We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stand.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Morges
Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One night stand.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Excellent situation in centre of town. Room to the side and a very quiet comfortable room. Had to go through dining room but no problem. Comfortable for one night but as no lounge a bit lonely for longer.
Breakfast as much as one could eat but no plain cornflakes. Staff said they used to have but no uptake.

Room Tip: For a good nights sleep to the side or back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Notperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    55
    34
    8
    5
See reviews for
12
29
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Having emailed the hotel to say we would be arriving after 9.30 p.m when we reached the hotel the door was locked,we rang the bell and the door was opened automatically. We gained entry and then had to decide which of the 2 'phones to use to contact someone. Ultimately we received a code to open the key box to obtain our room key. The room was very hot and stuffy, the carpet was filthy,and the paint was peeling from the pipes. There was an old tower fan in the room that cut out ofter ten minutes. There was a plastic tray with 2 horrible little plastic cups for the tea. There were no fire instructions and we had to go into the corridor to find the fire exit. There are a lot of corridors in this hotel and I would hate to have to find my way out if there was a fire. The room was very noisy and my bed actually shook when the person in the next room walked about. The shower room was very small and the shower flooded on the floor due to the inadequate plastic curtain. There was a notice telling us not to put paper down the toilet. Is it possible in a four star? hotel to have to put toilet paper in a bin?
The hotel's public areas were very, very shabby. Needless to say we did not have breakfast in the hotel but had lovely coffee and croissants in a cafe round the corner.
Morges is a most delightful little town and deserves better than this hotel. In its favour the staff were all charming and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 124michele123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morges hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Good location for short stay.
Very noisy not necessarily because it's in the centre of he town but because of the staff movement inside. Lots of banging and clanging and staff who appear to wear wooden (?) shoes on wooden floorboards.
Resist the 'upgrade' offer of the room nearest the dining / breakfast area. You'll be sorry because from around 5am /5.30am you might as well be in there with the kitchen staff setting up the tables!

Good sized rooms though and very convenient location. Pricing is reasonable as far as Switzerland goes but all in all it could do with some pep-up all round with regards to the decor and general ambience.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
535 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed for 2 days on business. Pluses good location 5 minute walk from Station and close to main restaurants. Reasonable sized rooms, free public parking and wifi. Negatives my room had stale smoke smell, shower curtain meant bathroom flooded, average breakfast and no evening restaurant or bar. Recommend nearby Restaurant de l’Union.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorFeelgoodDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here one Saturday night. Lovely location in centre of town. Had 2 doubles - mine had only Velux window and no view which was a bit disappointing. Otherwise it was an acceptable room. Nice old fashioned breakfast room with good selection of food. Suit of amour of first floor was a nice touch. Morges is quite a small town and not much of a selection of restaurants in evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldroamer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I am surprised several reviewers complained about the market on the little street mall, this is what I liked best! Located in a beautiful old building in the romantic town of Morges, this is a simple but clean hotel in a good location. The room was surprisingly large, the towels nice and thick, there was a kettle in the room for tea and coffee, and all for a very reasonable price in early September. The girls at reception were friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: I liked the market noises in the morning, however if you like the quiet ask for a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai_vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wassenaar
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We spent a weekend at this hotel because we were with a group and somebody made the booking. I would not stay here again.
Be aware on Saturday morning there is a market in the street in front of the hotel and we were woken at 6.00 am by noise of people setting up their stalls.
Then Saturday night people were screaming in the street (drunks?) and there was a lot of noise. All couples in our group complained the next morning.
At night there is no night concierge in the hotel so nobody to help out if there is a problem. The girl at the front desk told us we should have called the police but that seems strange and not something you do easily in a foreign country.
At breakfast we were in before breakfast closed but the waitress refused to bring us a hot egg or warm milk for the coffee. She felt that breakfast was finished...

On the up side:
The rooms were clean, there was a water cooker so we could make tea which I always like. There were flowers in front of the window.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morges
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie Le Petit Manoir
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Mont-Blanc Au Lac
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Longeraie
Hotel La Longeraie
#5 of 7 in Morges
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Fleur du Lac
La Fleur du Lac
#3 of 7 in Morges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Savoie
Hotel de Savoie
#6 of 7 in Morges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
3.4 mi away
Starling Hotel Lausanne
Starling Hotel Lausanne
#1 of 4 in Saint Sulpice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne

Property: Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne
Address: passage de la Couronne 2, Morges 1110, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel de la Couronne)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Morges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Morges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the medieval city of Morges, Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne is a listed historic building that has been accommodating travellers since the 16th century. Expanded and renovated throughout its long history, the edifice's latest refurbishment was completed in 2011. Classic furniture and a home-like atmosphere are counterpointed by the modern amenities of a 21st century establishment (namely flat-screen TV sets and free Wi-Fi). The hotel disposes of 44 rooms and suites, the latter including a kitchenette. The both conference rooms have a capacity of 25 to 30 participants. A concierge service is available to our guests, provided their reservation is made at least 2 days before arrival. Finally, check-in is open 24/7, as our reception desk is managed remotely at night by an automated system. Comfortable and classic, Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne will welcome you in a home-like atmosphere, ensuring your stay is a relaxing and easy one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel de la Nouvelle Couronne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morges Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing