We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice for a business trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astra Hotel Vevey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astra Hotel Vevey
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nice for a business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

In the middle of Vevey opposite of the Railway station.
A good and clean Hotel needs a upgrade to modern standards but still good place to stay a night or two.
The staff is friendly and help full, Checkin quick and a good breakfast. For Switzerland good priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear guest,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We are happy to notice that you appreciated our services.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    97
    37
    14
    0
See reviews for
16
51
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boskoop, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

It's not your super-de-luxe, modern, shiny hotel, but it's good enough and there is something charming to its old-fashioned feel.
Location is very convenient: just step out of the train station and there it is, facing you. No stress about searching for the address in an unknown town.
The room was clean and well kept but I was very much missing a water-cooker to make my own tea, I am quite used to that in four star hotels.
It was quiet, no disturbances. Breakfast was OK and certainly the floor manager took good care of breakfast guests. Something for every taste was to be found.
If you like walking by the lake (who doesn't in Vevey?), it's a five minute walk. The views are splendid.
A shopping centre, supermarkets and restaurants are very close, just cross the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear guest,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We are happy to notice that you appreciated centrally located situation and our services.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

stayed from sunday 4th to wed 7th may 2014. nice hotel with friendly staff. a little bit dated but very clean and everything you need to be comfortable. very expensive breakfast but i guess thats average for switzerland. Ultra handy or the train station so if you are on foot then its perfect. My room over looked the entrance to the train station which actually proved very noisy with delivery wagons at 6am two mornings.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vimto6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear guest,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

very good business hotel in the center of vevey.
the brasserie is unique (you feel like in paris), good Food, friendly service.
the small wellness-area is located on the roof of the hotel, the prospect is fantastic.
the hotel is a good starting point around the lake geneva.
i can recommend it ;-)))

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

we thank you for staying recently at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We are happy to notice that you appreciated our rooftop wellness area and our historical restaurant.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the entire Astra Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Am excellent hotel close to the station and lakeside. Staff are very friendly and accommodating and did everything possible to ensure our stay was a pleasant one. The car elevator is an experience to behold as is the friendly and warm welcome in the brasserie and bar. Price per night on par with Swiss hotels.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jamesbrkr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear client,

we thank you for your recent stay at the Astra Hotel Vevey and for taking the time to review your stay.

We are happy to read that our services were upon your expectations and that our prices are on par with Swiss Hotels.

We hope to see you soon again in Vevey and would be very pleased to welcome you at the Astra Hotel Vevey.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming & the Astra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just across the road from the train station and Manor shopping mall makes it a great location for a short business stay. But really their price is ridiculously expensive for this hotel standard. Rooms are small and very average. I've paid less for much better hotels in Montreux, Lausanne and Geneva and I know very well prices in Switzerland. Astra is just not worth paying so much

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank loran_outan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear guest,

we thank you for staying at Astra Hotel Vevey and taking the time to review us your impressions.

Your comments will be shared with our team and help us improve our services.

Best regards
Nicolas Ming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is my second time going to Vevey on a work trip and not that I wasn't happy about the other hotel where I stayed, but I decided to just change it up this time and try a different hotel for the fun of it and stay somewhere in the centre of Vevey (although that is a bit meaningless in a small town like Vevey).

I booked the hotel for myself and three other colleagues on the recommendation of the customer we were visiting. Three of us stayed for two nights. The hotel is right beside the train station, so it's very convenient to get here. Service at reception was courteous and check-in was quick. The room was fine and quiet (even with constant music piping out in the hallways). The look is probably getting dated, but everything was clean and everything was in good shape.

I had gotten a ride to Vevey from eastern Switzerland with a colleague and there is parking available (although I am unsure how much extra is costs). But you get to ride a car elevator to the underground parking which we got a kick out of (maybe our lives are a bit boring right now!).

Breakfast was a good spread with mostly cold foods, but lots of choice of breads and croissants, yogurts, fruit, bircher muesli and cheeses. Boiled eggs were available as well. It was included in the rooms I had booked.

There is free Wifi, but it is on the slow side. It's manageable just to catch up on e-mails and the such.

I tried out the gym one evening. It is small, but it wasn't busy so it was fine.There is a hot tub outside the gym on the deck which would have been nice to try out if I had a bathing suit.

On check out, I always get a bit of sticker shock (in a bad way) in Switzerland when I get the bill for hotels. I had forgotten how much it was per night here (248 fr) when I booked so even with the 10% discount I got for an early booking, I thought they had made a mistake. But no, they were correct. I suppose that I don't know if it was worth the price, but for Swiss hotel prices, this is pretty much on par, so it is normal value here.

Since Vevey is a small town, there is not much choice as to where to stay, but I can recommend this hotel and the location give this place a plus too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GloJul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstraVevey, Directeur général at Astra Hotel Vevey, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind feedback about your recent stay at Astra Hotel Vevey.

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you had a good experience with our car elevator.

Thank you also for recommending our poperty and the location.

We hope to see you soon again !

Best Regards
Nicolas Ming & the Astra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevey
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
3.6 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie de Geneve
1.5 mi away
Le Mirador Resort & Spa
Le Mirador Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Mont Pelerin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostellerie Bon Rivage
Hostellerie Bon Rivage
#1 of 2 in La Tour-de-Peilz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astra Hotel Vevey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astra Hotel Vevey

Property: Astra Hotel Vevey
Address: Place de la Gare 4, Vevey 1800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Vevey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Astra Hotel Vevey 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The family-owned Astra Hotel in the picturesque town of Vevey, Lake Geneva Region, Switzerland, stands for tradition, style and warm hospitality. Accommodation 100 modern guestrooms and suites with the 4*sup comfort. All rooms have air-condition, and some are non smoking. Dining and entertainment Historic Brasserie La Coupole (1912), Le Pavillon non smoking restaurant, Elegant Restaurant Quatre Saisons, Caveau le Guillon Swiss cheese specialities, Orient Express Bar. Relaxing and well-being At the beginning of 2009 an oasis of relaxation came into being above the roofs of Vevey. The new City Panoramic Spa offers you generous space for health, lifestyle and recuperation. Here you can lean back, regenerate and fill up with energy, while at the same time enjoying a fascinating view over the "Riviera of Western Switzerland" and over the Lavaux region. Relax body and spirit after a long day. The renovated and expanded wet area persuades with warm colors, with a quiet zone in the winter garden and with a remarkable view. Besides the Finnish sauna, the "Caldarium" and the "Salionarium" you will be enjoying quiet and relaxation in the new winter garden. The high point of the City Panoramic Spa is the new outside area on the roof terrace with its whirlpool bath and sundeck. Meeting and conference facilities Conference & Event center as well as large dining facilities for 10 to 250 persons. Public Wireless LAN in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Astra Hotel Vevey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vevey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing