We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay During Montreaux Festival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vevey Hotel & Guesthouse
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. I decided to go to the Montreaux Jazz festival last minute and they were more than happy to accommodate me. Even though they are in Vevey, it was about a 15 minute bus ride to Montreaux.

The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and the dorm room I shared had a very nice view of Lake Geneva. It is also in what I thought to be a central location and I felt very safe in the area. I would highly recommend this place because it is a great bargain for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naamah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 101 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2011

The hostel is in a great location right by the lake and market square and only a 5-10 min walk to the train and bus and 2min to the lake ferries.
There is a school opposite and it was rather noisy in the morning with the school bell and kids everywhere.
Each floor has its own lounge area and bathrooms with the reception at the top of the building.
The showers and bathrooms were fine however they were mixed sex so just beware. On a couple of occasions the toilet basin and floors were extremly unclean and wet but I think that was due more to someone doing washing in the sinks.
My dorm room was very large for the three bunk beds and there was a small locker inside a wardrobe(you needed your own lock) if you wanted it.
The people on reception were friendly and helpful and gave you plenty of ideas of what to do while in Vevey.
There was also free wif and a kitchen for use. I didn't have breakfast so can't comment on what it was like.
This is a family friendly hostel and not a party hostel. It could be a little noisy at night with people coming and going and noise from the street if you sleep with the window open.
Overall I had a good stay and would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunTan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The first good thing about this hotel is it's location. Right beside the lake, 13 minutes of walk from Vevey train station. And right in front of a beautiful morning market.

The rooms are comfortable. The kitchen is well equiped with a nice balcony.

The receptionist was friendly.

For the price you pay per bed, it's much more that you get.

Will always stay here, if I even return to Vevey.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BabooRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed here because all reasonably priced hotels were fully booked during our stay in Vevey.
Around 30 euros per night for 1 bed in an 8-bed dorm, without linen.
They have some non-dorm rooms also.

Owners were very nice.
Location is great, right on the market in the city center.

Parking is a problem in all of Vevey.
Not that expensive, but very few places in the center where you're allowed to park for more than a couple of hours.
For that, you'll need to use one of the car parks which are a ten minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jorislandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We were looking for budget accommodation and Riviera Lodge came out top of the list. We werent disappointed! Immaculate, clean, free wifi, spotless bathroom facilities and a kitchen that can be used by guests. We shared a family room which was huge, with a queen bed and 2 bunk beds so could be used by a family of 6. Gorgeous view out over the village square and Lake Geneva and very quiet. Although it is family friendly, they dont tolerate children running around the place making a noise. Such a beautiful spot is hard to imagine with a promenade stretching all along the lake. Beautiful flower beds of every colour rose you could imagine and spots to picnic or have a sundowner. Charlie Chaplins statue is about 200m along the waterfront. We were extremely surprised at this hostel accommodation and would most certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PonkySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I couldn't recommend this hostel more. There were very spacious, clean rooms. Each floor had a lounge with nice furniture. The main lounge was comfortable and well laid out. There was a balcony with a magnificent view attached to the main lounge area and a full kitchen for the guest's use. All around great experience and will return if I ever get the chance to go back to Vevey!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laurarouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Super clean, quiet, amazing kitchen, nice bed and nice pillows, great and very clean WCs, pleasant staff, lots of maps and guides for the area, good location near grocery store, just perfect. Felt very safe. One improvement would be to have lockers in the rooms- no safe storage during the day. Otherwise nothing I would change. Loved it, and will return if possible

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seanfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevey
3.2 mi away
Villa Toscane
Villa Toscane
#17 of 17 in Montreux
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astra Hotel Vevey
Astra Hotel Vevey
#3 of 6 in Vevey
223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Negociants
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie de L'Hotel de Ville
0.1 mi away
Guest House Le Charlot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vevey Hotel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vevey Hotel & Guesthouse

Address: Grande Place 5, Vevey 1800, Switzerland (Formerly Riviera Lodge)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Vevey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Vevey
Price Range: $79 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vevey Hotel & Guesthouse is a beautiful, historic, 19th century mansion ideally placed 50 meters from the shore of Lake Geneva in the prominent historical center of the town of Vevey. We accommodate families, groups, business', and backpackers in our Private rooms (Singles, Couples or Families) or our Dorm rooms (mixed gender or reserved for women) which have 2, 4, 6 or 8 beds.The Vevey Hotel and Guesthouse is an ideal place to stay to explore Vevey, Montreux, Lake Geneva,the region of Lavaux and its vineyard terraces, and the Vaud Alps. During the winter, Vevey is at the center of various ski resorts and the Vevey Hotel will be your perfect base to discover the best skiing havens the region has to offer (Portes du Soleil, Gstaad, Villars-sur-Ollon, etc.) Welcome to the Vevey Hotel and Guesthouse, the best budget hotel in our alluring region of the Swiss Riviera, Vevey-Montreux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Vevey Hotel & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Vevey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing