We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Very Regal Hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel du Lac
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Very Regal Hotel”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 1 night with friends. We were very impressed with the superb service upon arrival, very friendly welcoming staff. The building itself is beautiful inside and out. It has a great grandeur about it and is immaculately presented. We were given a room on the first floor which had a good sized terrace with stunning views of the lake and mountains. The room was beautifully decorated with a large comfy bed, our only complaint was the shower which had little power and kept switching from hot to cold. A fabulous breakfast was on offer the following morning with everything you could ask for. Unfortunately for us, there was a wedding on the day we stayed which continued on through the night with thumping loud music until 3am! Perhaps they should think about putting non wedding guests in rooms further away from the entertainment! Apart from that, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seashore987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    72
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
86
240
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The location and historic background of the hotel adds to its charm. Service was excellent as expected. One of the dinners did disappoint some since the quality of the food was not up to snuff for a Michelen star restaurant. Maybe it was an off day for the chef.
Otherwise, the hotel did not disappoint. Will return to try again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loosetooth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel delivers, service, food, room, staff ALL top notch. Make sure you leave time to just sit under the trees at the outdoor bar with a late afternoon cocktail and a book; so relaxing. Food is excellent, have a meal on the outdoor patio...wait staff is impeccable. Hi to Hugo...I'm headed to Portugal to visit your vineyards!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards Lake Geneva
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buckster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel was a 50/50 selection for us and we are pleased to say that it exceeded our expectations. The service was excellent and the hotel was stylish in a grand fashion. Definitely on the top of the list in the greater Montreux area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aiscifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I travel frequently to Vevey for work (there is a major global company headquartered there!) and LOVE staying at the Grand Hotel du Lac. There are a handful of 4/5 star hotels in the area but for the quality of rooms, staff, food and location, Hotel du Lac wins every time.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms are best or side of lake facing (towards the roundabout).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sopans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay (...unfortunately) only one night in this spectacular Hotel and it was amazing.
Everything was perfect with an elegance that is not common nowdays; the hall was really full of wondeful flowers and the room was so quite and relaxing.
Final opinion : one in the life must be tried!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights on the occasion of my sister's wedding which took place in the hotel.

You could write an astonishingly long list of things this property does with excellence. One thing that truly stands out is the true, unmistakeable class of an authentic Swiss Grand Hotel that overwhelms you the second you step foot in the door. In line with the other reviews: the prices are borderline absurd however, if you appreciate true hospitality, you'll quickly forget about that dent in your account.

Truly enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobetrotterDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevey
2.9 mi away
Fairmont Le Montreux Palace
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
2.0 mi away
Le Mirador Resort & Spa
Le Mirador Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Mont Pelerin
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,131 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
724 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astra Hotel Vevey
Astra Hotel Vevey
#3 of 6 in Vevey
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Lac

Property: Grand Hotel du Lac
Address: rue d' Italie 1, Vevey 1800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Vevey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel du Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel du Lac in Vevey, Switzerland. Since its establishment in 1868 the hotel offers a superb location where charm and elegance are blended with modern day comforts. These elements are perfectly suited to the experienced traveller. True to world renowned Swiss hospitality, the hotel staff treats all of the guests to an intimate and pampered environment where an attentive service makes you feel unique and special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vevey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing