We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Swiss Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Steinbock
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Klosters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We booked the very last double room available, last minute of course, & were very pleasantly surprised to be shown to a charming & adequetely sized room. The decor was traditional Swiss Mountain hotel, clean, simple & everything with a purpose. It's a small family hotel & we were greeted by name on arrival & they helped us with carrying bags & ski bags etc. Parking was right at the front door.
The room rate included an excellent & very impressive extensive breakfast, much more than either of us could ever hope to get through & the waitress couldn't be faulted, despite being called hither by lots of hungry skiers keen to get going. It also included access to the hidden treasure which was the spa & sauna room. Very clean & just perfect after a day of skiing. We even had it to ourselves for the first half hour.
The restaurant was full (as we'd not booked before) so we had to eat elsewhere, however they did try to accomodate us with a late booking. We'd recommend booking early as it's very popular.
Their very friendly service was topped off in perfect style as I'd left a jacket in my room by mistake & they very efficiently knew all about it & happily posted it to me at my forwarding address over a week later.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BebeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 81 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2010

If you like noise through the night then the Steinbock is for you. I spent 8 nights here and didn't get a good night's sleep for one of them. Walls are paper thin and they insist on clearing up the kitchen after midnight which reverberates through the entire building.

Staff are good but location is average.

Bar is tiny and breakfasts are poor, including out of date yogurt.

Not for me and I'm surprised at the positive comments below.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Klosters is a charming high quality place. The hotels are generally of reliable standard, yet some stand out. The Veriena is well regarded. but represents a bit of a missed opportunity to embrace the Grand status of the building when it was refurbished. The Alpina somewhat struggles with the label as the best trendy/modern classy hotel but it is a very welcoming smart establishment, the Walserhof is a tiny wonderful gem, but one you are more likely to visit as a diner than a resident, but they are truly charming the bulding is wholly uncorrupted, charming and genuinely welcoming. The Steinbock does not necessarily compete with erther the Veriena or the Walserhof on all fronts but it is probably fair tht its tripadvisor rating is ahead of the Alpina, perhaps this is value and views rather than contemporary enticement, but Steinbock deserves some important credits.... The rooms for a seven night stay are very generous generally for Swiss resorts.. The food is good, but like all but the best Swiss hotels it feels rather formulaic and a wee bit uninspired, well engineered and entirely competant, but not really exciting..the convenience of the location is great, but make sure you do try to get them to help with the bags from the station, it is only 500m if you know where you are going, but if yu dont it can be a perilous cit shoe hell dragging over heavy, capacious luggage through charming streets but even at 1100m above sea level this is not really a good way to start your winter break. The reliability of the Swiss train service should be part of your plan to get picked up at the station. Other positives, neverending hot water, good reliable pressure, the balcony rooms are worth it, 36m gives you efffectively a junior suite with a great office area that masquerades as a dinner table and a futon style arrangement.. Downsides are few but you should be aware,,, bathrooms are corian vanity units(that are holding up quite well), tiles all around that are definately of the past, all is very clean and all works well in the ensuites, but the tiling style(not Quality) is very out of date. Most of the staff are very charming, always helpful,,, sometimes a little shy, but this is a place that does want to look after you and it is important also to play your part in encouraging communication...the litlte lounge area gets locals in which is a welcome rarity, the small bar can get a little smokey, the residents restaurant is perfectly fine if a little quieter than the very busy a la carte... you can use the lounge as well to get power for your laptop, and whilst paying for access is a pain it is at least reliable. the real pain poits area lack of leads so you can use the great tv's to show dvds from your laptop,,, bring the leads and a couple of dvds you will get a great picture...the lack of any remotely good englis language channels,,, CNN may well be fine for a good base level, but really need BBC news for Brits as well as English Language Versions of Eurosport and Euronews etc ? I accept it is unresonable to expect free wifi, free sat tv stations etc in such a small hotel, but there has been investement in very good panansonic Viera tvs,,,small step etc may well be quite good fro reviews..

If you are skiing only in Klosters the Best pace to leave your boots in a locker is under the railway in the very smart new shop, but if you want flexibility and intend to go to Davos by bus, or Madrisa at Klosters Dorf then use the places on the "hotel" side of the tracks....

The main point ids though that these are good rooms for a ski resort, and the hotel is deserving of its current thrid ranking in the town...

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David.Orr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

The rooms and the view are stunning.
The Service is first class.
The Food; Outstanding
You can sit on the balcony and enjoy the view and breathe the clean mountain air.
In Summer hiking is endless.
In Winter skiing is like you never seen before

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefbruno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

The Steinbock hotel is an excellent option for spending some quality time on the Swiss mountains in the Davos area. The hotel is located perfectly in the centre of the village, close to everything - railway station of the UNESCO Rathischebahn, start of the XC tracks and starting station of the cablecar to the ski-slopes. Rooms are very nice, spacious, quiet, very clean and with all required services. I strongly recommend the ones with South view that add to the package nice small terraces with view on the mountains. The restaurant in the hotel is worth a visit independently from being an hotel guest.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baol1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

Excellent hotel. Great location. Great staff. Scrumptous food. The rooms are attractive and exceptionally clean and the views spectacular. I would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel Steinbock to friends and family. I felt pampered during the entire stay and cannot say enough positive things regarding how this hotel is managed.
I cannot wait to return .

Jewels
Falls Church, Virginia

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank French1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

We went for a family ski vacation and stayed at the Hotel Steinbock for five nights; our rate included meals and lift tickets.

The location was great; we had a lovely view from our window (some of the rooms have balconies), and we could walk a few blocks to the main tram station and everything in Klosters.
Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a king bed and the sofa was made into a comfortable bed for our child. The decor was simple, but comfortable and very clean. We had plenty of room to stow our winter gear.

The hotel had a wonderful, clean spa area with whirlpool, sauna, steam and showers; (heads up to the modest: bathing suits are not allowed).

One of the dining rooms served a wonderful breakfast each morning with a wide selection of foods. The staff was very attentive and answered all our questions about food ingredients (our child has a severe food allergy) and was very accommodating. The dining room for dinner had a very cozy (romantic) setting and the menu had a nice selection to choose from each evening (we don't eat meat and there was always a fish or vegetarian dish); the staff always let our child choose from either the adult or child menu.

We would definitely consider returning to Klosters to ski and to the Steinbock for it's comfortable, cozy atmosphere.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank 3_Travel_lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Klosters hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Albeina Klosters
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Chesa Grischuna
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sport Klosters
Hotel Sport Klosters
#5 of 15 in Klosters
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Silvretta Parkhotel Klosters
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#1 of 15 in Klosters
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Piz Buin
Hotel Piz Buin
#7 of 15 in Klosters
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Steinbock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Steinbock

Address: Landstrasse 146, Klosters 7250, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Klosters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Klosters
Price Range: $111 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Steinbock 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Grisons hotel that boasts natural charm and character. The 3-star Hotel Steinbock is centrally located at the heart of Klosters and offers spectacular views over the mountain landscape. The rustically furnished rooms offer style, comfort and space to relax in. The hotel chefs wow their guests with culinary Grisons specialties and classic Swiss delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Steinbock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing