We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

O'Les Terrasses du Lac
Ranked #58 of 80 Restaurants in Nyon
Price range: $18 - $82
Cuisines: Swiss
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Having the read the negative reviews we wondered whether to choose this restaurant. Our fears were unfounded. We had a warm welcome, lovely table on the terrace with a beautiful view, friendly and efficient service and a delicious meal. Fantastic! We would strongly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    68
    58
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva2009
Level 6 Contributor
596 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Nice location - but that's all you get”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I do live in the area and decided to try out the restaurant after their transformation.
Indeed, design and location are beautiful. But from there on problems do accumulate:
- phone reservation: unfriendly (just not what they teach you at the ecole hoteliere)
- waiter: we (party of four) speak fluently French, English, German, Italien - the staff hardly any French or English
they don't know their menu nor how things will be served
- uncoordinated. as another reviewer said: you never know who really takes care of you
- pricing: shockingly high for what you get. they confuse the " Reserve " from Geneva - somewhat you would call typically french cuisine: little food, much prices.
All in all, really not worthwile to go to.
You might want to try the bar at the ground floor for take away, but then you can get many other nice places within 150 m with decent menues, charming waiters and reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Geneva2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“It's about the little things- FAIL”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Lunch with a buddy working in Nyon, we came in mid-week for lunch. Arrived around 12:30.

Great location in summer as they have a fully open terrace. We had no reservation and asked for a table on this wonderful terrace- no room. Everything booked. Really? We were offered a table inside even though we asked a couple of times in ANYTHING could be done. Nope. Nada. So we went inside.

Great tasting bread and a nice decor/tableware. Important to have nice glasses, china and flatware- quality.

Menu French cuisine....staff mixed nationalities....and between the unhelpful welcome we found them to be distant- not rude...but not engaged- and yeah I know what service in the Leman area can be/ should be (feel free to read my other reviews).

Browsing the menu I almost went for the tartare de boeuf. But stopped short. Why not?
Because at 37 odd francs (can't remember the exact price), I was PROFOUNDLY IRRITATED to see them charging another 4 CHF for fries!! Upselling fries is insulting.

As a result I fell back on a good value plat du jour at 22CHF- steamed fish...pretty good....but was really thinking of tartare. In fairness, the plat du jour was fair for that price. A rather uninspired vegetable sauté accompanied the fish...again....for the price....acceptable.

We walked out about an hour later with about half the tables on the deck still empty (you know that feeling you get).

Not worth the money for average service and the feeling that you are 'pris pour un imbecile' as the French say- there are other options by the lake in Nyon.

Poor value and spotty service. Perhaps I'll go back...but I sure hope they work on the small stuff.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeDude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“tasty original food”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I loved the Parmesan icecream in the capaccio starter
the fries were probably a little over done and thin
the steak was maybe a little more well done than I expected
Service was excellent

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibbly_Dobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location is the only thing going for it...”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Chose O' because it is the only restaurant in Nyon where you can eat outside without being bothered by traffic noise... The decor was nice and promising, and so was the menu...but that was it. Service was rubbish. Too many waiters, no customer care, no enthusiasm, too stressed, badly organised. There seem to be a cock up with bookings as they were turning people away who had called to book a table. They then started adding tabes and chairs in a hurry which meant that the entire staff were running around like headless chickens! We had about five different waiters come to our table to either take our orders, serve and take way our plates...it was confusing as we didn't know who we could order from:when we asked one if we could order wine and water after our food had been already been served, he said "speak to my colleague". The food was literally plonked on the table and when my friend, who had ordered the slow cooked veal asked what the bit on the side of the plate with ice cream on top was, the waiter answered as he walked off..." yeah it's corn ice cream." Charming! It was actually vanilla ice cream on top of sweet potato. The food was good although nothing special - the chef is too generous with salt on the scallop carpaccio, the steak tartar (too seasoned) was a generous portion but the fries were overcooked in overused oil. Finally they added 3 glasses of wine (chf 9.80 each) to our bill which we hadn't had, nice! Conclusion, stick to the "terrasses" by the roadside of the other restaurants in Nyon where the food is good, cheaper, the staff are friendly and professional!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Les Terrasses du Lac also viewed

Nyon, Nyon District
 
Nyon, Nyon District
 

Been to O'Les Terrasses du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing