We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Steinbock
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Klosters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We came for a weekend ski trip.
Our rooms were really good sizes with separate bedrooms for the children. One of the rooms we had stairs up to the bedrooms and a great living space downstairs so plenty of space for large family's
Staff were very helpful and very friendly. I'm a coeliac, the kitchen staff knew all about Gluten free food and cross contamination so It was lovely to sit and enjoy a meal with no worries!!
We booked baby sitters through the hotel. If you want a massage book early as the lady was fully booked. Sauna and stream room were nice but I did feel it could have been cleaner! There was some bits floating in the water.
Overall a great stay had by all and will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmitch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 81 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

Background:- I wanted to go for a 5 day skiing trip from Manchester with my pregnant partner. She obviously wasnt skiing so we wanted to be somewhere lovely with a relaxed journey from Manchester. Klosters fitted the bill perfectly.

We flew from Manchester to Zurich and got the train to Klosters (lovely scenic journey with fantastic Swiss Air and Swiss Rail - staff couldnt have been more helpful). Short walk and about a hundred feet of steepish path to the hotel.

The hotel was fantastic and as long as you aren't expecting contemporary sterility you will love it. Very brown, woody and beige and exactly how you would want a Swiss hotel in the mountains to be. The balcony was huge and looked over the mountains and was great to relax upon - well worth paying more for the views (although we didn't and they upgraded us for free!). In addition the hotel provided fruit and litres and litres of juice in the room for my partner which was lovely of them.

The room had a sofa, a corner dining table and a corner seat. It was very comfortable and great for slumping.

Finally, food. The the food's great. Bacon and eggs, local yoghurts, local cheese, cereals, bread and fruits. Fresh tea (Lipton as well as fruit), coffee and fruit juices. On the strength of the breakfast we went half board - 44chf (about £30) each a night. This prooved to be the bargain of the holiday. Klosters is eye meltingly expensive and if we had eaten out every night we would have been having a very lean month. Every night a selection of fish, meat and vegeterian meals, salads, soups and a pudding. Quite frankly the quality was excellent and we chopped and changed various things on the two menus. If however you wanted to self cater the room had a small kitchen and the Co-Op in town was large and had a wide selection of veg and salads - usual supermarket stuff.

Finally, skiing. Klosters and Davos are excellent plases to ski. I'll be back for sure. Klosters isnt how you think it will be, its lovely, low key and a smashing place to go. Thanks goes to the staff of the Steinbock for making me and my partner feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dunnoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Flew out from Gatwick on the 6:30 flight then train to Klosters from Zurich - arrived at the hotel by midday - rooms were all ready for us (even though we were not supposed to check in until 4) - this gave us chance to change into ski gear and get onto the slopes. Main cable car is about a 5 mins walk.

Rooms were great (I had a single occupancy room) - large double bed, and a large sitting area with TV (although CNN was the only English speaking channel). Bathroom very clean and spacious. Are group had half-board but also had a couple of evening meals. Breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice including bacon and scrambled eggs (you could request fried eggs) - Evening meals were excellent with good menu choice and well presented. You need to book at the weekend as it is very popular.

Staff very helpful and polite. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stanley339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Rooms are dated like a lot in Switzerland. Staff very friendly and helpful. Sauna is nice. Breakfast good. Dinner was excellent. I'd stay again.

3  Thank Alex_Sonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Steinbock in a south side double room with a balcony. It's a typical skiing hotel: not luxurious, but comfortable and cosy and spotlessly clean. Our room was a good size and the bathroom was modern and well-maintained. It had plenty of storage, but could do with a robe hook in the bathroom. We had no problem at all with noise at night and slept peacefully.
The breakfast buffet was typical skiers' fare and you can have continental breakfast served in your room if you call room service in the morning.
We didn't go for half board as we were planning to dine around, but it was unusually cold (-23 C) when we were there, so we ate in the a la carte restaurant each night. You do need to book as it's very popular. The food was very good and we spent about 150 Swiss Francs for two courses for the two of us including a bottle of wine and an aperitif. It seems expensive, but so is everything in Switzerland. The dining room is intimate and cosy and has a lovely atmosphere.
We skied on Madrisa as we only had two days to ski. It was very easy to catch the bus from almost outside the hotel and there were no queues either for the "egg" which takes you up to Madrisa or for the drag lifts which serve the pistes there. The runs are mostly easy reds and there is also a long blue and a couple of black sections. We hired our skis at Albeina Sports in Klosters Dorf, (where the Madrisa "egg" departs from), which worked out very well. We didn't ski in the Klosters-Platz/Davos area, as Madrisa was perfect just for the weekend.
Make sure you wear your snow boots if you plan to arrive by train, as the walk from the station to the Steinbock is short, but steep. You turn left as you leave the station and then take a right turn. This section is all uphill, but mercifully the hotel is just on your left when you reach the top.
The Steinbock is a lovely place to stay, and we will certainly be back

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caroleann94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just had a week at this hotel, not really any major complaints however it's definitely not a 4 star, more like a 3 star. Rooms haven't been updated since the early 80's and there were some odd locked cupboards dotted around the room - one was for the use of the kitchen (a two ringed cooktop with absolutely no utensils, not even a kettle), so I guess it held the magical equipment necessary to use the cooktop. If you wanted it unlocked it was a 20franc daily charge, ridiculous. The bathroom amenities consisted of a wrapped soap and a sachet of shampoo/conditioner that were seriously poor quality, the breakfast was very average. The staff were lovely. The location was a five minute walk to the station and gondola. The ski room wasn't heated so we ended up using the lockers provided by Intersport next to the station. The price was comparative with what else was available in Klosters, this is Switzerland so you expect it to be expensive, and this was the cheapest 4 star around. They should just say they are a 3 star and I would have managed my expectations accordingly. Apart from the quibbles above there was quite a lot of noise every night until approx. 11.00pm, not sure if it was the plumbing or the people upstairs bowling, but it was very loud.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlphabetFondue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I have been a guest of Silvia Barblan's each year for the past fifteen years. I remember the very first day that my friend John and I arrived at Steinbock to a wonderful greeting by Sivlia and her two daughters, Claudia and Ladina. Through the years they have been the most wonderful friends that one could imagine, even though we only saw each other two to three weeks each year.
The staff have always been of the highest standard. The rooms are kept extremely clean and are comfortable and warm. The location of Steinbock is perfect because it is within walking distance of the Gotchnabahn (the cable car that brings you into the snowfields of Klosters) and the central part of the village.
With regard to the restaurant and the quality of service and food, you will not find a better place to dine in all of Switzerland.
I recommend Hotel Steinbock without hesistation to anyone traveling to Switzerland, and if you have a chance, stay in suite Scottschiefer.

Room Tip: With a small family of four or five, any of the suites are perfect. I have stayed each year in seve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SudburyInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Klosters hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#1 of 15 in Klosters
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Albeina Klosters
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Chesa Grischuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Silvretta Parkhotel Klosters
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sport Klosters
Hotel Sport Klosters
#6 of 15 in Klosters
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Piz Buin
Hotel Piz Buin
#7 of 15 in Klosters
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Steinbock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Steinbock

Address: Landstrasse 146, Klosters 7250, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Klosters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Klosters
Price Range: $109 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Steinbock 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Grisons hotel that boasts natural charm and character. The 3-star Hotel Steinbock is centrally located at the heart of Klosters and offers spectacular views over the mountain landscape. The rustically furnished rooms offer style, comfort and space to relax in. The hotel chefs wow their guests with culinary Grisons specialties and classic Swiss delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Steinbock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing