We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only Swiss food”
Review of Au Chalet - CLOSED

Au Chalet
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Au Chalet - Swiss Restaurant is located in French-speaking Switzerland, between Lausanne and Montreux, above Vevey, on the Mont-Pelerin. Perched high above Lake Geneva in the heart of the Lavaux Terraced Vineyards, listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site, our magnificent traditional inn with a terrace features one of the most spectacular views of Lake Geneva and the surrounding mountains. In an authentic Swiss wood decor, the Au Chalet restaurant offers you one of the best cuisines featuring local products and dishes. Swiss specialities and traditional dishes, such as fondue, raclette, tomme vaudoise (local soft cheese), croute au fromage (cheese croute), rosti, beef from local farmers, a dried meat platter and Alpine farm cheeses will allow you to savour succulent regional dishes prepared in-house using only the best products from our small local producers.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not only Swiss food”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Nice pure Swiss chalet with also a very nice terrace overlooking the lake. A wide choice of food, from the usual raclettes and fondues, but with different specialties of cheeses, to the filet de perches (lake fish) and specialties of the day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrice_CH1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    26
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Excellent views above Vevey & Lake Geneve”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This restaurant is close by the top station on the Mont-Pelerin funiculare high above Vevey VD. It is popular with groups and families having a meal out.
Limited menu - specialises in fondues. Good open air seating for a warm day. Great views over the lake towards Evian and the mountains beyond incl Les Dents du Midi
In July 2013 I had 3 dcl local wine, a large Weiner Schnitzel, a wonderful meringue stuffed with thick cream for CHFr 79.60 + tip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tankerton1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Restaurant with a view (a great view)!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was the 3rd time we ate in this restaurant, the last two times for lunch. But this time, we went there for dinner for the occasion of our wedding anniversary. The food (including their legendary Fondue) was great also the steak which is served almost raw on hot stone where you can cook it the way you find. But, what a view of Lake Geneva and the surrounding vineyards and mountains. There is a free ride with funicular to the restaurant which will take you through beautiful vineyards and breathtaking scenery. Very close by, is Le Mirador Kempinski Hotel which seems to own this restaurant. I would suggest a visit (a few minutes walk) to this hotel for a coffee or a glass of wine and you will enjoy one of the best views of Vevey and Lake Geneva.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmirMohsen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reliably good”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have been to this restaurant several times and the food and service are always good. The view is spectacular, and when forced to sit indoors it has a very nice Swiss feel. It is helpful to be able to book online, and when I mentioned my friend was gluten free, the chef made a special bread for her that evening. The steak is always tender, but not necessarily as flavorful as I would like.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stunning View”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My friend and I took the funicular up for a hike in the vineyards and stopped at this Chalet to have a glass of wine. The wine was some of the best I've ever had and the hiker's soup was delicious. Service was mediocre (we were two young backpacker looking types, so other tables seemed to get much better service). Still, I would go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snoopycat781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Chalet also viewed

Vevey, Canton of Vaud
Vevey, Canton of Vaud
 
Vevey, Canton of Vaud
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing