We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, expensive (but that's Switzerland)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Egerkingen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Egerkingen
GreenLeadersGold level
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, expensive (but that's Switzerland)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel didn't look great from outside but I found the rooms nice and comfortable; wi-fi is expensive but works well; there are loads of international tv channels on tv.

I have very mixed feelings about the location. There are nice trails for walking and running and the scenery is beautiful (there are even sheep nearby with little bells and all!), but I don't know how this hotel could be reached without a car: the city center is far and without the nice woods uphill the surroundings of the hotel would be very depressing (garages, car sales etc).

Restaurant was good but expensive, but that's to be expected.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paiiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merle G, Junior Sales Manager at Movenpick Hotel Egerkingen, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking you time, to fill out a guest survey on trip advisor.
I do really regret, that you were confused about the prices in the restaurant, as I can see, you felt uncomfortable with them in whole Switzerland. We will recognize the prices to show our guests, that we are doing our outmost.
You have written, that you felt also confused about the location. Our guests appreciate the centrally located place in Switzerland for meetings or for starting a trip and for our guests who arriving by public transport, we organize them a free shuttle service from different train stations.
I do hope that you nevertheless have enjoyed your stay in Egerkingen and you had nice holiday in Italy. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you soon again in our Mövenpick Hotel Egerkingen.

Best regards
Sara Tschanz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    191
    53
    20
    11
See reviews for
84
90
18
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel is located far from the city, but if you are looking at a place to relax, THIS is IT!!! The hotel is located on a hill & the rooms facing the highway have a very beautiful view. Strolling around the place is a pleasure. We found the breakfast to be very good in terms of variety compared to similar hotels. The staff was polite and courteous. One of the best hotels in for a relaxed holiday!!

Room Tip: Go in for a room with Highway view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyamvada_kulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merle G, at Movenpick Hotel Egerkingen, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this excellent feedback. It is always a pleasure, to get some responses from the guests. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again in our Mövenpick Hotel Egerkingen. Please do not hesitate to contact us, if you need any further information about our hotel.

Best regards from Switzerland
Your Mövenpick Hotel Egerkingen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalgaon, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

out skirts of city ...nice hotel ....good restaurant , i travel with kids ,very good from room.
value for money hotel ...highly recommended place for family.
can spent 2/3 days . staff at restaurant is little bit rude ... but otherwise it's really a very good hotel
but no complimentary WIFI.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Since everything in Switzerland is expensive, it's difficult to find a great hotel with reasonable price. So I'm gonna be fair when giving my review. I went there twice during business trip, it was located up in the hill and bit far from the city center. Nothing I could remember so special about the room, the first stay I even got a room without view which is okay since I will just be in my room for sleep.

The nice part from this hotel I think the staff and the outdoor cafe. I made a complain about my bed n the first stay and the hotel management reply to it in timely manner, apologizing and promise to make my next stay better. The second stay I got a room with the view which is really nice as it was during autumn. Had view beers at their outdoor cafe (at that time was not too cold), it was great. It has a nice view of the valley and hills on the opposite side.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Primaully W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

I stayed in the hotel during a business trip, our company had a one week training there in December 2012.
Hotel itself is nice, the room was big with a view on a hill, I liked it. Minus points go to internet access, which was paid and quite expensive (however this is something quite common in 4* hotels in Switzerland, but I dont understand it - in Slovakia it is took for granted to have a free Wifi).
The meals were excellent and tasty, UNTIL: during lunch my colleague by my table found in the spinach a BIG COCKROACH!!! This simply cannot happen in a 4* hotel at any chance!
It was a big shock, and the hotel apology was quite poor also - we who sit in that table received a bottle of a cheap wine as "sorry". Very very sad about it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katarina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Moevenpick Hotel Egerkingen is a decent travel hotel in a very remote location off the motorway between Solothurn and Olten.
The rooms are clean and a nice size and the staff is friendly.
Breakfast is not included in the room rate, and costs 26 Chf, which is a bit absurd.
The hotel is located far outside of olden or solothurn, so if you come off the train from the airport as I did, you are a bit stranded.
There is a very nice trail system in the town if you like to hike or jog. You can choose from short to long and varying degrees of difficulty.
It is not the best hotel for the price, but it does the job for what is needed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhelpsRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bousval, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel is simply perfect. We booked this hotel for our return from Tuscany to Belgium and we get all what we need (perfect room, breakfast is simply delicious and services from the staf is also perfect

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahvalentin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egerkingen
1.9 mi away
Landgasthof Kreuz
Landgasthof Kreuz
#1 of 1 in Kappel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Egerkingen
Comfort Hotel Egerkingen
#2 of 2 in Egerkingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
4.3 mi away
ibis Rothrist Olten
ibis Rothrist Olten
#1 of 1 in Rothrist
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Olten
Hotel Olten
#1 of 5 in Olten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
14.9 mi away
H4 Hotel Solothurn
H4 Hotel Solothurn
#1 of 13 in Solothurn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Arte Kongresszentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Egerkingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Egerkingen

Property: Movenpick Hotel Egerkingen
Address: Hoehenstrasse 12, Egerkingen 4622, Switzerland (Formerly Moevenpick Hotel Egerkingen)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Solothurn > Egerkingen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Egerkingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Egerkingen 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home while travelling. The Mövenpick Hotel Egerkingen is your oasis where you can let yourself feel pampered - whether travelling on business or privately. Experience the perfect ambience for business events and conferences. Situated in an elevated position with breathtaking panoramic views over the Swiss west-central heartland, the Mövenpick Hotel Egerkingen warmly invites you to be our guest. The Mövenpick Hotel Egerkingen is surrounded by a beautiful countryside and can be reached within 40 minutes from Basle, Berne, Zurich and Lucerne. Parking is available directly in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Egerkingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egerkingen Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing