We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling home away from home :)”
Review of Arena Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arena Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Flims B&B and Inns
Zurich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feeling home away from home :)”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

A big thanks to the crew at the Arena Guesthouse in Flims!!!

My partner and I always used to spend New Years Eve in Arosa combined with some skiing etc. This time we chose to go to Flims, a skiing resort we didn't really know. Checking a few sites and making a few phone calls we instantly got 'attracted' by the Arena in Flims.

Of course we arrived with lots of expectations, but we have to say, they even got exceeded...
Starting from a very warm welcome by the two girls running the hotel, a kind of living room with an open fire, a small self-service bar with whiskeys and beers:) a simple but typically Swiss-style room with a view, a parking garage to a newly opened restaurant 'The Kitchen' in the sister hotel next door.. and all that 100 meters away from the gondolas.

At the Kitchen-Restaurant we were welcomed very warmly and seated pretty close the the open fire where they bbq'ed different meets. The young staff were a bit inexperienced and couldn't answer all our questions we had, however, with their charm and smiles they were responsible for 2 great dinners at the Arena Kitchen!

All in all, thanks a lot for great three nights (and days). It's already set where we are going to spend next New Years Eve!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    23
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
22
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We - family of 3 - have just spent two nights at Arena Guesthouse. We located the hotel on the internet and really liked the ambience illustrated by the website. We were given the impression of a newly renovated and modern design hotel.

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and had all the necessary information about amenities etc. of the hotel. And this is were the positivity stops.

Our room did not meet our expectations and for the price paid we were very dissapointed. The furniture and carpet was worn out, the plastic sofa did not signal "design" at all, the bathrooms were outdated and lighting bad. To be fair: cleaning was fine. In short: very traditional swiss mountain style hotel: old fashioned, but functioning and clean.

We DO like traditional swiss, but when we pay for a design hotel, we expect design!

We shared our dissapointment with the receptionist, who was helpful but couldnt understand our frustration. However she informed us that everything was fully booked, but they could offer us a design room at the lodge (on the other side of the road and a sister-hotel) the following night.

After settling in and trying to cope with the dissapointment and feeling of being cheated we decided to go to the Arena Kitchen for dinner. The restaurant had been specifically recommended by the receptionist. When we got there, the waiter told us, that they were fully booked and couldnt tell, when they would have a table ready. We explained we were guests of the hotel, and as such, expected to have a seat, but were again refused.

No one - neither on email confirmation of the hotel booking nor by the receptionist had told us to book a table.

Getting back to the room and trying to go to sleep, we realized there was a reason why the room was equipped with plenty of earplugs. It is very loud!!

The following day we changed rooms and at a slightly cheaper rate at the lodge we had a socalled design room. And yes, energy had been put into decorating the room, but it was still very obviously worn out.
And still - although in another building - the earplugs were in place. Again very loud.

That night we had booked a table in the restaurant the previous disasterous night and were happy to have our dinner in the hotel. Service in the restaurant clearly showed an unexperienced level of staff, but apart from waiting a very long time for the menu we didnt suffer specifically from it.

Breakfast the next morning in the lodge (in the evening the Arena kitchen) was rather helplessly put together by one employee who didnt posess the overview of being able to arrange a breakfast buffet. We had to ask for several items ranging from water for the egg boiler, to butter, to drinks (we had to ask for coffee/tea).

All in all - we are sorry to say that - Arena Lodge, Guesthouse and Kitchen - cannot be recommended by us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArenaFlims, Inhaber at Arena Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Mette

We are very sorry to hear that you are so disappointed with your stay at our hotel. We are trying hard to improve and your feedback is very valuable for us. Of course we would have liked to offer you some kind of consolation, had you given your feedback directly. In any case we will make sure to look at all your points of annoyance.

The Arena Kitchen opened just a few weeks ago. There are several things which still need improving, but our staff – with little experience but great motivation – is getting better every day. We will also make sure that every hotel guest is advised of booking a table in the Arena Kitchen with the booking confirmation and at check-in, again we are very sorry that we missed to inform you about this. Unfortunately with the size and location of our restaurant, we are not able to always have a table reserved for the possible need of hotel guests.

We have also realised, that it’s a challenge to communicate our two hotels (the guesthouse with traditional rooms and the lodge with rooms designed by snowboard and lifestyle brands) on our brandnew website. We are working on a solution to improve the level of information on our website.

Lastly, about the level of noise: Since we are located most centrally in the middle of the village, and have a club in the basement of the lodge, there are some nights during peak season which tend to be loud. For this reason we recommend people who are bothered by noise to stay at the Guesthouse. But even there you might hear some visitors of the club when they are heading home.

We wish you many great travels and stays at hotels which fulfill your expectations. All the best
Arena Guesthouse and Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We went to Flims for Christmas and we booked 2 rooms at the Arena Lodge from December 21 to 26.
This is the perfect place to stay there.
Beautifully decorated rooms (we had Room ELEVEN and NITRO). Excellent location, just acrooss the ski lifts, short walk from all shops and the shuttle bus stop in front of the hotel.
Nice and friendly staff, ready to help you.
They should improve their breakfast and maybe offer half board packages.
I will surely recommend to all this hotel.

Room Tip: The design rooms are beatiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Everything in this hotel was amazing! They have rooms, a kitchen, a bar, and a club - what else could you ask for? And it's all across the street from the lift! The only negative was no wifi (or maybe we just couldn't get it in our room).

We stayed there for 3 nights in Dec 2011, and I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank user1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

2min from the lifts, nice young staff and one of the liveliest bars in town right next door - you deserve plenty to drink after a hard day on the slopes!

plus:
- clean rooms
- spacious rooms
- funky design rooms
- did i mention the rooms? :)
- ski deposit
- heated boots rack!
- pool table
- free coffee/tea and snacks
- good & plenty breakfast

Had two great days here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We spent our annual business-ski-weekend at Arena Lodge in March 2011.
A great location for groups: mountain-railway/skilift just across the street, bar and club directly in the house! What else do you need? Before Dinner you meet up in the bar, after dinner in the club just downstairs. Very convenient. We spent two evenings in the club and everybody did amuse himself perfectly.
The rooms are fantastic and the hotel staff very friendly, uncomplicated and extremely tolerant. They are cooperative and kindly help you to organize your trip (ski-tickets, restaurants,...). A really great place for groups.
A part from that, Flims is a nice ski-resort and easy to reach from Zurich.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Great location in the heart of Flims, Perfect rooms that are individually designed. The Arena bar is the coolest place in Flims for a beer. Great atmosphere and very nice People.
The desitination for Riders, Mountaineers and people who want to have a great time in the fantastic mountains of Flims and LAAX.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flims hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Flims
0.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cresta
Hotel Cresta
#3 of 16 in Flims
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vorab
Hotel Vorab
#14 of 16 in Flims
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Surpunt
Hotel Surpunt
#15 of 16 in Flims
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mira Val
Hotel Mira Val
#8 of 16 in Flims
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Lodge

Property: Arena Lodge
Address: Via Prau da Monis 2, Flims 7017, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Flims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Flims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal is to enable you to spend eclectic and easy days in Flims. That’s why we offer everything under one roof. Sleep: in design rooms, created by cool brands. Mountain: The Arena Lodge for Riders Hotel is situated just a few steps from the Flims base station. Fun: Après-Ski at the Arena Bar, Billard & Books at the relaxed Lounge, Sounds & Dance at the Arena Club. Everything nice so close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Arena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing