We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on the Haut Plateau”
Review of Chalet des Alpes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet des Alpes
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Heaven on the Haut Plateau”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After having lived in Valais on and off for over two decades, it's hard to return to the area I love so much but no longer am attached to with a home. Finding a nice hotel that wasn't over the top expensive was a challenge. Until I landed on Chalet des Alpes.

I'm always skeptical of photos hotels provide on websites. But I know the views shown in the photos and the chalet's views were true to the photo.

Karen and Gary create a warm, welcoming home-on-the-road for visitors to this beautiful region. We arrived after a long flight from the States and rush hour drive from GVA airport. Karen greeted us and showed us our comfy, perfectly appointed room. The view was beautiful, as always, as the lights of Sion began to come on in the fading light. The bathrooms on the upper floor have skylights that allow natural light to flood the room. Quite nice to wake up to.

Breakfast is a perfect beginning for a day of hiking, biking, wine tasting or just relaxing. The weather was still unseasonably cold, so we had to eat inside, but there is a lovely balcony where you can sit and enjoy breakfast with an expansive down valley view to enjoy. You can still enjoy the view inside since the chalet - which was purpose built to be a B&B - is all glass on the west side of the living/dining room.

There is also a kettle in your room and tea and instant coffee so you can enjoy a cuppa on your own balcony (if you have one). Karen and Gary will provide wine glasses for you as well.

Have any questions for your day ahead? Gary, who is on duty for breakfast, has extensive knowledge of the area and they have ample reference material available in the living room.

Our five night stay at the Chalet ended early in the morning before breakfast as we had a long drive to Piemonte for lunch. So we had to leave before breakfast. No worries. Karen and Gary left croissants, butter, jelly and orange juice for us all wrapped up, with two little carry bags in our room the night before when we were out at dinner. It's these sorts of personal touches that make staying there so delightful.

Lens is a great village to explore. There are wonderful hikes just outside the door and excellent wineries, such as Nicolas Bagnoud, just down the road from Lens to Flanthey and beyond. I also suggest visiting Mabillard-Fuchs and Germanier. Enjoy dinner at Chateau de Villa for the best raclette you'll ever have and a mind-blowing choice of Valais' excellent wines to accompany your meal there. No time for eating there? Visit the Oenoteque at the Chateau. If you are unfamiliar with Valais wines and are a wine lover, it's time to familiarize yourself. Chalet des Alpes provides an excellent jumping off point for that.

Valais is a hiker's paradise in summer and fall. The Bisses of Valais provide ample choices for all levels. Try and hike the Bisse de Rho (but not if you have height issues) and Tsittoret. The latter takes you from Crans all the way up to the alpage below the Plaine Morte and the cascading waterfalls that bring melting snow down the valley to the Rhone River below.

And for the best pastries? Taillens, of course! I'm more partial to the one in Montana. Best place to pick up a sandwich for your hike, a pastry reward after a long day hiking or skiing and perhaps you'll be lucky enough to see Reto Taillens himself.

Valais has so much to offer and the best place to stay to enjoy the Canton's beauty and activities is Chalet des Alpes. Needless to say, you'll get better treatment and rooms as nice as any in the station and still have money in your pocket to spend on yourself!

By the way, the butcher in Lens sells the most delicious smoked beef carpaccio. That, with a little gruyere shavings and a bottle of Pinot Noir from nearby Nicolas Bagnoud are a perfect combination for a late afternoon apero.

WiFi note - the WiFi is very reliable (and free), but it is not a secured network.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor with a balcony, particularly in the warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VillaArneis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary T, Owner at Chalet des Alpes, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review. We are sure it will inspire lots of people to visit Valais. The Bisse de Lens is only a short walk from our door. We have folders with lots of suggested walks from 2 to 6 hours and we can supply maps if required. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday as much as your stay here. We hope to meet you both again on another visit. Best wishes Gary & Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Chalet des Alpes is a small gem. Beautifully located, very well appointed and maintained, and with very welcoming and helpful hosts. In a quiet village, but within easy reach of Crans Montana, and an excellent centre for touring the Valais, it would be difficult to beat, and by Swiss standards it offers very good value.

We spent three days there as part of an extended tour and would be happy to recommend it to anyone.

D and N Williams

Room Tip: We didn't inspect them all, but I believe they all have superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garyt123, Owner at Chalet des Alpes, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. They are very important to us and we really appreciate your time. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have read your other reviews and it seems the rest of your holiday went well.
Best wishes for the future and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Gary & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I booked this B&B mainly as a base to see the European Masters golf at Crans-Montana, and was very apprehensive having never been to Switzerland before. But once we got there all our reservations were put behind us. Karen & Gary who run the B&B were great hosts and so friendly and helpful that within a few minutes of meeting them you thought of them as old friends. They knew so much about the area and wanted to pass this onto you so you could get the best out of your stay with them. We booked for 9 nights so we could take in a sight-seeing holiday as well, so their invaluable knowledge was put to well worth use. The location is excellent for the golf, starting point for beautiful panoramic walks and if you have or use transport great for visiting the wondrous settings and towns within easy reach. The Chalet is clean and modern and the room we had was faultless and the view from the balcony was breath taking. The snow topped Alps in contrast to the Rhone valley, a view you could never get tired of waking up and seeing. Be warned everything about Chalet des Alpes is so fantastic you will hate having to leave when it’s time to go home.

Room Tip: You just have to book a room with a balcony to appreciate the astounding views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garyt123, Owner at Chalet des Alpes, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and let other people know about your experience and stay with us.
We both love this part of Switzerland. There is so much to do; everything from mountain activities (summer and winter), swimming in crystal clear lakes, beautiful golf courses, amazing walks (some starting from our door), scenic drives along pretty valleys, traditional picturesque Swiss villages, spa / wellness centers, world famous places like Zermatt & Montreux, & much much more. It gives us great pleasure to introduce our guests to this fantastic area of Switzerland. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope you will come back to see us and discover some more hidden gems.
All the best for the future to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2011

At the very last minute we decided to have some holidays to Switzerland. We wanted to stay at a small town with enough opportunites for walks in the mountains, for some sightseeing in cities and visiting the thermal baths. No hassling with having to arrange some shopping for breakfast and a comfortable bed. It is all there. Nice town, good and comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. The BnB is run by 2 friendly down to earth people who are always quite willing to explain the best walks nearby, interesting places to visit and so on. We like to thank Gary and Karen for their hospitality and are definitely planning a next stay in Chalet des Alpes. Good services/room/breakfast considering the price you have to pay. We didnor rate upon Room Service, Spa or Swimming pool, cause it is not relevant in this case. Room service : you can order drinks. "Just knock on the door and Gary and Karen will help out". Restaurant = diner in the evening arranged by Gary and Karen. 4 days during the week, you have the option to order a meal in the evening in the guest room.

Luba and Peter

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterandLuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourguillon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This is the second time that we have stayed with Gary and Karen, both times have been fantastically relaxing experiences .
The first time we went with my parents who used to run a hotel and have extremely high standards that Gary and Karen met and exceeded at every opportunity.
The sitting area where we all played cards as a family whilst having our afternoon homemade cake and coffee every day remains my highlight, though the excellent evening meals run it a close second.
Very friendly, spotlessly clean and full of local knowledge of the best places to ski and how to get to the hot baths, cant fault anything about the experience and have already booked again for next season.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissgrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We had a lovely stay - the breakfast was great, the rooms new and clean, and Gary and Karen are accomodating hosts. It is a few kms from Crans Montana, so as skiers means getting into the car each day. However, we would definitely recommend for a quiet alternative and good quality at a lower cost to central hotels and b&bs.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickHugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garyt123, Owner at Chalet des Alpes, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review; Karen and I are very grateful. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in our beautiful Chalet, away from the hustle & bustle Crans Montana. Hopefully, you will come back in the summer and enjoy some of the stunning walking and mountain bike paths that start from the Chalet door. Our village (Lens) looks very attractive in summer with all the window boxes and flowers in bloom.
You are correct that a car is useful here, but it is not vital. The nearest ski lift is just a 10-minute / 5 km drive from here. There is plenty of fairly cheap parking at all the ski lifts in Crans Montana. A car does give you more flexibility to come and go as you please. In the summer a car is advantageous to explore the many wonderful places within an hour or 2 of Lens.
Just one point to note: Lens is on a regular bus route from Sion railway station to Crans meaning a car is useful but not essential. The bus stop is only a 5-minute walk from our front door.
It was great to meet you both and we wish you all the best for the future. We hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Gary & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Chalets des Alpes is a very nice place to stay; the rooms are comfortable and very clean.
Gary and Karen are very helpfull in advising nice trips in the neighbourhood. Their hospitality is very good! They make you feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crans-Montana hotels
2.4 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
269 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Panorama
Hotel Restaurant Panorama
#9 of 41 in Crans-Montana
68 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel de la Foret
Hotel de la Foret
#19 of 41 in Crans-Montana
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Prairie
Hotel La Prairie
#10 of 41 in Crans-Montana
66 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
Hotel Le Mont-Paisible
#2 of 41 in Crans-Montana
191 reviews
2.1 mi away
Guarda Golf Hotel & Residences
Guarda Golf Hotel & Residences
#5 of 41 in Crans-Montana
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet des Alpes

Property: Chalet des Alpes
Address: Chemin de la Freha 33a | Lens, Crans-Montana 1978, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Crans-Montana
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Crans-Montana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet des Alpes 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Chalet des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing