We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Switzerland”
Review of Crans Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crans Ambassador
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Crans-Montana
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Switzerland”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night in this beautiful hotel last Saturday, the service was outstanding, the decor gorgeous, we booked a deluxe room with balcony, we had a view of the mountains. We enjoyed the spa as it rained in the afternoon. Dinner was very good, we enjoyed a drink in the bar beforehand and had the most delightful bartender, she was friendly, made wonderful drinks. All in all a very good experience. Will return in the winter.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    42
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
61
86
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Lovely luxury hotel with wonderful service but wouldn't expect anything less from a luxury hotel. Couldn't do the spa so could not review it. Nice open fire on the terrace so was nice in the evening with a drink by the fire.

Room Tip: Was a little far from the main town and had problems finding it but once there the service was amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistiwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Crans Ambassador hotel in a deluxe room. Upon arrival, our luggage was quickly whisked away and the stroller stowed in a special storage area for equipment. Our room, on the 3rd floor, was fantastic. The room made exceptionally smart use of space, with plenty of storage, a good size tub/shower and bathroom, and beautiful terrace with views on the Alps. The decor makes striking modern references to "swiss chalet" design and is elegant, sophisticated and inviting. Since we were travelling with our 8 year old and 20 month old, the room was already set up with a convertible chair bed and a beautiful crib, a child-size bathrobe and slippers and hooded towel and washcloth for baby. Our children were in awe. The restaurants were amazing, with high quality and interesting food choices. The staff were also especially accommodating of food allergies, and provided off-menu choices for our 20 month old. In fact, they had the items waiting for him on the second day's breakfast!
The pool was beautiful and many families there mentioned how much they were enjoying the responsive, yet relaxed atmosphere. I think it is quite a challenge to make hotel guests feel like their needs are taken care of, while not feeling like they are being "hovered upon". The Crans Ambassador struck this balance perfectly. And having mentioned the family friendly environment, I would also note that the hotel seems as well suited for couples looking for a romantic getaway or for individuals looking for a quiet escape. Except for the pool area, the entire spa allows only adults. Those facilities are also beautiful and on par with many of the finest hotels we have been to.
Certainly when travelling, having kids at such an upscale resort can be anything but relaxing, but the atmosphere at the hotel, with the incredibly responsive and genuinely kind staff, made the experience extra special. I forgot to mention the turndown service with little treats placed in the room! We will certainly go back.

Room Tip: Alp facing rooms have a clear and stunning view of the Alps. Deluxe rooms might be a little tight f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeneveD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed for two nights with our 3 year old and really enjoyed this hotel. Upon arrival, they promptly took all of our bags and ski stuff and unpacked for us. Our room was great - clean, spacious, amazing views. Wifi worked very well.
Breakfast was great, with made to order waffles and crepes. We also enjoyed dinner at the hotel one evening and were pleased with the service.
The pool area is fantastic. Our daughter loved swimming around. There is also a children's room with toys and art supplies on floor 4.
Check out was easy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybugx87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Châtel-St-Denis
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We arrived with 4 kids for a long ski weekend in March. Highlights of the excellent service we received:
1. They unpacked the entire car for us, including full ski equipment for 6 people, while we enjoyed a welcome drink and welcome gifts for the kids.
2. The receptionist overheard me mention to my husband that I needed to find a bank to get some cash, and made the transaction for me there on the spot.
3. My husband forgot his ski pants and didn't want to spend the 600 CHF they were asking for a pair at the ski boutique, so they went into town for him and picked up a pair of pants at a local ski shop for 20 CHF!
4. We went out for dinner at a local italian restaurant, and they drove us down in the hotel van. We could have walked, but the kids really appreciated the ride.
5. On the day of our departure the car was out front, packed, and ready to go...so nice when you have 4 kids in tow.
6. Freshly made waffles and pancakes at breakfast.

As other reviewers mentioned, the hotel is a short 2 minute walk from the slopes The pool/spa area was ultra-modern and relaxing. The kids had great fun swimming each day we were there.
The only negative point I can think of is the room service menu...not very many basic items for hungry kids who were too tired from skiing to go out for dinner. We ended up eating minibar nuts!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Based upon experience, I always though that the legend of Swiss hospitality was a myth from past generations, but the Ambassador in Crans has proven me to be completely wrong.

Seven years in renovation this hotel is truly something special. From the thoughtful, attentive, youthful and enthusiastic (and beautifully trained) staff to the exquisite attention to detail in every part of the décor, this hotel sets the standard for all to follow. How many hotels do you know where the doorman takes time to talk to you dog!

The rooms are a comfortable size and beautifully designed with careful attention to just about every aspect. My partner and I spent the whole stay, saying ‘heh that’s a good idea’ or ‘that’s really thoughtful’…. E.g. An artfully concealed rubbish bin in the bathroom; a pull out tray to make tea/coffee making easier (note: espresso machine), masses of storage, a very comfort and extra wide arm chair, movement sensitive night lights (no more tripping over the laundry on the way to the loo in the middle of the night)…I could go on.

By way of example, even the clothes hangers had pretty little bows tied to the hook.

The décor is what I call ‘Ski Brown’ but done with such panache, that it looks great. I sense a few of the ideas will be making an appearance quite soon in a residence not to far from my normal abode. The huge television melted into the background.

The rooms are absolutely silent and the view from the balcony, equipped with great quality table and chairs, is spectacular.
I challenge you to use all the electric sockets on offer ~ no more crawling on the floor looking (hoping) for a free socket.
Intelligent lighting.
When was the last time that your hotel had a turndown service?

We were told that the owner was passionate about the renovation. He must be really proud of the final product.

We enjoyed the hotel bar and restaurants. The food was good, but the service was so exceptional that it almost did not matter. A good selection of regional wines. Breakfast not as comprehensive as some, but more than adequate.

Free Wifi ~ medium speed
I found the bed a little firm for my liking, but others slept well.
Dogs not only allowed, but also really welcomed (dog bed and bowls in room upon arrival). I don’t think I have seen so many dogs gathered in one hotel. Word must have already got around.
Nice spa facilities including heated swimming pool.
Great location for skiing (150x to lift) and locals walking.

Four or five nights at the Ambassador for skiing or a summer mountain break, is about as good as it gets and damn the expense.

Room Tip: Be sure to pay enough to get the mountain view. Floors 6 or 7 best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I went with a large group we had a brillant time in this top hotel, very close to slopes, view to die for in the morning as you over look the alps. Room was a little small so worth upgrading but that was only thing

other pluses - ski shop next to hotel door, ski lift 5 mins away so almost ski in ski out

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejbennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crans-Montana hotels
0.8 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Helvetia Intergolf - Hotel & Apparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours
Hostellerie Du Pas De L'Ours
#8 of 41 in Crans-Montana
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Guarda Golf Hotel & Residences
Guarda Golf Hotel & Residences
#3 of 41 in Crans-Montana
126 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
#2 of 41 in Crans-Montana
218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chetzeron
Chetzeron
#5 of 41 in Crans-Montana
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crans Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crans Ambassador

Property: Crans Ambassador
Address: Route du Petit Signal 3, Crans-Montana 3963, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Crans-Montana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Crans-Montana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crans Ambassador 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crans Ambassador, Luxury Sport Resort, immerses you in the heart of the Swiss Alps. As soon as you step into the hotel, a 180° view of Europe’s highest, most stunning peaks takes your breath away. The Crans Ambassador is a privileged haven of serenity in a cosy, timeless setting. Combining luxury, friendliness, vibrancy and performance; the hotel welcomes guests in search of wellness year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Crans Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing