We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly stay, great location”

Hostellerie du XVIe Siecle
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostellerie du XVIe Siecle
Ranked #4 of 5 Nyon B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 29, 2011

The staff was above and beyond friendly, making us feel like family after a couple of days. The food is above average, and a tad on the pricey side, but there are lots of other options close-by. The location is great and near shops, the train station, grocers and the town square. The rooms are what I expected for the rate we paid. A pleasurable stay with lots of charm.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank dallaserin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 40 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2011

as it was impossible to find a hotel close to Geneva airport, I stopped there, for it is close to the station that has a regular service to the airport. The rooms were tiny and very basic but clean. Breakfast was poor. I also had dinner at the restaurant; the meal was of poor quality and overpriced. This hotel could be a choice when the others are fully booked.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EtienneMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We agree with the positive points about the accommodation made by Arcadian222, emec2006 and Conseils. We only had the (excellent continental) breakfast there, as we were part of a wedding party and dined elsewhere (Croix Verte is recommended.)
A few details; on Sundays, Reception is only open until 12 noon and then 6pm-8pm. There are automatic luggage lockers at the station 5 mins walk away (7CHF/4CHF per 24 hours) if leaving later in the day. 3 types of room: doubles en-suite with bath/shower; double/twin with en-suite WC & basin; single/double not en-suite; there is a shower & WC along the corridor. Our room was clean & comfortable; staff were friendly and helpful to those who didn't speak French. Can be noisy at night (not surprising as it's central and opposite a bakery.) Given that this part of Switzerland is expensive by UK standards, the room prices were good value; one can dine else where for a bit less (or a lot more, too.)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeardieWeirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

This hotel could hardly not have character as it was built in the 16th cent. We did not use the spiral staircase to our second floor but a lift just big enough for 2 people with small baggage!

lemec2006 describes the hotel well and I agree that the restaurant is fantastic. The proprietor does not speak English but some of his staff do..

Low WiFi signal in bedrooms.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arcadian222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

I went on a business trip to Geneva and left booking a hotel until the last minute and there was nothing left due to the fact that, unknown to me, my trip coincided with the Geneva air show so couldn't find a hotel in Geneva for less than £200 a night!
I ended up looking outside Geneva and came on this place. Nyon is about a 15 minute train journey into Geneva station/20 mins from the airport and seemed like a typically clean pleasant swiss town. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the station.
I was met at 00.30 by the manager Christophe who was a really nice guy who couldn't have been more welcoming.
As I had booked so late I ended up in the CH75fr room with toilet on the landing. Room was perfectly clean though and for CH75fr I can't imagine you'll find anywhere much cheaper. Breakfast was standard continental with Croissants, coffee etc and was perfectly fine.
The best thing about this place though was the food in the restaurant. I think I had the beef medallions with pepper/mustard sauce and really thin fries which was absolutely first class along with a nice cold beer!
A few months before this I had been out to Geneva with my wife for pleasure and stayed in the centre. I would have been perfectly happy to stay out in Nyon in this place and commute as it would have been far cheaper. So if you're passing this way or looking for a cheap alternative to staying in Geneva then this place is well recommended. It even had free wireless internet in the room which is more than my £150 a night hotel in Basel managed two nights later.....

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladoerrado1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marg070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Francesca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyon
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Ange
Hotel de l'Ange
#2 of 8 in Nyon
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Rive
Hotel Le Rive
#3 of 8 in Nyon
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Base Nyon
Base Nyon
#1 of 8 in Nyon
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 8 in Nyon
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Alpes
Hotel Des Alpes
#6 of 8 in Nyon
62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Barcarolle
Hotel La Barcarolle
#1 of 1 in Prangins
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du XVIe Siecle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du XVIe Siecle

Address: Place du Marche a Nyon, Nyon, Nyon District 1260, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Nyon District > Nyon
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nyon
Price Range: $93 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostellerie du XVIe Siecle 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostellerie du XVIe Siecle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing