We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe one of the best cheese fondues”
Review of Les 3 Sifflets

Les 3 Sifflets
Ranked #3 of 102 Restaurants in Vevey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Maybe one of the best cheese fondues”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

If you are in Vevey and feel like eating something really Swiss, Les 3 Sifflets is the best place to go. Very well known in the region, this Café-Restaurant is the best place to have a cheese fondue. We arrived there in the evening and had dinner in the back patio.

Every time a fondue is served, you can hear the Marche du Général Guisan (the only General Switzerland has ever had) and the servers come carrying the caquelon (fondue pot) and a Swiss flag and wearing a military kepi on the head.

They have many fondues; we had the one made with beer. It was light but creamy and very tasty. The Swiss eat it while drinking white wine but you can also have beer or hot tea.

The staff is very young and friendly. We will eat there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OmbrettaMDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    99
    36
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Such fun!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I took my daughter and great aunt here on a Wednesday evening having booked a table in advance. I'm so glad I did! This is quite a small and informal restaurant. Indeed the small room is called the restaurant and the larger one with the bar is called the café. There isn't really any difference between them in the evening. We went specifically for the fondue and there was plenty of choice there. You could also have raclette, salads, fish and meat. We chose the Moitié-Moitié fondue which is apparently half Gruyere and half Emmenthal. We also had a glass of Gamay, a green tea and a Coke Zero. Total cost including tip €80. If you visit this restaurant you have to expect it to be informal, noisy and a lot of fun. About 15-20 minutes after we were seated, some quite loud military music was being played. I was just wondering whether to ask them to turn it down, when one of the waiters appeared wearing a kepi and brandishing a Swiss flag. He proceeded to put the kepi on my head and handed me the flag while he brought the fondue and bread. All a surprise and very good fun. The fondue was lovely and, much to my astonishment, we did actually finish it although I didn't think we would. I admit that this is probably not the most romantic of venues, but for an authentic taste of Switzerland with a good dollop of laughs, you would find it hard to beat the Three Whistles!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“interactive”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

authentic Fondu, interactive atmosphere, very nice presentation, special music and Swiss flag. delicious food. Staff very friendly. traditional, a good place for travellers to know about Swiss cooking style.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Had several visits here mostly when we had visitors to introduce them to a Swiss evening with a twist! The fondus are very good especially the beer one which we had this week.Would suggest ordering a mix of food for the table and not just fondu for everyone as the other dishes are also very good. Staff are very friendly and it has a great atmosphere which (I agree with another comment) ..is often lacking in restaurants here. Make sure you reserve a table...it is very popular!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and fondue, a little noisy”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The restaurant had an old-world and light-hearted atmosphere. It's well-known for cheese and tradional dishes.You walk through a friendly bar where locals meet for drinks to the restaurant and a typical Swiss room in the back. The fondue was creamy and delicious, as was the local white wine. I think we had Chardonne.
It was fun when the waitress wearing some old Swiss army clothes brought our fondue to the table to a military fanfare. However, we heard this several times during the evening - every time fondue was served!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeborahML2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les 3 Sifflets also viewed

Vevey, Canton of Vaud
Vevey, Canton of Vaud
 
Vevey, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Les 3 Sifflets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing