We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cresta Hotel

Cresta Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cresta Hotel
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Klosters
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and on pretty much all levels the Hotel was poor and undershot what we would have expected. We were kept awake until 3am on 2 of our 3 nights, from noise from the basement bar. The stench of stale cigarette smoke dominates the ground floor from the basement bar. These were major failings. Minor failings would be a basic and poorly thought out breakfast spread - tinned 'Del Monte' fruit and 'stuck to the pan' scrambled eggs, staff who either ignored or shrugged off any 'gripes' and struggled to communicate in either German or English, bedding that was very uncomfortable and lack of car parking without charge. What stops the 'Hotel' being terrible is a location that is walkable to the main lift.

Room Tip: We stayed far away from the stairs and despite other travellers recommending that you do that, the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RowneyBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Your impression is invariably enhanced by the sunshine and the rooms with south facing balconies are the ones to go for. The room/ bathroom was modern and a good size
The hotel itself is unremarkable and lacks character, although having said that I would go back as it does represent good value for Klosters, which is expensive.
Breakfast was okay and there could have been a little more variety on the dinner a la carte menu, although generally the food was good.
Very good location for trains , lifts and buses about a 5 minute walk.

Room Tip: The rooms are double glazed although road noise is audible particularly those near or fronting the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a nice hotel located just a few minutes walk from the train station. The rooms nice, clean and modern, no noise from the other rooms but if you get a room close to the stairs you might be disturbed by guests coming in late. Breakfast was good and the staff friendly but most of them don't speak more than a few words in english. The location is great for skiing, it'll take you just a few minutes walk to the cable car station. Large ski room with boot driers in the basement and a small but perfectly ok sauna together with the reasonable price (105 CHF per person/night during skiing season) makes this a great stay and I would come back. We did not visit the restaurant, it looked ok and had an ordinary Swiss menu.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We were in this hotel for two nights over a weekend in january.
The staff is not extremely competent, but very friendly and helpful.
The location is very good, few minutes away from train station, cable car to the ski resort, and shops.
The rooms are nice, with beautiful wooden floors. Some in our group complained about a smell in the room, but ours didnt have any unpleasant smell.
The restaurant attached to the hotel has good food for reasonable prices (the capuns were great!).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We chose this hotel because we were visiting cousins in Klosters and it was one of the few reasonably priced hotels in town. Switzerland is EXPENSIVE! We paid 135 Swiss francs for one night, including parking, which is equivalent to about $125 US dollars. Located on the main street in Klosters, it is convenient to many restaurants and attractions. The room was very clean and comfortable, but nothing special. The staff were helpful but taciturn. Not a strong welcome. It has a restaurant but we never saw any clients in it, or even much of a staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed long Easter weekend with good friend sharing room. We did not expect too much and were prepared for disappointment in certain aspects. However, in every regard this hotel was a winner - price, cleanliness, noise, room size, location, breakfast, dinner, staff... all was consistent and of a high standard. I would most definitely return - the highest praise i can give.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRotht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Cresta is a very pleasant, reasonably-priced (for Klosters!) three-star hotel. We had a spacious enough three-person room, with a nice balcony and view of the mountains. Location is 5-minute walk from Gotschnabahn base station, and very skier friendly with gear room accessible from outside, boot drying racks, ski racks, and so on. Included breakfast is plentiful, and there's enough room for almost everybody at once, which happens on weekend mornings.Staff are very friendly, and the restaurant is good (though with typical Swiss prices!). Only weird thing is that if you order fondue, you have to eat it on the smoking terrace, which is enclosed, but of course smokey! Detracts a bit from the whole swiss fondue experience if you don't fancy a cigarette with your dinner. We would come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papertec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Klosters hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piz Buin
Hotel Piz Buin
#3 of 15 in Klosters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#1 of 15 in Klosters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sport Klosters
Hotel Sport Klosters
#6 of 15 in Klosters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silvretta Parkhotel Klosters
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Steinbock
Hotel Restaurant Steinbock
#5 of 15 in Klosters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Albeina Klosters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cresta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Hotel

Property: Cresta Hotel
Address: Landstrasse 170, Klosters 7250, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Klosters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Klosters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cresta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cresta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing