We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, great located, amazing breakfast - perfect for MTB holidays”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Crans-Montana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We've stayed at Hotel du Lac for one night. We arrived quite late, since we were taking pictures after the lifts closed and went straight after that for dinner (there is an amazing pizzeria not far away from hotel du lac).

Anyway, we were able to get into the hotel without any problems. They offered to put the bikes in a storage room, but we had them in our car, no need for that.

The room was small but nice, the beds comfy and the shower great. But what really stood out was the breakfast buffet. For a hotel in this price class really top of the class.

Additionally the owners are really bike friendly. No troubles with our 2 dogs :-)

Room Tip: I guess if you are able to pick the room (we had a late reservation) choose one with vally view - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baguslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 86 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked in advance on Booking.com and got a good deal - the management upgraded us and was extremely helpful and nice. We stayed a good 10 days .
Breakfast wasn't extraordinary and got bit boring but it was off season and there wasn't many people so couldn't expect high gastronomy.
Basic and modest rooms, living room , bar and playing room. but fair for what you pay.
Few modifications could make it cozier and more charming but i heard that they were working on it . Very well located and beautiful views from the rooms up on the mountain or on the lake. I would definitely go back !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had stayed here on a visit to Crans montana. The rooms are small but well maintained. the service was superb, the breakfast was adequate, loved the cold cuts and the various cheeses. The most amazing feature of this property was the view. Our room had a balcony facing the valley and the views were spectacular. I will never forget the sunrise, the various shades of purple, reds and oranges, fabulous!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sari_bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was a very nice hotel, although a bit expensive. The rooms were big, clean, and modern. The bathroom I had was very clean. The staff was all very friendly. The place is far from the main station, so make sure you know when to get on/off the bus. Overall, it was a bit expensive, although I'm not sure if you'll find cheaper in this town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jszafraniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Hotel du Lac was a picture postcard setting for a surprise birthday trip and in terms of location between the centres of Crans and Montana it could not have been better. In searching for accommodation I picked this hotel for the helpful email responses that I received and had the feeling that the hotel management would do everything possible to ensure that we had a great time. This was certainly the case and it is difficult to find fault with the comfortable room, spectacular view from the balcony, good buffet breakfast and friendly staff. If I returned to Crans Montana at any time I would contact this hotel for a room again without a moment of hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back don't have a lake view but the view over the Rhone Valley is equally spectacul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Five of us went to Crans late June, and the weather co-operated by changing from poor to perfect on the day we arrived and stayed that way throughout our stay.!
Had been to Crans before, but not this hotel, and had booked through the web.
Really friendly family run hotel, who went out of their way to make sure we had a good stay. We went for the flowers, but unfortunately the cable cars were only open on the weekend, but the owners twice took us up as far as they could by their mini-bus so we could walk back.
Rooms not large, but wonderful views over the valley, and our friend had a good sized single room next to us without extra charge. Rooms on the 'mountain' side overlook the small lake.
We were half board, and no choice for meals, but as a vegetarian they did their best for me - pity we don't like raclette! Own small brewery attached to the hotel - nice beer!
Would certainly go again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Thankfully, I hadn't read the previous review before booking this hotel. I found it a perfect base for a few days skiing in the great Valais resort of Crans-Montana (C-M). It is located almost in the middle of the twin villages of Crans and Montana, about a 10 minute stroll from the funicular. It is unusually cheap for C-M. I can see why. The rooms are very clean but my double was possibly a bit small for a couple. Plus the decor appeared as though it was straight from a 70s catalogue. That said, it was worth paying a few extra Francs for the South facing rooms at the back of the hotel. What a fabulous view! My curtains were open all the time.

To be charitable, I think the owners had spotted the previous review because I found the Manager perfectly pleasant and courteous. He gave me ski hire discount vouchers, looked after my cases on the final day and was always smiling. The other staff, though quiet, were also polite.

I had one dinner at the hotel. A rather steep CHF46 for a salami starter, raclette, a small fruit cocktail and a couple of deliciously on site brewed La Marmotte beers. I was told the set menu was CHF28 rather than the CHF38 charged. My French is not that bad. I would recommend to skip eating here, there are plenty of other decent-ish value establishments in C-M, but take home some beers to give to friends.

Overall, I would say the stay was good value for this resort, provided you are here, like me, for the skiing rather than, say, a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crans-Montana hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Panorama
Hotel Restaurant Panorama
#9 of 41 in Crans-Montana
78 reviews
0.8 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Prairie
Hotel La Prairie
#4 of 41 in Crans-Montana
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Helvetia Intergolf - Hotel & Apparthotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olympic
Hotel Olympic
#19 of 41 in Crans-Montana
81 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de la Foret
Hotel de la Foret
#18 of 41 in Crans-Montana
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Address: Crans-Montana 1, Crans-Montana 3963, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Crans-Montana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Crans-Montana
Price Range: $144 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing