We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel du Parc
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Crans-Montana
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, very cozy”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location at the heart of Montana yet secluded enough for a mice escape. The hotel is cozy, comfortable and has a nice feel to it. They offer a free shuttle service to the ski slopes so quite useful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
13
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

It is always difficult to have an objective view of hotels in Switzerland. They seem terribly overpriced compared to more or less anywhere in the world excluding London, Paris and NY.

I paid a -40% rate or so, that is why I chose this place. Quite central, but cheaper than most 3 or 4 stars hotels in Crans-Montana. Speaking of stars, they count it as a 4* but looks more like a 3*. It is quite worn-out and a bit sad – understand empty - but maybe that’s only because it wasn’t the high season.

We had the first price room. Very Swiss chalet-like: wooden furniture, carpet, nothing special. The bathroom was definitely out-dated, small yellow-mustard hexagonal tiles, a hair-dryer I didn’t know they still existed (at least in 4* hotels). But everything was clean which is the most important to me. The bed was comfortable, and the windows have been redone recently which means good isolation. At night the area is very quiet. I was there during a music festival and it was good to be far from the crowds and noise.

There is a sauna and fitness room but I haven’t used them. It may be something important for some people.

There is really not much to say about this place. I would recommend this hotel if you are choosing on a price/comfort criterion (if you can get a reduction through a hotel booking website or something). But if you are looking for a fun/stylish place, this won’t be it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a-hotel-groupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The Grand Hotel du Parc is in a superb location, central but completely quiet. The rooms are a good size, enough wardrobe space for a skiing holiday, the facilities are good - the hotel bus will pick you up at the funicular or drop you and collect you at the ski lifts - but what really makes the difference are the staff. They were completely charming, and went to extra lengths to make sure our stay was as good as it can be. We will be back, winter and summer.

Room Tip: Make sure you take a room facing south for the view and the afternoon sun on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

... nothing has changed in 50 years: the buliding, its fittings and furniture, and everything else. Stepping back in time might be nice for some people, but at least they shouldn't be charging the rates of a 4 star modern hotel. I have been there in February 2010, not sure if something has changed meanwhile but everything was really old, badly mantained and very dusty. The hotel is probably in the best possible spot in the whole area with a view to die for and a short walking distance (100m) from the village centre and for this reason it would deserve a much better management and some serious investments to renew it from scratch. Also the restaurant lacked any charm and the quality of the food served was very poor. It is really a pity for such a perfect location. Not a good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kurtzuegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crans-Montana hotels

england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Sadly, we are all too aware how expensive Switzerland has become during the current financial situation, and when it Crans for the Omega European Masters, everything is even more expensive.
How a double room for 320 CHF per night can be justified is anyone's guess, but my gripe is the hidden nature of an expense (which appears to happen at other hotels here too).
My work had arranged a double room for me, but with a single occupancy rate: hence 250CHF. My wife joined me for the week.
It was only on checking out that I was presented with a 70CHF per day charge for her staying, and this amounted to around a £340 charge dropped on me for a six nights stay.
The double room amounted to two beds pushed together with a gap in the middle which inevitably you slip down during the night.
The extra breakfast cannot justify an extra 70CHF per night fee.
Saying to the curt and dismissive lady at the desk that surely 20CHF extra would be acceptable, she said she wouldn't accommodate a dog for that money!
The following night spent at a Travelodge in Maidstone for £25 was much better!! Nicer bed, better pillows, cleaner room, more courteous staff... just not the views of the mountains.
The Grand Hotel du Parc is not unpleasant, but there's no way it's value for money. Be warned about hidden charges that should've been outlined on arrival.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Splendid hotel I can thoroughly recommend. Good and diverse food for breakfast and dinner (we took half-board), clean rooms with a very impressive vista over the valley, good service overall.

Nothing to fault really.

PS Ask at the telegondola ski rental place, Hotel Parc has a deal with them and you can store your skis there without having to pay extra for a locker or carry the skis all the way back to the hotel. We only found out by accident.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crispatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

This hotel had that rustic mountain feel to it and I loved it. It is very traditional. The doors are opened using actual keys instead of electronic locks. The rooms are well lit and have elegant wood paneling in them. One thing that I did not like is there is little control of the heat and even in the summer we could feel head coming out of the vent, so the rooms were quite warm and we had to keep the doors open to keep it cool. The bathroom was very nice and well lit. The shower is quite small because it is a part of the bathtub and there is only a small piece of glass so it is a small area or else water goes all over the floor. The best feature was the balcony in the room. It was very large and provided an excellent view of the snowcapped mountains and the city below. The hotel was within easy walking distance to many Crans-Montana features and there are many walking trails to get around on. Crans-Montana is an excellent destination. The food at the hotel was also very good. This hotel was one of the best ever that I have stayed at. The free and hassle free wi-fi was also a major plus.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedsmith68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crans-Montana hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
#2 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Helvetia Intergolf - Hotel & Apparthotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#8 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel de la Foret
Hotel de la Foret
#19 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Prairie
Hotel La Prairie
#13 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Valaisia
Hotel Valaisia
#11 of 41 in Crans-Montana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel du Parc

Property: Grand Hotel du Parc
Address: Route du Parc, Crans-Montana 3962, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Crans-Montana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Crans-Montana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel du Parc 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Crans Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing