We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Les Negociants
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed here as our friends were getting married in Vevey. The hotel is in a fantastic location, down a pedestrianised street (so no traffic noise) in the Old Town and right off the Place du Marche.

The reception is not always manned, but there is usually someone around in the restaurant who can help you. The staff were friendly, and we were given a large room on the top floor of the hotel, which was accessible by lift. The room was basic but had everything that you would need for a short stay. In the bathroom there was a shower cubicle but no bath, but that was fine for us.

Breakfast was included, it was basic but fine. There were croissants, butter, jams, and either juice, tea or coffee.

While the hotel is only a two star, this is more because of a lack of facilities rather than standards. But with a town centre location, and a minutes walk from the lake front, you won’t be spending too much time at the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maidenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    25
    27
    10
See reviews for
13
42
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in Sep 09. Good location in the old part of the town beside the lake. Rooms are small and basic but very clean. Staff aren't particularly helpful and there is no parking. However I would recommend for a short stay in Vevay

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IKipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

My review is somewhat skewed because we unfortunately stayed one night when the hotel was under construction. We had 2 rooms--one for 2 adults and one for 2 kids--which were unfortunately separated by a longish hallway. Rooms and bathrooms were modern, up-to-date and very nice. We didn't spend much time in the hotel because the bottom floor/restaurant was under construction during the day and caused much noise. Also due to the construction, the staff was unavailable and we relied upon other guests for assistance departing through the construction zone--not cool. The hotel has a nice location in the Vieux Ville, so with windows open, you can hear sounds across the alleys or from the cafes and restaurants below.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plumarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vevey hotels

virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

Spent 4 nights. Large room, good mattress. The large sink was in the room, while shower and toilet in ensuite bathroom (larger upper floor rooms don't have this feature, but windows are smaller due to roof-slope.). No hairdryer (though a notice says to check at reception if needed). Quick, silent elevator. No A/C (as in most Swiss hotels).

We had a room on the 3rd (American 4th) floor with two large french windows as requested, with views along 3 intersecting streets. We live in the country and enjoy the sights and sounds of the town life: deliveries of foods and wares to restaurants, school kids in groups, bicyclists, the clinking of crockery from outdoor dining, busker musicians. It was, indeed, fairly noisy at times with the windows open (and it was warm in late May).

This hotel is a great location in a lovely town as others mention. Vevey has lovely waterside walks and views across to the Swiss snow-capped mountains. And the train service is frequent and fast with the station under a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

We ate dinner at the hotel "brasserie" the last two nights after finding how good the food was - service was less commendable, but fine. The restaurant is closed in June 2009 for renovations.

Rate direct at hotel web site was 169.9 Swiss Francs including breakfast of 3 great breads and jams, O.J., excellent coffee with hot milk: very reasonable for the Swiss Riviera, and I would stay here every chance I get!

(Vevey was our favorite of the 3 main Swiss Riviera towns recommended, which include Montreux and Lausanne. Vevey is a good-sized town, no where near as small as expected from others' comments. It's flat to walk, unlike the other two. There is a reasonably priced Manora Cafeteria at the indoor "mall" across from the train station, though we were never here for lunch and it closed by 6:20). There are both a Co-op and another convenience-style grocery store adjacent to the train station for picnic foods and surprisingly inexpensive non-Swiss European wines (USD bottles of Rhone roses and Orvietos) One of these groceries was open at least until 9:00 p.m.). The "inexpensive" Rick Steves recommended "Charley's" lakeside restaurant was very pricey, but we enjoyed reasonably priced and tasty fare at "Pizza Taxi" with a nice Italian menu in addition to pizzas and a large outdoor deck dining area across from the lake promenade).

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank euroridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

In October, we stayed at the Les Negociants in Vevey. On the whole it was really a worthwhile stay as the hotel was really good value for money, though it was just a two-star, our double room on the first floor was pretty spotless and nice with big windows. The housekeeping was actually good, for both my wife and me are pretty keen on hygienic and fresh rooms. The guy at the reception was a bit rude but the rest of the staff was actually very courteous and helpful, so it really didn’t matter. The hotel’s location and attractive price was the reason we chose this hotel. It was walking distance from the train station, literally five minutes away, which was important as we were daily taking trains to different destinations like to the vineyard regions, one day to Gruyeres castle, another to Montreaux and surrounding areas etc. Also it was right in the old town, near the promenade overlooking the lake where we took our walks and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. Breakfast was included though by Indian standards was really not much, but I guess we stuffed ourselves with the freshly baked croissants, breads and cheese, cups of coffee with dollops of cream so we needn’t complain. We never had any main meal at the hotel, though its restaurant is quite well-known, as we ate at the destinations we went to.

  • Liked — excellent price and location
  • Disliked — rooms were a bit small for a couple with children
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

A lovely hotel in the heart of Vevey, yet its location has its positives and its negatives. The hotel is in a very convenient location, within both walking distance from the station and the ferries that cruise around Lake Geneva. However, the downfall is the noise (as others have mentioned) We were on the top floor and you couldn't even open your window at night cause of the noise on the streets below. I'm not a light sleeper, but our first night i got very little sleep unfortunately. Other than the noise, the room was large, clean and the beautiful big windows made the room very light and airy. The rooms appear to be newly renovated and the small bathroom was very nice. The service was a bit disappointing, but i guess we are kind of used to staying at B&B's where service plays a big part in the whole experience. The breakfast was bread, bread and more bread and i was already over it by day 2. You get no choice other than whether you want tea, coffee or hot chocolate. A bit disappointing really. I would only recommend this place if you were a heavy sleeper and don't rate hotels on their breakfasts ;)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate0680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2008

This hotel is as central as you can possibly get - 5 mins from train station, about a minute from the lake and 10 - 15 minutes from the funicular railway.

Lovely clean rooms which have recently been re-furbished, tv with channels in 5 languages, really pleasant and friendly staff and delicious food which is very reasonably priced. A few people have mentioned the noise at night - there are a few bars about but on my part, I didn't have any problems with the noise.

Vevey is beautiful with loads of stuff to do. I was only there 3 days and did quite a lot (the food museum, the Vevey Museum, the bus to Montreux, funicular railway, the 'flowery walk' etc) but there was loads more I wanted to do but didn't have time.

I will be going back next year and I will be definitely staying at Negociants!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, nice room
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhonaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevey
0.2 mi away
Astra Hotel Vevey
Astra Hotel Vevey
#3 of 6 in Vevey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de Geneve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hostellerie Bon Rivage
Hostellerie Bon Rivage
#1 of 2 in La Tour-de-Peilz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.5 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#4 of 17 in Montreux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Negociants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Negociants

Property: Hotel Les Negociants
Address: 27 Rue du Conseil, Vevey 1800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Vevey
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Negociants 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Les Negociants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Negociants Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing