We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Castle of Gruyeres
from $187.60
More Info
from $160.20
More Info
from $1,206.60
More Info
Reviews (1,593)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveler rating
345
232
45
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
232
45
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern art fairy tale fondue cheese factory shops and restaurants giger museum medieval village walk around sunny day small town walk up self guided tour stunning views meringue swiss pass chocolate train train station
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 625 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

My mom visited the castle and we were not disappointed... We've been in quite a few castles... This one is lovingly preserved, with many great historical pieces to look at (furniture, light fixtures, art, stained glass windows). We also enjoyed a snack prepared right in the courtyard! Would say of you are in Gruyere it's something worth your time.

Thank Buddles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were on our way from Chillon to Cailler chocolate factory, when we saw this beautiful place. It is car free, but plenty of parking on the big lots. Ice cream was great, from a local shop. We took so many pictures...

Thank turist_from_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The town of gruyere is beautiful...from the setting to the cobblestone streets. The castle is lovely and worth visiting. However, I would not waste your time going to the (free) movie about the history of the castle. That was 20 minutes I can’t get back.

Thank retiredtraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After visiting Chateau du Chillon and having lunch in Montreux, we decided to stop all at Gruyeres on the way back to where we were staying. We found a great looking Chateau at the top of the hill, and with a reasonable charge for admission, we took the tour. The castle was in fairly good shape, and several of the rooms had been restored to reflect period furnishings. The castle did not offer audio guides, but did provide a written guide for the tour with plenty of explanations. If you like to tour castles (we do), and are near Gruyeres, then I would recommend a side trip. The old town is now full of small shops and restaurants, and some small hotels if you wanted to visit after the tour buses left. We were there late in the afternoon, so the about a dozen tour buses left not long after we arrived (which reduced the number of people wandering around). Thus, a late afternoon visit may be a good idea. The castle is open until 6:00 pm.

Thank Tallahassee-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Great castle to visit. Historical and beautiful. Just a fabulous place to spend a few hours. A+++ . Take family and friends and you will love it.

Thank 798yvesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

One of the most prestigious castle in Switzerland. Situated at the altitude of 830m above the medieval town. Own by the merchants in the 15th century and turn to museum in 19th century. You can spend 1 hour inside to look at the residence of the merchant and nothing really spectacular compare to many castle or chateau in France or England. The castle surrounded by the mountain and green field .. beautiful village next to it for you to spend the afternoon with lunch.

Thank taishengg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

Easy to find, as there good signage. We walked from the train station along the pedestrian path. It’s fairly steep but doable, obviously.

This is a self guided tour. The brochure given to you at the beginning of the tour is actually really informative and helpful.

Unfortunately the gardens are closed for the season now.

With the tour there is a 10-minute movie on the history of the castle, which runs once an hour.

Thank domhnall_kaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

We loved the small town and the walk from the train stop to the castle. It has an authentic vibe to it and the surroundings are even better than the castle.
If you came by train, the bus up the castle and back will be free for you.

1  Thank ktantonet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

This castle sits atop a hill in Gruyeres and is easily walk-able from the train station. The castle is also about 5 minutes from the local cheese factory/downtown Gruyeres. The castle offers a short film (and I recommend watching it) when you first enter to learn about the history of the building and the area. There is a gift shop in the first floor with very reasonable prices for things like shields and swords. At the base of the castle is the HR Geiger museum along with a bar featuring a full decoration in Xenomorph style both of which I recommend visiting.

Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

Gruyeres is an adorable medieval town. We walked up to the town (it’s a short hike uphill from the train station). We had fondue and raclette for lunch - seemed fitting - and it was delicious. We walked around and saw the views from the church, which were spectacular at the higher vantage point. We did not pay to go inside, so I can’t speak towards that. I felt like it was enough to just see the outside.

Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews