We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and lovely town but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Les Negociants
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“great location and lovely town but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Great location and price and lovely town but the front desk staff are not the politest..it's almost like they are doing you a favour...I guess they chose to be in the hospitality industry and were not forced against their will.Room for the price was fine and had free internet access.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelwhizz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    25
    27
    10
See reviews for
13
42
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

This is a basic, no frills but remodeled hotel right in the heart of Vevey. The staff speaks excellent English, was accomodating of a change of dates and overall, it was very respectable stay. The rooms are small, but remodeled, nothing fancy, but very clean and look out onto one of the inner streets. The building is old but has an elevator and the hallways are dark, but the room we had was bright and cheerful. The restaurant was excellent with unpretentious fare and a very pleasant wait staff who was happy to speak English and provide explanation of the french language menu. The meal was filling, tasty and comparably priced with other places in the area. The location was excellent just 1 block off the lakefront and surrounded by nice boutiques and shops. Very good hotel for the money and would recommend it to anyone who wants to avoid the high prices of other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank european_newbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuerich
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

We showed up at 21h00 here to an impatient and impolite desk clerk asking why we were so late.
The hotel is in a very pretty part of the old town, and the building itself is recently renovated. The rooms are adequate, sparse, and nothing special, and the restaurant downstairs is pretentious and overpriced. The breakfast is minimal, and when the croissants ran out (at 09:30) we asked for more and the server made a big deal of the fact that he had to go down the street to buy more at the local bakery.
Vevey is a very beautiful little city with many attractions and beautiful scenery, but by far the biggest problem is, is that the owners know it. As a result -they seem to have no interest in being friendly , helpful, or even courteous. The other hotels and properties in the area are (of course) much more expensive with many stars, ...and that brings me to the point: The only reason that this hotel seems of any value is because of the price of their competition - rather than the service or value they offer themselves.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vevey hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed here as our friends were getting married in Vevey. The hotel is in a fantastic location, down a pedestrianised street (so no traffic noise) in the Old Town and right off the Place du Marche.

The reception is not always manned, but there is usually someone around in the restaurant who can help you. The staff were friendly, and we were given a large room on the top floor of the hotel, which was accessible by lift. The room was basic but had everything that you would need for a short stay. In the bathroom there was a shower cubicle but no bath, but that was fine for us.

Breakfast was included, it was basic but fine. There were croissants, butter, jams, and either juice, tea or coffee.

While the hotel is only a two star, this is more because of a lack of facilities rather than standards. But with a town centre location, and a minutes walk from the lake front, you won’t be spending too much time at the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maidenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in Sep 09. Good location in the old part of the town beside the lake. Rooms are small and basic but very clean. Staff aren't particularly helpful and there is no parking. However I would recommend for a short stay in Vevay

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IKipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

My review is somewhat skewed because we unfortunately stayed one night when the hotel was under construction. We had 2 rooms--one for 2 adults and one for 2 kids--which were unfortunately separated by a longish hallway. Rooms and bathrooms were modern, up-to-date and very nice. We didn't spend much time in the hotel because the bottom floor/restaurant was under construction during the day and caused much noise. Also due to the construction, the staff was unavailable and we relied upon other guests for assistance departing through the construction zone--not cool. The hotel has a nice location in the Vieux Ville, so with windows open, you can hear sounds across the alleys or from the cafes and restaurants below.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plumarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

Spent 4 nights. Large room, good mattress. The large sink was in the room, while shower and toilet in ensuite bathroom (larger upper floor rooms don't have this feature, but windows are smaller due to roof-slope.). No hairdryer (though a notice says to check at reception if needed). Quick, silent elevator. No A/C (as in most Swiss hotels).

We had a room on the 3rd (American 4th) floor with two large french windows as requested, with views along 3 intersecting streets. We live in the country and enjoy the sights and sounds of the town life: deliveries of foods and wares to restaurants, school kids in groups, bicyclists, the clinking of crockery from outdoor dining, busker musicians. It was, indeed, fairly noisy at times with the windows open (and it was warm in late May).

This hotel is a great location in a lovely town as others mention. Vevey has lovely waterside walks and views across to the Swiss snow-capped mountains. And the train service is frequent and fast with the station under a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

We ate dinner at the hotel "brasserie" the last two nights after finding how good the food was - service was less commendable, but fine. The restaurant is closed in June 2009 for renovations.

Rate direct at hotel web site was 169.9 Swiss Francs including breakfast of 3 great breads and jams, O.J., excellent coffee with hot milk: very reasonable for the Swiss Riviera, and I would stay here every chance I get!

(Vevey was our favorite of the 3 main Swiss Riviera towns recommended, which include Montreux and Lausanne. Vevey is a good-sized town, no where near as small as expected from others' comments. It's flat to walk, unlike the other two. There is a reasonably priced Manora Cafeteria at the indoor "mall" across from the train station, though we were never here for lunch and it closed by 6:20). There are both a Co-op and another convenience-style grocery store adjacent to the train station for picnic foods and surprisingly inexpensive non-Swiss European wines (USD bottles of Rhone roses and Orvietos) One of these groceries was open at least until 9:00 p.m.). The "inexpensive" Rick Steves recommended "Charley's" lakeside restaurant was very pricey, but we enjoyed reasonably priced and tasty fare at "Pizza Taxi" with a nice Italian menu in addition to pizzas and a large outdoor deck dining area across from the lake promenade).

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank euroridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevey
0.2 mi away
Astra Hotel Vevey
Astra Hotel Vevey
#3 of 6 in Vevey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de Geneve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hostellerie Bon Rivage
Hostellerie Bon Rivage
#1 of 2 in La Tour-de-Peilz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.5 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#4 of 17 in Montreux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Negociants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Negociants

Property: Hotel Les Negociants
Address: 27 Rue du Conseil, Vevey 1800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Vevey
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Negociants 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Les Negociants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Negociants Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing