We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Arena Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arena Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Flims B&B and Inns
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Arrived at 2:30 in the morning due to bad planning and they were very helpful & sorted me out! Let us shower after last day of skiing despite leaving that day. Very close to the main ski lift & good breakfast & facilities. Good value for location.

Room Tip: I stayed in a bunk room, I think some of the other rooms are nicer and sponsored by various brands a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gringogordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    23
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
22
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My 17 and 19 year old kids flew into Switzerland for a short ski vacation and loved Flims and the Arena Lodge. The bus from Zurich stopped right in front of the hotel and in general, everything was close to the hotel-the lifts and, ski rental and there were plenty of near by places to eat. the hotel was nice and the room was spacious. can't wait to go there myself next time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

It was a good experience, very close to the sky resort ( just cross the road), the rooms where nice and cozy, staff were nice, at the end of the day it was a 3 star hotel which we expected to be.

There are no tea making facilities in the rooms but there some in the snooker room by the reception, the breakfast menu is limited to very basics,when going down for your break fast in the morning make sure the water from the kettle is really hot for you tea.

Room Tip: They have some small room, so make sure you are having a good size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

First things first - the ski area of Flims-Laax is easily the best in Switzerland. Lots of slopes for all level of skier or boarder, fabulous restaurants and facilities, and a few solid apres ski places. Being a two hour journey from Zurich, it's also conveniently located be it for a day trip or a long weekend.

That said, if you choose a to spend a few days away, I highly recommend the Arena Lodge. The rooms are all decorated differently with fun themes adding a nice dose of character. The location is super convenient with the Arena gondola right across the street and the shops and restaurants of Flims near by. Also, there's a bus stop right outside the door which takes you to and from Chur (which is the stop for the direct train to Zurich), as well shuttles skiers between the different parts of the ski resort.

Though we didn't eat dinner at the restaurant, the breakfast every morning was the standard eggs, meat, cheese, yogurt, coffee and juice. We did stop by the restaurant each night for a drink and it had a nice vibe...we probably would have hung out a bit more if we weren't so tired from skiing all day :-). There's also a club in the hotel, but we didn't get the chance to check it out...probably because of the sleepiness from the aforementioned skiing (or maybe we're just old?). Moving on....

We were impressed with the staff who were all kind, accommodating, and pleasant. When I made a reservation on-line, they responded in a timely manner via email and even accommodated my myriad of questions.

Final point - the hotel is affordable. We had some friends who booked a room at another hotel in Flims and they paid 75 CHF more a night than we did. This of course being Switzerland nothing's cheap, but it was considerably more affordable than the other options I came across when researching places to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutofRange331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

OK... you're probably thinking it's perfect. Well, if you're a) younger than me and b) a smoker then it would be. This place is cool.
Ideal location - walk across the road up the stairs and you're in the lift station. Funky rooms, ideal
Cool rooms - we were in Nikita, my bro' in law in Hakanui (or something) both very cool and just like the pictures.
Great staff - really friendly, really helpful and left you wanting nothing.
Good restaurant - "The Kitchen" had good food (not cheap, but that's patrly down to exchange rates) and a busy atmosphere. Was also used for breakfast which was tasty and plentiful.
Bar - it also had the best bar in town, with 'nagels' (google - Hammerschlagen) and a big terrace.
That's the Pro's. What about the con's?
The bar - smoking indoors. Being a non-smoker it was a real turn-off later in the evening. The nightclub - downstairs to the hotel. Busy. and largely aimed at the late teen - early 30 brigade - and I'm just a bit too old now. Also, the noise did carry - a bit (didn't disturb me and we were floor 1)
So... if you fit the profile, want a fun and funky holiday then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: review on-line.. avoid opposite the lift, and aim for floor 2 or 3,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dakkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Staying here for a long weekend. It's right by the bus stop and the ski lifts. The restaurant is amazing and the staff are very friendly and efficient. We have hardly left the hotel after comin off the slopes. Rooms are a good size and have funky decor. Beds are firm and comfy

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Well, we booked to stay for the night in the Arena Guesthouse, but by mistake walked in to the Arena Lodge for Riders, we were totally confused, and insisted that we had a room booked with the Arena Lodge for Riders, so they showed us to a room despite not having our names down, after sitting in a very trendy room for 5 minutes my partner said, 'this is not our Hotel', so we told reception and the guy actually walked us over the road to the Arena Guesthouse. At this point we'd paid twice, but they were so kind, even though we'd paid on card, they just gave us back our money in cash from the Arena Lodge, and off we went together to the Guesthouse. The two properties are actually linked by an underground corridor, it's quite cool.

The woman who ran the Guest house was really attentive, and the log fire lounge is brilliant. We really enjoyed our stay there, it's quite, and the breakfast was lovely with an option to sit outside on fluffy seats with blankets. It's a really short walk to the ski lifts, and there are places to store your skis/boards.

When we checked out, the owner let us store our bags there so we could ski for the day. She even let us pop back after skiing to warm up in the lounge before taking our bus out of Flims.

We didn't get a chance to check out the wellness centre, but will do next time!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flims hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Flims
0.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cresta
Hotel Cresta
#3 of 16 in Flims
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vorab
Hotel Vorab
#14 of 16 in Flims
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Surpunt
Hotel Surpunt
#15 of 16 in Flims
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mira Val
Hotel Mira Val
#9 of 16 in Flims
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Lodge

Property: Arena Lodge
Address: Via Prau da Monis 2, Flims 7017, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Flims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Flims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal is to enable you to spend eclectic and easy days in Flims. That’s why we offer everything under one roof. Sleep: in design rooms, created by cool brands. Mountain: The Arena Lodge for Riders Hotel is situated just a few steps from the Flims base station. Fun: Après-Ski at the Arena Bar, Billard & Books at the relaxed Lounge, Sounds & Dance at the Arena Club. Everything nice so close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Arena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing