We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother - Total waste of money.”
Review of Hotel Beau-Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Beau-Rivage
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Nyon
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Bother - Total waste of money.”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I first stayed at Beau-Rivage Nyon some 7-8 years ago and it was terrible back then. Having checked their website last week where they talked about a renovation I was optimistic that things would actually be better this time.. They're not.

I'm here for 3 weeks and after night 1 already want to change hotels. The only trouble in Nyon is that there really are not many other choices. Geneva is a little too far to commute every day and the best hotels there run at over 600 CHF a night..

Ok - the room is 3/4 filled with a big, way to soft, double bed. Of the remaining 1/4 of the room 2/3 is filled by a table and wardrobe leaving very little room to get dressed in the morning. The bathroom is I'd guess just a shade smaller than a 2m squared box. The shower head is in the middle of the bath making a shower kind of hard. There is no real space to store any toiletries.

My room - 112 - is right over the main entrance facing the town and you hear the pub down the street until it closes. As it's also by the lift (elevator if you're from the US) you hear people come into the hotel in the evening and then get into the lift etc...

breakfast this morning - "can I please have the pancakes and maple syrup".
"I'm sorry, we don't have any maple syrup".

I'd not recommend this hotel to anyone.. Utter waste of money

And I'll be trying to ensure that this hotel comes off our list of company specific hotels...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inter_lov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    26
    19
    19
See reviews for
4
14
8
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We were upgraded upon arrival - the apartments are real spacious and ideal for business travellers (and potentially families) with a fully equiped kitchen, a master and smaller bedroom. The furniture is a bit outdated, but overall good.
The rooms are spotless clean, and the bed's been very big and comfy!
The hotel is charming though in an old fashioned way.

The downside is the breakfast - while overlooking the magnificent lake just across the street they do serve a quite boring breakfast option, close to disappointing.
There's a few egg dishes (takes a while to get them) and there only is a very minimal cold cut and cheese selection (one ham, one cheese). Overall you'd expect a more exquisite breakfast range at a place like that - also taking the steep price per night into consideration.
Also, the breakfast staff is a bit rough around the edges. But that's more or less the only downside. It's a very nice house located in the centre of Nyon.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorro7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.John's
Level Contributor
175 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This is an older building but a beautiful property with great views and a good restaurant. To start - the property is similar to surrounding buildings i.e vintage postcard picturesque.
The room size was quite adequate and view over Laker Geneva was gorgeous . The bathroom was a little dated but this is nitpicking. The onsite restaurant was very good for supper and better for breakfast. I am at loss as to some of the low ratings as I found this place just great and would certainly stay here again - only drawback was no free internet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is located right on the lake front of Nyon, near to all the best bars, restaurants and shops. The room we stayed in had a perfect lake view, with lots of space and a large balcony. The staff are fairly friendly. The breakfast was very well set out and had lots of choice, some continental and some english breakfast too.
Nyon itself is definitely worth a visit. After spending the last year living in Switzerland, it is a gem on the lake!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky-Chris-Aus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2009

This hotel is such a pity... No restaurant, no bar..... The rooms are very dirty and old fashioned...

I was supposed to have a lake side room for 320.- Chf but there was no view in my room... Only a wall in front of me.

At check out time I askes the girl at the reception to call me a manager to have a discount on the price, she went in the manager office... But he didn't came.... Very professional....

The kind receptionist make me a discount on her own and offer me the breakfast.... The only good thing who happends to me during my stay!!!!

This hotel is not a 4 stars hotel.... The worst hotel in Switzerland!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcs669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nyon hotels

Europe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2009

OK, this is a hotel built many centuries ago and, as such, carries with it an obvious charm. Clearly, it has also been renovated many times and the present condition is pleasing to the eye and is close to the lake. The room I stayed in was relatively small, the bed very comfortable with plumped pillows of the finest variety and the bed gave a very pleasing support for a restful night's sleep. The view was rather uninspiring-the building opposite. The curtains over the windows protruded somewhat perilously into the room such that there was a gap through which the casual observor might be able to clearly view certain aspects of the room. A large lcd tv with many channels was present-no internet access, despite the infra-red remote control keyboard on the desk. The mini-bar was well stocked with over-priced goods (but probably typical for the region). The bathroom was well stocked with toiletries and was spotlessly clean. The shower was rather oddly positioned in the centre of the area over the bath making it difficult to shower. Some lights did not work and, on a more serious note, an electric extension lead in the room was in a very unsafe condition, literally lifting apart as I withdrew a plug to reveal live electrical conditions! There was no coffee or tea maker in the room and no iron. There were nice touches-such as chocolates left on pillows each night. The staff were very friendly but there was no bar open as far as I could see.
The internet access, mentioned by another traveller in this thread, simply failed to be available. The desk staff were very nice, offering to look into it straight away-they appeared surprised that the tv access did not work. I spoke with 6 other travellers and they all had the same problem. Come on Beau Rivage-that simply isn't good enough when emails have to be reviewed during a business trip-please correct this!!
I could recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a comfortable room and bed in this region. However, I feel that the hotel management appear unwilling to implement proper room quality checks which are the basis of all hotels these days. 4 star it ain't, but don't write it off..this is a comfortable hotel by all accounts. CHF200 per night.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CustardEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyon
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Rive
Hotel Le Rive
#3 of 8 in Nyon
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Nyon
Base Nyon
#1 of 8 in Nyon
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 8 in Nyon
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Ange
Hotel de l'Ange
#2 of 8 in Nyon
91 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Cecile
Villa Cecile
#2 of 5 in Yvoire
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Alpes
Hotel Des Alpes
#6 of 8 in Nyon
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau-Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau-Rivage

Property: Hotel Beau-Rivage
Address: Rue de Rive 49, Nyon, Nyon District 1260, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Nyon District > Nyon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Nyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beau-Rivage 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to major renovations. Its reopening is tentatively scheduled for the end of 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Beau-Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Hotel Nyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing