We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Swiss and very pretty”
Review of Hotel de Ville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Ville
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Gruyeres
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Very Swiss and very pretty”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We didn't stay there but we had lunch at the restaurant. Of course we had the fondue, which came with bread. We ordered boiled potatoes and dry cured beef, as well. We could have as much fondue as we like. The fondue is what is known as moitié & moitié - half cheese and half white wine. It was very good. The potatoes made a good change from bread, which can get a bit heavy. We really like the fondue. Perhpas next time we would order a salad, as well, just to vary the texture. You also need water, as it can get salty.

I noticed that there were a couple of reviews on here about the less-than-optimal service. We didn't experience any of that. The waitress was attentive but didn't fuss over us. She was polite and came over and chatted to us in French - interesting, that Swiss French accent. She came back offering us a second bowl of fondue. All very pleasant. Now we were in Switzerland, ipso facto, expensive. But once in a while, it won't break the bank.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pibochen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
28
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Basic clean hotel in the historical city, really felt in the old Europran town. Room space jsut enough, though I may prefer a small writing desk. Services weere prompt. The restaurant foods were authetic, enjoyed the fodue. Not a place for shopping, you can only find the shop selling cheese and chocolate. Walking around the area was a great enjoyment. The only negative point was the WIFI connection not consistent, cannot get into for a day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Our good friends in Switzerland hooked us up with the wonderful Edelweiss room, four poster bed, and fantastic panoramic view of the surrounding countryside. Magic. We were on a whirlwind tour of Switzerland, and coming from Zurich, where everything runs like clockwork, it could be a bit disconcerting to run into this country approach to hotels. But it's the country. A medieval village and an incredible location. The best part of staying over is you can get photos of the place without hordes of tourists in the streets. It's dead calm at night, except for the wonderful clinking of cow bells (must made a CD of that sound, made for a great night's sleep!). Fondue not really our cup of tea, and service was efficient. Not entirely personable, but there was a language barrier (again, it's the country, to be expected), and they did everything we asked. Loved it. Can't beat the experience in the area.

Room Tip: Edelweiss Suite or any on the country not the street side. Quiet and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank admorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda Heights, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We did not stay at the Hotel but we ate at there restaurant.

- There were flies everywhere
- Fondue was not good, although I see reviews where people think it is good, I was with Swiss students and they said it was bad fondue.
- Macaroni du Chalet was very good.

I was there on a study abroad trip and we took a mini vacation to Gruyere. I was with other Swiss students and the waitress was so rude. When we asked if we can split the fondue, instead of a polite "No", she yelled at one of the swiss students that it was impossible and we cannot do that. She started yelling in French and caused a scene where everyone in the restaurant looked at us. She was very rude to us and walked away in the middle of our sentences to her. She charged 4 swiss francs for tap water!!! She was rude to other people as well. It was not just the waitress tho. The restaurant manager also treated us badly. The swiss students stood up for us and told us that she was being rude so it was not a cultural thing. Don't give them the business, they are jaded because it is a touristy town.

Room Tip: Just don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattsui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gruyeres hotels

St. Malo, France
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Indeed, centrally located, minutes away from the castle. Only 8 rooms, rustic in appearance, nice furniture, but despite their claim internet service was not working. Elevator so small that it fit only one person and one bag. Breakfast was rather standard and not really good. Why serve merengue and cream in the morning?). Staff friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank aclassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

The hotel is located in the middle of the small village of Gruyeres, which makes it very conveinent to walk around, visit the shops, castle, museums, and enjoy drinks at the several different bars and restaurants throughout the village. Parking is available at no charge at the lot closest to the town, which made it nice..you just need to let the security guard, who is sometimes at the bottom of the hill that you are staying the night...so that they let you up to the top lot. The room was really clean, bathroom moderate with just a shower..but we knew that so no issue. Our room faced the center of town, which was cool and when we woke up in the morning, it was snowing...BEAUTIFUL. The hotel's retaurant served the traditional fondue-raclette, a good sign was that it seemed that there were a number of local people eating here. The food was very good and the service was friendly. Also to note, the breakfast included in the room rate was fresh and well presented. Traditional, bread, jams, yougurt, cheese, meat, juice and coffee (Wasn-t a Breakfast buffet, like most, there was table service, which was nice.)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoxFans07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

While the town of Gruyeres is wonderful, with a lot to see and do, the hotel is more basic than i expected given the price we paid.
Our room was on the top floor, with a large double bed and a small window with a view over the main street. The main problem was that as the room was small it was very difficult to walk around the bed without hitting your legs. The breakfast was adequate.
A major gripe was that when we returned to the hotel at 9.30pm one evening we could not get in. No staff stay in the hotel overnight and the front door is locked.
When we checked in no one thought to explain to us how to open the front door at night. Believe me its not as simple as it sounds. You dont use the key, but a metallic key fob which you wave at the door. We eventally worked this out for ourselves. But later that evening, i was looking out the window over the square and an elderly couple started to call up to me. They had also checked in that day and not been shown how to use the key fob either.and were locked out. I had to walk downstairs at 10.30pm to let them in. Not great service, as all it would have taken was 2 minutes to demonstrate to guests how to use the fob.
I would return to Gruyere and would stay here again but only at the right price. Its location however is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yogaladyni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gruyeres
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Gruyeres Wellness & Seminaires
0.0 mi away
Hostellerie Saint-Georges
0.0 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#2 of 4 in Gruyeres
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hine Adon Hotel - Aparthotel Cheval Blanc
3.3 mi away
ibis Bulle La Gruyere
1.6 mi away
Hotel de Ville, Broc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Ville

Property: Hotel de Ville
Address: Gruyeres 1663, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > La Gruyere > Gruyeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Gruyeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Ville 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Ville Hotel
Hotel De Ville Switzerland/Gruyeres, La Gruyere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing