We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks by the open fire - great Hotel :)”
Review of Arena Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arena Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Flims B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Well, we booked to stay for the night in the Arena Guesthouse, but by mistake walked in to the Arena Lodge for Riders, we were totally confused, and insisted that we had a room booked with the Arena Lodge for Riders, so they showed us to a room despite not having our names down, after sitting in a very trendy room for 5 minutes my partner said, 'this is not our Hotel', so we told reception and the guy actually walked us over the road to the Arena Guesthouse. At this point we'd paid twice, but they were so kind, even though we'd paid on card, they just gave us back our money in cash from the Arena Lodge, and off we went together to the Guesthouse. The two properties are actually linked by an underground corridor, it's quite cool.

The woman who ran the Guest house was really attentive, and the log fire lounge is brilliant. We really enjoyed our stay there, it's quite, and the breakfast was lovely with an option to sit outside on fluffy seats with blankets. It's a really short walk to the ski lifts, and there are places to store your skis/boards.

When we checked out, the owner let us store our bags there so we could ski for the day. She even let us pop back after skiing to warm up in the lounge before taking our bus out of Flims.

We didn't get a chance to check out the wellness centre, but will do next time!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Arena Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 86 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

I have stayed here 5 times now. The location is fantastic, directly opposite the ski lift and the themed rooms have provided many talking points between myself and friends over the quirkiness of the rooms they have stayed in.

THe service from the team is super and the reservations so easy. I always just fire an email off and they confirm back within hours.

It was great to see the new addition of the new restaurant this year which had a superb atmosphere in the evening and a smoke free alternative to the bar next door.

Flims/Laax is a great ski resort, even at Chritsmas time the pistes never seemed too over crowded like some of the more mainstream resorts. This year was the first year I noticed a lot more English people there. We like it so much we will be going back in three weeks. It is very easily accesible from Zurich, even after arriving in Zurich at 8pm on a long flight from Dubai, the drive to the resort is straightforward and easy.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the 11 room and the O'Neill room which have a view directly towards the ski li...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardHoskisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

A big thanks to the crew at the Arena Guesthouse in Flims!!!

My partner and I always used to spend New Years Eve in Arosa combined with some skiing etc. This time we chose to go to Flims, a skiing resort we didn't really know. Checking a few sites and making a few phone calls we instantly got 'attracted' by the Arena in Flims.

Of course we arrived with lots of expectations, but we have to say, they even got exceeded...
Starting from a very warm welcome by the two girls running the hotel, a kind of living room with an open fire, a small self-service bar with whiskeys and beers:) a simple but typically Swiss-style room with a view, a parking garage to a newly opened restaurant 'The Kitchen' in the sister hotel next door.. and all that 100 meters away from the gondolas.

At the Kitchen-Restaurant we were welcomed very warmly and seated pretty close the the open fire where they bbq'ed different meets. The young staff were a bit inexperienced and couldn't answer all our questions we had, however, with their charm and smiles they were responsible for 2 great dinners at the Arena Kitchen!

All in all, thanks a lot for great three nights (and days). It's already set where we are going to spend next New Years Eve!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We - family of 3 - have just spent two nights at Arena Guesthouse. We located the hotel on the internet and really liked the ambience illustrated by the website. We were given the impression of a newly renovated and modern design hotel.

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and had all the necessary information about amenities etc. of the hotel. And this is were the positivity stops.

Our room did not meet our expectations and for the price paid we were very dissapointed. The furniture and carpet was worn out, the plastic sofa did not signal "design" at all, the bathrooms were outdated and lighting bad. To be fair: cleaning was fine. In short: very traditional swiss mountain style hotel: old fashioned, but functioning and clean.

We DO like traditional swiss, but when we pay for a design hotel, we expect design!

We shared our dissapointment with the receptionist, who was helpful but couldnt understand our frustration. However she informed us that everything was fully booked, but they could offer us a design room at the lodge (on the other side of the road and a sister-hotel) the following night.

After settling in and trying to cope with the dissapointment and feeling of being cheated we decided to go to the Arena Kitchen for dinner. The restaurant had been specifically recommended by the receptionist. When we got there, the waiter told us, that they were fully booked and couldnt tell, when they would have a table ready. We explained we were guests of the hotel, and as such, expected to have a seat, but were again refused.

No one - neither on email confirmation of the hotel booking nor by the receptionist had told us to book a table.

Getting back to the room and trying to go to sleep, we realized there was a reason why the room was equipped with plenty of earplugs. It is very loud!!

The following day we changed rooms and at a slightly cheaper rate at the lodge we had a socalled design room. And yes, energy had been put into decorating the room, but it was still very obviously worn out.
And still - although in another building - the earplugs were in place. Again very loud.

That night we had booked a table in the restaurant the previous disasterous night and were happy to have our dinner in the hotel. Service in the restaurant clearly showed an unexperienced level of staff, but apart from waiting a very long time for the menu we didnt suffer specifically from it.

Breakfast the next morning in the lodge (in the evening the Arena kitchen) was rather helplessly put together by one employee who didnt posess the overview of being able to arrange a breakfast buffet. We had to ask for several items ranging from water for the egg boiler, to butter, to drinks (we had to ask for coffee/tea).

All in all - we are sorry to say that - Arena Lodge, Guesthouse and Kitchen - cannot be recommended by us.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenaFlims, Inhaber at Arena Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Dear Mette

We are very sorry to hear that you are so disappointed with your stay at our hotel. We are trying hard to improve and your feedback is very valuable for us. Of course we would have liked to offer you some kind of consolation, had you given your feedback directly. In any case we will make sure to look at all your points of annoyance.

The Arena Kitchen opened just a few weeks ago. There are several things which still need improving, but our staff – with little experience but great motivation – is getting better every day. We will also make sure that every hotel guest is advised of booking a table in the Arena Kitchen with the booking confirmation and at check-in, again we are very sorry that we missed to inform you about this. Unfortunately with the size and location of our restaurant, we are not able to always have a table reserved for the possible need of hotel guests.

We have also realised, that it’s a challenge to communicate our two hotels (the guesthouse with traditional rooms and the lodge with rooms designed by snowboard and lifestyle brands) on our brandnew website. We are working on a solution to improve the level of information on our website.

Lastly, about the level of noise: Since we are located most centrally in the middle of the village, and have a club in the basement of the lodge, there are some nights during peak season which tend to be loud. For this reason we recommend people who are bothered by noise to stay at the Guesthouse. But even there you might hear some visitors of the club when they are heading home.

We wish you many great travels and stays at hotels which fulfill your expectations. All the best
Arena Guesthouse and Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We went to Flims for Christmas and we booked 2 rooms at the Arena Lodge from December 21 to 26.
This is the perfect place to stay there.
Beautifully decorated rooms (we had Room ELEVEN and NITRO). Excellent location, just acrooss the ski lifts, short walk from all shops and the shuttle bus stop in front of the hotel.
Nice and friendly staff, ready to help you.
They should improve their breakfast and maybe offer half board packages.
I will surely recommend to all this hotel.

Room Tip: The design rooms are beatiful
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Everything in this hotel was amazing! They have rooms, a kitchen, a bar, and a club - what else could you ask for? And it's all across the street from the lift! The only negative was no wifi (or maybe we just couldn't get it in our room).

We stayed there for 3 nights in Dec 2011, and I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank user1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

2min from the lifts, nice young staff and one of the liveliest bars in town right next door - you deserve plenty to drink after a hard day on the slopes!

plus:
- clean rooms
- spacious rooms
- funky design rooms
- did i mention the rooms? :)
- ski deposit
- heated boots rack!
- pool table
- free coffee/tea and snacks
- good & plenty breakfast

Had two great days here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flims hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Flims
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cresta
Hotel Cresta
#3 of 16 in Flims
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Bellevue
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vorab
Hotel Vorab
#14 of 16 in Flims
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#11 of 16 in Flims
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Lodge

Address: Via Prau da Monis 2, Flims 7017, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Flims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Flims
Price Range: $95 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal is to enable you to spend eclectic and easy days in Flims. That’s why we offer everything under one roof. Sleep: in design rooms, created by cool brands. Mountain: The Arena Lodge for Riders Hotel is situated just a few steps from the Flims base station. Fun: Après-Ski at the Arena Bar, Billard & Books at the relaxed Lounge, Sounds & Dance at the Arena Club. Everything nice so close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing