We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Swiss Chalet hotel”
Review of Hotel Surpunt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Surpunt
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Flims
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Quaint Swiss Chalet hotel”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

As previous reviewers have said this is a lovely little family run hotel which caters for coach parties. The hotel is built in a swiss chalet style. No lifts but only three floors and the staff take up and bring down your luggage which is great. Fantastic views from the balcony when the sun shines. Bathrooms recently refurbished. Enjoyed the evening meals which included either soup or buffet salad to start then a choice of two main meals and usually cake or ice cream to finish. The last night there was a wonderful barby with a tray full of fresh fruit to finish. As reported the staff are very generous with the wine which is quite good quality. My only criticism of the food is the breakfast consisted of cereals, rolls, meat and cheese. You then needed to make your own packed lunch from a selection of the same rolls, meat and cheese. VERY BORING, but we made a joke of it. Staff were extremely helpful. The location is not good for people with walking difficulties as it is in a valley with a steep climb to the nearby lake and small village but as we were on a touring holiday and out through the day it didn't bother most people. Considering what we paid for this holiday, I really don't know how the manager makes a profit. Really enjoyed our stay but I know there were a few moaning minnies in our party who complained about everything. We certainly cannot complain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was there for about 3 days in august 2013, The place was quite clean and was ok for a short stay. The room did not have any roller blind so be ready to wake early in the morning. There is also no internet available in the room. The breakfast is only until 9h30 ( but normally you can easily expect until 10h, even 10h30 in other similar places). I am disappointed by the personal because the last day of our stay we found the door to the breakfast closed at 9h20 in the morning, and all the things were already cleaned-up! I travel quite a lot and after 15 years traveling I never seen such a thing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rba80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flims hotels

Goole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights with a coach party. Loved the atmosphere here. It is more than I would expect from some 3 star hotels down to the excellent friendly service and assistance of all staff. The manager, Tamino really went out of his way to make everyone feel welcome and was extremely helpful throughout. I was amazed at how quickly meals were served as it was a large coach party and there were other guests. Some food appeared to be bought prepared but I loved the chef touches- sauces made from scratch from the 'herb log garden' a hollowed out log, having seen staff cut herbs fresh in the morning for the evenings meals and I was not disappointed with the 3 tasty courses each time. Other nice touches were the speciality of the region- a creamy meat dish and even the 'Swiss' ice cream-pink with the red and white flag design in the centre. Loved the warm crusty rolls at breakfast. You can't fail to have a scenic view though we did not have a connected balcony and the architecture of the building only allowed a smaller window in that room, however being on the corner we had a high window in the shower room -so dual aspect-affording a spectacular view up the mountains -from the shower. The free wifi was an added bonus. The final night bbq was rained off but I imagine it would be great- they have a wigwam of 4 large poles holding a 1 metre diameter bbq suspended on chains. Our party was on all inclusive and they don't skimp on the wine- really LARGE glasses + filled. The hotel is aging but the good bedroom furniture makes it feel very acceptable. Nice towels and pristine white bed linen. I would certainly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights with a coach party. We had a nice room and a loo with a view and window so we found it kept the place cool as the temps were very high. Some rooms were apparently very, very hot. Bed linen spotless but I didn't like the pillows which were like biggish cushions. There was a safe but it was locked on our arrival and we never bothered to ask for it to be unlocked, we just locked our passports etc in our case when we went out. First 2 nights we had awful packet soup after that though we had salad buffet for starters. Our second last night they laid on a great BBQ and on the last night it was an Italian theme. So, other than the packet soup (which is horrible guys, make it yourselves it's cheap and easy) the food was very acceptable. We had the packed lunches each day apart from the day we were leaving when we didn't bother. Staff were nice and helpful and we appreciated the free wifi although we were on the 3rd floor and had to come down to the reception area to access it. There is no lift so we had a lot of stairs to climb several times a day. I don't think we will ever visit the area again but we very happy overall with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandraK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was there for a weekend.

Pros:
-good location
-nice breakfast
-nice stuff

Cons:
-rooms are a little below average, but for sleeping it is okay
-dinner is only at 19:00 (not later or earlier)
-dinner quality was not so amazing
-pillows are too high

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marci737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently with a bus party. The Hotel owner Rudi welcomed us personally and all his staff were excellent bar none. We were provided with packed lunches every day of our stay and the meals although perhaps not adventurous, were lovely and I don't think there was any we didn't like during our stay. Each room was spotless and had it's own balcony. We even made friends with Sam the dog! I personally would give tribute to Robert who came to the bus with my jacket when we left to come home. Over and above you might say. I would certainly recommend this hotel and beautiful village to anyone without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MarionJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This hotel provides an excellent value and top notch service. The hotel itself is a bit dated and the rooms are furnished simply. But everything is kept clean, and the staff is very helpful in resolving any concern. There is even a free WiFi network for guest use.
The only small complaint that we have is that the TV in the room is smaller than an average computer screen from the 90's.

The breakfast is adequate for a 3* hotel (cereal, cheese, cold cuts, boiled eggs, bread, buns, jam, juice, tea coffee) One unexpected positive add-on are the sandwich bags that are provided: making a lunch bag is encouraged :-) although you should also give try the food at the many good mountain restaurants.
Dinner is buffet style with a soup and salad starter, a main course and a dessert. We found the dinner to be ok, but nothing to write home about. The drink prices are very fair and lower than at many restaurants in town.

The sauna area is nice and even includes a small rest area. Be prepared for the cold tile floor when you step out of the sauna. We appreciated the ski boot heater; nothing beats warm and dry boots on a freezing cold winter morning.
This Hotel is owned, managed and operated by the German travel agency "team3reisen", hence the most guests and staff are Germans. So you won't get a full Swiss experience staying here, but the German staff is friendlier than many of the Swiss staff that we encountered elsewhere. The hotel is a ~10min walk from Flims town, the free ski bus only runs frequently in the morning and afternoon. No buses after 5:30pm

In case we ever return to Flims, we will stay at Hotel Surpunt again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top floor have bettter views but no WiFi. There is no elevator, ask for a lower floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poboxearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flims hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#11 of 16 in Flims
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cresta
Hotel Cresta
#3 of 16 in Flims
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Flims
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vorab
Hotel Vorab
#14 of 16 in Flims
49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fidazerhof
Fidazerhof
#5 of 16 in Flims
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Waldhaus Flims Alpine Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surpunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surpunt

Property: Hotel Surpunt
Address: Via Surpunt 9, Flims 7018, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Flims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Flims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Surpunt 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Surpunt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing