We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened?”
Review of ARENA KITCHEN

ARENA KITCHEN
Ranked #27 of 41 Restaurants in Flims
Cuisines: Fusion, Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our first visit was great - as you can see in my last review. Our second visit was a big disappointment:
- Rude server
- Several items listed on the menu have been sold out before 7PM on a saturday night?! (including several wines and the famous Pizokels)
- Noodles served cold
- Overcooked meat (One reason we came back was the steak we've enjoyed here last time. It was grilled to perfection.)
- small portions
- Missing item on the plates served (fennel on the salmon salad)

- At least the fries and the salmon were still quite nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shellinmypocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    12
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Arena was an average experience at best. They seemed very understaffed and therefore it took a while for any service. The food that we had (Arena Burger & a pizza) was good, but not great.

I would recommend a few other local restaurants before this one, but with that being said, we'd probably go back if time allowed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank EKat0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor service, very expensive, good ambience”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The central location and ambience of the Arena Kitchen are good - trendy, New York style bar / restaurant. But as a Swiss resident even I was shocked buy the prices - other than sausages and burgers, all meat dishes were around 50CHF. We went for burgers which were OK but had a slight processed burger taste to them. The service was a bit surly - our cocktails took 20 minutes to arrive, and when we politely reminded the waitress we were rudely told that they were being made, only to be asked 5 minutes later to confirm what they were.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing , pricey , unfriendly and they don't advertise the children's menu !”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Food only ok and even by Swiss standards its expensive but quite nice atmosphere . Be warned ., they don't advertise the children's menu and didn't offer us one even though we were ordering for our 4 and 7 year olds - who were with us at the table and who requested their burgers to be served plain .
Very disappointed they didn't tell us or suggest that one portion would have been more than enough for our two small children as there clearly is a children's menu ( apparently chicken nuggets and colouring books ) Though only iif you ask !
Much nicer and friendlier places to eat elsewhere in Flims .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arena20, Inhaber at ARENA KITCHEN, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest
We are so very sorry to hear of your bad experience at our Restaurant. Even tough our children menus are described in the menu available in german and english, our staff is instructed to mention it to guests eating with children. We're really very sorry your waiter didn't offer you the children menus, and that she or he didn't mention that one burger would be plenty for two kids is in fact really a great mistake. We will take your feedback very seriously and talk to our staff about it. We really hope you will give us another chance one day and wish you many great meals here and elsewhere.
Thank you
Family Hofmann, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, room for improvement”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

On our third trip to this incarnation of the arena restaurant, we were hoping that our previous experience was simply unfortunate and that this time the food and service would be improved [last time they completely forgot our order for over an hour and a half]
The outside seating area is much improved and we had a lovely view of the surrounding mountains and sunset. 
For dinner we ordered one of the specials of the day; lamb burgers. The burger was tasty however the bun [sourdough?] wasn't very nice, and the chips were greasy, overcooked on the outside, and hard on the inside.
The service was 50-50, the waiter was good, however his female colleague was surly and sulky. 
Hopefully this is taken as constructive criticism, as there are not many other dining options in Flims!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Independent_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ARENA KITCHEN also viewed

Flims, Canton of Graubunden
Flims, Canton of Graubunden
 
Flims, Canton of Graubunden
Flims, Canton of Graubunden
 

Been to ARENA KITCHEN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing