the price justifies the quality. Take your time when you go eating there, you need at least 3 hours no matter what you chose but it is well worth it.
The Casino is rather small and can get too crowdy on Friday/Saturday nights.
Overall this hotel can be recommended for congresses, seminars, off-sites as well as weekend get-aways with your loved one(s).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sveenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I travel on business to Pfaffikon regularly and often stay at the Seedamm Plaza. The facilities/room/food are great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnynzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

It took me some time to gather my courage to sahre this experience. I was attending a workshop at this hotel and dared to order my drink at the bar in German, not to mention English, french or any other language. I was surprised to get an agreesive reply from the bartender (a blond lady mid fifties), shouting at me that we are in Switzerland, and I have to address any wishes in Swiss German. Frankly I was silenced by such a reply and my Swiss friends at my table were shocked. I do not need to detail more as this was the first and the last time I put my feet in that place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheZoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEEDAMM-PLAZA, Social Media Manager at Seedamm Plaza, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thank you very much for your honest review. Not to mention that all of our (service) staff members DO of course speak English, your experience is absolutely not tolerable for us in any way. We take this issue very serious to avoid such or a similar situation at any time in the future. As we always try to improve our services, reviews of any kind are very helpful for us.

Too bad though, that you didn't demand for the Manager on Duty immediately after this incident and published your review over six months after your stay. The faster we gather information on a situation like this, the faster we can act.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pfaeffikon
2.0 mi away
Sorell Hotel Speer
Sorell Hotel Speer
#1 of 4 in Rapperswil
164 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Schindellegi - Zurichsee
3.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Lachen
Hotel Marina Lachen
#1 of 1 in Lachen
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Rossli
2.0 mi away
Hotel Jakob
Hotel Jakob
#2 of 4 in Rapperswil
24 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#3 of 4 in Rapperswil
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seedamm Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seedamm Plaza

Property: Seedamm Plaza
Address: Seedammstrasse 3, Pfaeffikon 8808, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Schwyz > Pfaeffikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pfaeffikon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seedamm Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seedamm Plaza - meet, celebrate, sleep The Eventhotel SEEDAMM PLAZA at the upper Lake of Zurich offers 40 meeting, seminar and conference rooms for 4 to 550 people. The house with large, light-flooded rooms, suitable for workshops and seminars, as well as for large events such as congresses, annual general meetings, product presentations and events. The multifunctional event hall accommodates up to 1000 people for standing cocktails and events of all types, complemented by numerous banquet rooms. Whether a standing cocktail, a gala dinner or a corporate event, the kitchen crew of SEEDAMM PLAZA is at your service with creative dishes. Japanese specialties like sushi, sukiyaki or Yosenabe in the Restaurant Nippon Sun. The restaurant PUNTO is famous for popular specialties from Italy. The lifestyle restaurant PUR offers a exquisite selection of 15 GaultMillau points dishes. Meeting point for drinks and snacks is the PULS Bar & Lounge. The Swiss Casinos Pfäffikon-Zürichsee with 12 gaming tables and 165 slot machines, for lucky hands and happy tempers. The 4-star hotel SEEDAMM PLAZA has 142 rooms. The hotel's well-tainment area offers relaxation for body, mind and soul. Located in the Greater Zurich area - at the beautiful Lake of Zurich. Ideal traffic location, via A3 highway just 20 minutes from Zurich and 40 minutes from Kloten Airport. Sufficient outside and inside parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Seedamm Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing