We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded top-end place in lower Engadin”
Review of Hotel Paradies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Paradies
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ftan
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Secluded top-end place in lower Engadin”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had a great stay here - got a reasonably priced large room with a terrace that had amazing views. Service, food, Spa all great - perfect get-away. Note that this is some 50mins away from the 18hole golf courses.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steinersing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    20
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
87
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Our goal was to get away to be active in the snow, relax in a beautiful natural setting and be pampered in comfortable surroundings, too. We found that 'Paradies' (at 1640m) fit the bill in many ways. As to the surroundings: The hotel is located near a small village roughly 3.5 hours drive from Munich and not far from St. Moritz and other bigger name Swiss resort towns. We expressly selected this resort to be away from the glitz and scurry of the better-known areas and indeed found what we were looking for. Access to cross-country ski and groomed Winter hiking trails are found directly out the front door and one has only a short drive to the alpine ski slopes of Ftan and Scuol. (Not so extensive in size for avid skiiers, but just fine for the less-crazed skiier and snow boarder. And kids have a wonderful snow park to learn and have fun in!) A personalized shuttle service brings guests to the lifts and the front desk will issue ski passes and coordinate rental equipment details. If skiing and hiking aren't of interest, the nearby town of Scuol has a Spa complex which among other things offers a bathing pool fed by various natural mineral-rich springs to address various maladies. There is also the possibility to partake in a "Trinkkur" where one drinks water from one of the different springs corresponding to its sought-after healing properties. In contrast to the lovely scenery, the hotel's facade is very utilitarian and unspectacular (obviously the reason it is not shown in the literature) but does command a spectacular view of the valley and surrounding mountains. Its furnishings are modern with a few rustic touches. The atmosphere is comfortable yet refined. Quite a good mix we felt. The view from our room was tremendous and we could go out with our dog for the occasional quick dash to the woods right from one of the decks. Very practical. We found the room comfortably-furnished and enjoyed the modern design of the rooms and marble bath. (As the hotel was heavily booked and no other larger rooms were available, we took a Grand Suite, a luxury we would not normally require.) One thing we both found less satisfying was the mattress which felt like a frozen waffle (!)--the material being made out of some kind of hard foam (not memory foam) that was not giving to the touch. And the duvets were not goose down but some thick synthetic quilt type thing. Not heavenly sleeping comfort. The sound system and Wi-Fi, however, allowed us to enjoy our favorite internet radio stations and keep in touch with the world and our emails. The unexpected use of exotic fresh flowers in the room and around the hotel was a special touch we appreciated. The bar and lounge provided a nice atmosphere, crackling fire, Engadiner Nusstorte (local nut cake), coffee and mixed drinks and the like. Although the hotel boasted in its materials that is was especially dog-friendly, offering dog-sitting services and specially cooked meals for Fido, but we did not sense that the staff on duty during our stay was especially willing to offer these things. (No dog bed, treats or bowls were set out in the room, for instance.) As a matter of fact, we felt in general that the predominantly German (not Swiss) service team was either not experienced/well-trained or lacked the attitude and professionalism one can expect from fine Swiss hotels. From the beginning there was confusion with our inquiry, then a 3 day delay with the email offer and finally no written confirmation of our booking. Some of the wait staff also lacked advanced training, serving the same dish to myself and my husband with the plate position reversed or forgetting the necessary cutlery. A disappointment. We booked the "Gourmet Arrangement" and tagged an extra day onto it allowing us to try all three of the hotel's restaurants. As part of our arrangement, on one night we enjoyed appetizers and sparkling wine in the kitchen while getting to know the chef and and learning a little about his philosophy. This was interesting. He emphasizes local products (meats, fruits, cheeses, herbs, wines) but uses them very creatively. On that evening, we had a 6 course meal with accompanying wine in the star restaurant 'La Bellezza'. It proved to be a veritable food orgy. The six courses were always comprised of multiple parts and numerous components so that the number of courses (amount of food) was actually much greater. Whoo. Then, with each new course a new wine. With refills, should one wish. The dinner, as one could expect, lasted over three hours and we were filled to the brim. Actually, we felt that the 'less is more' policy could have been implemented here to some degree and would have actually increased our enjoyment of the special evening. As it was, the dishes became a blur of pretty creations on interesting serving plates and a melange of tastes in our mouths--no distinct memory of any particular dish or combination. A fun experience, but one of excess. The traditional restaurant 'Stüva', in contrast, served hearty, rustic local dishes (stuffed cabbage, deer stew, egg noodles with melted cheese etc). This may be interesting for those not familiar with this type of thing, but we felt the dishes pricey and not all that well executed. The more refined, 'La Cucagna' offered us a 4 course meal with accompanying wines in a modern atmosphere with mountain view. This would be the place to enjoy the typical half-board arrangement for a week's stay. The breakfast buffet was quite acceptable offering fresh breads, muesli. a variety of the famous local dried meats, cereals etc. All in all a pleasant hotel with comfortable furnishings, three restaurants to choose from, beautiful views and a location allowing one to be active and enjoy the alpine surroundings firsthand-either in Winter or Summer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingwithdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

After several years of traveling to St. Moritz to another hotel we love, The Waldhaus, in Sils Maria, the upper Engadin Valley, we decided we'd try the Paradies the lower Engadin, for a change of mountain scenery-- and because a friend who writes for Travel and Leisure said the Paradies is a superb hotel. Because the lower Engadin was locked away (with no easy access until a tunnel was made) it feels more remote, agrarian, but like the upper Engadin, the older architecture is full of charm. The Valley is gorgeous The elegant Paradies in fairly high on a Mountain, and you have splendid views from every elegant, cozy, hotel room. It's not a large hotel-- it used to be a rather remarkable, modernist private home of an artist. The several different (gourmet) restaurants in the hotel are simply divine. At the same time, the restaurant staff found ways to accommodate for my picky 12 year-old son. The hotel management is probably the best and most personable I've ever seen, anywhere. The hotel lives up to its name.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank resplendentquetzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

This hotel is very great in all aspects, Architecture, Location,Rooms, Restatutant, Staff. It's above Swiss or International hotel standard. We had been stay in many 5 stars International hotels which are so perfect and thoughful for guests. but this hotel can make it beyond that expectation.

At frist we can not find the parking space and the reception entrace, but they can turn my feeling upside down by upgrading us to the suite. We looking for having dinner at the Gourmet restaurant. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed when I got there. But the existing restaurant was serving us a memorable dinner.

The staff are so helpful and polite. The manager are so nice by greeting us. They treated every customer like they are VIP.

The location of the hotel is outside ftan village. The view from our room are so great overlooking small village and Tarasp castle. It will be ok for traveller with private car.

We are looking forward to be back there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2008

After a recent management change, the property has been slightly refurbished, making the interiors of this place very appealing. Unfortunately, some aspects got overlooked, particularly the quality of beds (hard mattresses, separate beds that are so light that they move easily on the hardwood floor, no down feather beds) .

What struck us most is that during the entire stay we did not feel we were in the Swiss alps but instead in a Hamburg town hotel, which is where most of the staff was imported from very recently. With one exception, none of the staff was able to understand or speak any of the two local languages, which we found rather striking.

The biggest disappointment however, was the cuisine. Announced with 18 Gault Millau points, we obviously arrived with high expectations. We joined the 'festive' Christmas dinner, which was nothing but a bland and uninspired combination of rather standard fare (a lot of foie gras but nothing else on one plate, hard-and-dry-cooked duck together with various pieces of vegetable that we could only distinguish by color on another one. The next day, we were treated to Raclette, a Swiss dish. The cheese was simply without taste, as were the accompanying pickles. An absolute disappointment.

And finally, after we had shed out a significant amount of money without asking for a discount, the hotel manager, who happened to be in the reception area during our checkout, avoided to even say goodbye to the guests who had dared to complain a day ago and instead rushed away into her office.

  • Liked — The location, views and the interior design
  • Disliked — The staff, the beds, the inconsistency of the cuisine
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jfkunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

My husband and I have stayed in the Engadine previously (in Ardez, at the Schorta's Alvatern, a perfectly adequate property with excellent food). We were so happy we decided to upgrade, however -- the Paradies transformed our trip from a practical hiking holiday into an amazingly romantic weekend.

By the way, we made all our reservations by contacting the hotel directly by email, in English, and received immediate replies. The staff was all very kind in speaking English to us when things got too complext for our German. We enjoyed our first visit so much, we went back two weekends later, and had similarly positive email experiences. I wonder if there has been a staffing change since the review which complained issues with email response.

We splurged and got a suite with a living room -- we had two terraces and each room had the same amazing, amazing view. If you were too tired to hike or otherwise be out and about, just laying on the chaise lounge absorbing the view was a worthy day's activity. The bed was standard Swiss (two twins pushed together) but very comfortable, with heavenly cloud-like duvets. Very nice, large bathroom. Large walk-in closet perfect for year-round use (lots of room to sort out wet/snowy things). The pine that they used in constructing much of the room gave the place a lovely smell.

Although all the rooms are supposed to have great views, if you are sad at the lack of a terrace in your room, just go and enjoy lounging in the elegant indoor and outdoor terrace areas, where you can get a drink or lunch or laze on one of the couches. Breakfast is a hearty buffet that caters to both European and American tastes. They will make you anything you like for lunch -- we requested something not on the menu (salad with broiled chicken on top) and they made it taste out of this world. We ate in the "middle" fancy restaurant one night (good food, a bit too high brow for us) and the tradiational Engadine restaurant one night (much more our speed). We never had the chance to try the gastronomic restaurant but I'm sure it would have been a show-stopper. A few of the nights we didn't dine at the hotel, we either ate at our hike's end-point, or went back to Schorta's Alvetern via the alarming half-paved road, and tucked into their simple and hearty fare.

  • Liked — The comfort, views, and location.
  • Disliked — The fanciness of two of the three restaurants, and the so-so spa.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LiteraryChick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2006

Excellent hotel / great restaurant / increadibly friendly personel - if you happen to reserve a room.

However, online room inquiries by email seem to be ignored. Tried 3 times, the last time I received an answer 4 weeks later. My complaint was ignored again.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZurichCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ftan
1.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Chaste
Schlosshotel Chaste
#1 of 1 in Tarasp
159 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Meisser
Hotel Meisser
#2 of 4 in Guarda
281 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Astras
Hotel Astras
#1 of 16 in Scuol
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#3 of 3 in Ftan
19 reviews
4.3 mi away
Guarda Lodge
Guarda Lodge
#1 of 4 in Guarda
162 reviews
2.9 mi away
Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradies

Property: Hotel Paradies
Address: Munt Plan 140c, Ftan 7551, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Ftan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ftan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Paradies 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Paradies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing