We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Superb”
Review of Hotel Cresta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cresta
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Flims
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

The best hotel I have ever been in. found on tripadvisor, booked on a partner website. In the UK not one of the many 4* hotels I've stayed in has come up to the high standard of the 3* rated Hotel Cresta. Friendly helpful staff. My superior room was a suite! The spa was very nice, clean & had variety. Outdoor bathing in warm water surrounded by snow. The single menu for all was all good & with 5 courses not only good quality but quantity too. Perfect place to go with a partner & have time on the slopes & time in the spa.

Why can't UK 4* hotels be as clean as this one? (if you've read my other hotel reviews, downgrade them - my expectations have just gone up several notches)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GRGIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 124 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Cresta hotel is a gem in the heart of the Swiss mountains. The staff were incredibly friendly and nothing was too much. The hotel itself was wonderful - the rooms were clean and comfortable (not to mention the great views), the spa/pool area was my idea of paradise - swimming in a heated, massage pool with mountain backdrops. Each meal was delicious and they were very clearly dedicated to satisfying the needs of each individual guest. Would DEFINITELY recommend this place.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger with better views but each room is more than adequate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_louie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is my perfect hotel. Friendly, comfortable without being grand. Our room was lovely with a balcony (see photo to see the view), small sitting area and a very good shower. Buffet breakfast was excellent and dinner, which was delicious, offered 5 courses every night. They were very happy to offer a very good vegetarian alternative for my husband.
There is a lovely pool, which looks small when you first see it, but which is great fun as there are lots of buttons to push to activate the current, jacuzzi, water massage etc. The Wellness centre offers a variety of treatments and a gym.
You feel that you are a welcome guest as all the staff are so friendly without being intrusive.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank CeliaPatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

As a family we loved it. I had stayed here before and had felt well looked after, so I brought the family on a skiing holiday. The entire hotel is extremely well managed. Our room and all public areas were comfortable and so clean the staff must have been working all night every night to keep it that way. The set meal was always interesting and was served extremely efficiently by very friendly and helpful staff. Although our children, typically, wouldn't try everything, if there was something they wouldn't eat the kitchen would produce something they would.

The outdoor heated hydrotherapy swimming pool was just icing on the cake, relaxing after skiing with muscles being massaged by bubbles with a background of the FlimserStein is something you will never forget.

Overall it was exceptional value for money and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room that was excellent. Although it was not part of the main hotel it was con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLuck714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here with friends this month (Feb 2013) and booked to come back next month as I enjoyed it so much.

The hotel is located 12 minutes walk from the main lift (we timed it) in ski boots and there is also a complimentary shuttle bus which is quick and efficient; we never waited more than 5 minutes to leave. The hotel itself is very well appointed and the 'wellness' centre is perfect for some relaxation after a day on the slopes. The pool (which is outside) is excellent and kept warm enough to be comfortable.

One of the highlights for me was the food, the included 5 course dinner is excellent. Starting with a fish course, a soup, a salad and main and a dessert . Drinks are not included and are fairly pricey but in all honesty no more so than the rest of Switzerland / in hotel in general. Another plus point is the view from the dinning room is magnificent.

In summary, the hotels location is ok, the wellness centre is excellent, the views are amazing, the food is excellent and I found the management and staff to be very friendly and helpful. The rooms were also spacious and well appointed - I will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disestablishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel is located in Flims-Waldhaus, which is just outside Flims village. To get to the village, or to the ski lifts, you need to walk about 15 minutes, or walk 5 minutes and take a bus to the village. As well, there is a shuttle of the hotel that leaves every 15 minutes in the morning and end of the day. The hotelshuttle only has places for max 8 people, so you can get disappointed in the morning when it is full.
The room are not very large. There is enough closet space so that you will not stumble over your bags. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable. The bathroom has a bath (which can also be used as a shower), toilet and a sink in it. However, I did have some issues with the shower. When it is a busy time (in other words when other guest are probably taking a shower as well) the water can go from hot to cold to hot again. This was very annoying.
The hotel has a small heated outdoor swimming pool, an assortment of sauna's and lounge area, which is nice after a long day on the slopes.
Breakfast and dinner are served in the dining area. The dining area is large and you can hear the conversation of others, dependent on where you sit. The owner places you at a table where the best place to sit is near the glass porche. The service is good. Breakfast has a nice assortment of bread, and stuff to put on bread, yoghurt and eggs. If you are an early riser, you will be able to get a boiled egg. Dinner is a five course meal with an hors d'oeuvre, soup, salad, main course and desert. You cannot choose a type of main course, so some evenings I would not always like the food. However the quality of the food is good.
There is wifi in the relax lounge (which is a bit old fashioned) and there are two apple computers which you can also use to browse the net. The relax lounge is a bit oldfashioned. There is a large skiroom to put your ski equipement in, however not a lot of room for snowboards.
All in all, it was a nice stay at the cresta hotel. The style of the place (a bit old fashioned) was not really my cup of tea. As well, the people that come to this hotel are mainly families and older people. Not a lot of couples under 40 years of age. However, there are good beds, a nice sauna and swimming pool and nice friendly staff.

Room Tip: Room 101 and 108 are located at the front of the building. The disadvantage of this is that these ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottevanbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Where to begin…to be fair Hotel Cresta does have some upsides – its good value for money, convenient location and most of the staff are very nice and helpful. On the downside, and this is a very big downside, it is very let down by the manager/owner, Mr Skgier, who treats guests as second rate citizens, almost a burden. The hotel itself could do with a facelift, but I guess you get what you pay for.

Food/Dining area
We booked our stay on a half board basis, which included a 5 course dinner every night, which given it’s an extra CHF 20 per head per day, is good value. The downside however, is you generally are not allowed to choose where you sit, and as it turned out the best tables are reserved for regular guests. Every morning at breakfast, even though the restaurant was mostly empty, we were still given the worst tables. Our ‘allocated’ dinner table was slightly better, but we were still not allowed to switch to a preferred different one. Also, we found it extremely strange that the dinner is served so early each evening - between 6:30pm and 7:30m pm only!
The breakfast selection was not great, very basic, consisting of a few cold meats, cheese and cereals.

Rooms
When we booked we were given the Chalet room, which is outside the main building of the hotel, and the ground floor room feels a bit like you are staying in a converted garage. The beds are quite hard and the bathroom is tiny.
We were also surprised by the ‘interesting’ approach by housekeeping, who, it seems, have never heard of folding/putting away bathrobes & towels properly. Instead, on a daily basis we came back to the used bathrobe hanging off the wardrobe door, on top of a wet towel, and the slippers thrown on top of the stool.
On our last 2 nights we were moved to another room, something that was pre agreed during booking, so not an issue in itself. The issue was that the room we were moved to, although was much more modern, was absolutely tiny. In addition, the hot water stopped working half way through day 1 of us moving there. When we confronted the staff about it during dinner the next evening, they advised they were aware of the problem and that it would get fixed by the time we were done with our dinner. It wasn't. When we called reception to complain, they said there was nothing they could do as it was late. This was the last straw. We checked out on the spot (it was midnight) and went a few meters down the road to Hotel Advla, who were more than happy to accommodate us for the remaining night.

Wellness area
Although supposedly the hotel is renowned for its wellness area, there was nothing outstanding about it. On the contrary, the area looks very dated, decorated in pastel green and pink colours, and generally does not look very inviting. The outdoor heated pool looked fun, but it is something you can find in most hotels in the area.

Parking
Whilst the hotel pretends to have parking, on half the occasions we tried to park the outdoor parking was full and we were forced to park on the street. To add insult to injury, we were told off repeatedly for parking apparently illegally on the street (even though we parked meticulously not to obstruct any passing buses) and despite asking we were never given a viable alternative to parking in the street at the risk of getting a penalty fine. Nearest legal parking is about 10mins walk I believe so conclusion, don't expect to find a parking spot on busy weekends or holiday periods.

Overall, good value for money but we were very let down by the attitude of the manager of the hotel, who really, albeit unknowingly, went out of his way to make guests feel as unwelcome as he could, as if we were some spoilt unruly children in need of a good talking to.
We have stayed in many lovely hotels across the world, both high end and basic, and never had so many issues with almost every aspect of the hotel, or have we been made to feel so unwelcome.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank msv2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flims hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Flims
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Waldhaus Flims Alpine Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adula Hotel
Adula Hotel
#4 of 16 in Flims
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Bellevue
0.6 mi away
Swisshotel Flims
Swisshotel Flims
#12 of 16 in Flims
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cresta

Address: via Passadi 5, Flims 7018, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Flims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Flims
Price Range: $169 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cresta 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cresta is a cozy vacation hotel, which is situated very quiet in a large garden. Three houses are connected and one house (Chalet) is about 80 meters away, without connection to the other buildings (restaurant and wellness). A free shuttle bus to the skilifts is available in winter. Hiking trails and sights are easily accessible by foot. The large wellness area with a heated outdoor pool and an unheated natural pool (summer) is complemented by several saunas and steam baths, a Kneipp fountain and a cold water pool as well as a resting room. In addition, the hotel has a small gym, solarium and a massage service in collaboration with an external therapist. In the morning, guests can enjoy a varied breakfast buffet sweet and hearty cold specialties as well as boiled eggs and scrambled eggs. In the evening a daily changing 4-5 course menu is served as half-board. Parking is available free of charge (outside) or for a fee (garage) directly at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cresta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cresta Hotel Flims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing