We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are thinking about going: DO IT!”

Restaurant Denis Martin
Ranked #4 of 102 Restaurants in Vevey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $199 - $370
Cuisines: Swiss, Contemporary, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you are thinking about going: DO IT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

With 4 friends we went to Denis Martin last winter, what an experience! Yes it is expensive (Chf1950 for 4) and yes it is not really 'food' but it is such an incredible experience! If you are thinking about going and it is your thing, don't hesitate and go now! But be aware, this is not traditional 2 or 3* Michellin eating so be ready for a surprise. If you want something more traditional reserve at Pont du Brent

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Heronimvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    34
    14
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

As gift for the wedding of our daughter, this evening was a wonderfull tasting event. So creative, so extraordinary...
But what about the 1 hour we had to wait before the first plate arrived at our table !! we got an empty spoon, then nothing more until we alerted the waiter.
And also, is it acceptable that we are told, at the end of the meal, that Mr. Denis Martin was not present this day (12th of May 2012), away for a seminar... When you know we paid CHF 1570.- for 4 people (bottle of wine CHF 68.-), we were expecting to meet the CHEF at least...
a little bit disapointing.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tubistico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fun fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

if in vevey this is a most it is not a meal it is an adventure, lab cooking at it's best

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bpi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
197 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

My first experience with this kind of cuisine was a disaster, but this has nothing to do with it. If you want a wonderful evening, with a humouristic approach, very professional service and around 27 different dishes which are nearly all close to perfection, this is the place to be. Be open minded, go there with your most beloved one(s) and you will find out that the chef will soon have its third michelin star.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kuni07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ct
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Extravagant...Delicious and AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

What a treat...and I mean treat! The most delicious and interesting meal we have ever had. Will not spoil your experience with explanation. Cost for dinner for two...$900.00-US If your seeking an event...this is it! Every plating an experience! And, making the evening more wonderful, we purchased Denis's book and were dissappointed that he was not available when we departed, to sign it for us. However, as we left the restaurant and were walking back to our hotel, Denis returned to the restaurant, and the maitre d' explained that we were dissappointed that he was not available to sign the book. The maitre d' left the restaurant in search of us, on foot, and found us before we reached our hotel. He then escorted us back to the restaurant as Denis been waiting for us, to sign his book. We thought that was quite wonderful.

  • Visited May 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cara21Westport_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Denis Martin also viewed

Vevey, Canton of Vaud
Vevey, Canton of Vaud
 
Vevey, Canton of Vaud
Vevey, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Restaurant Denis Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing